Great to hear you’re still in the game bro.
Ah yeah, you have to start somewhere.
I haven’t played competitively since I was a teenager, I live in Kildare and local team isn’t a top level team. It is what it is.
only jostling brah
Yeah, I’m a walking cliche. Office IT worker, sedentary, long commute.
I try to get out to the gym every day I’m in the office. The triathlon stuff pushes me towards swimming and cycling mostly. I minimise the road running but you have to do a bit of it. Then I usually have one day of some weights work and little bits of rowing, skipping, battle rope exercises. With that and the hurling training on top of it I’m usually doing something nearly every day of the week.
I’m looking at adding in some kind of Yoga/Pilates type class into that to help keep me a bit more flexible. My desk also can be raised to allow me stand while I work so I’m looking to get into a routine of using that more and sitting less. [Typed while sitting at my desk, irony alert]
Knew I recognised this jersey
I saw that in the O’Neills store the other day. They wore it in a league game as well I think. Mayo game was it?
Works pretty well for us Kilkenny/Kerry hybrids.
They did, its the change keepers jersey and its the most magnificent thing ever created by O’Neills.
Forget the yoga Pilates craic.
Most likely increase risk of shoulder or arm chronic and maybe even acute injury from puck outs.
Strength training under pins everything
Check out some of Eric Cresseys stuff. He is one of the top should guys in baseball and all throwing sports. Quite applicable to hurling.
But essentially build good truck anti rotation, Anti lateral flexion and anti extension. And work on
It wasn’t actually my shoulder causing the pain. Shoulders are generally fine with hurling striking. I believe I strained my anconeus muscle in my forearm from the repetition of long forceful strikes. At least, that’s where the pain was. Bit of ice and rest and it was grand again.
Ya but that’s the symptom or the manifestation of the issues.
99/100 in my experience office based hurlers issues come from developed kyphosis and/or lack of back (so pulling) Strength and/or Thorasic mobility
I’ll be playing my first 90 minute game of association football in about 20 years next weekend. Finally taking the plunge and playing over 35’s. Some very high expectations, especially around my fitness and general ability have been set by some mates who seem to think that I have a long history in high level football. Don’t know where they’re getting it from as I’ve always told them I’m shite.
Best of luck with it. I did my first training of the year Friday in preparation for playing a bit of junior. I’m still crippled after it.
Shite in Ireland would still make you one of the best players in NSW mate, like a Pakistani cricket player out in UL
No it wouldn’t mate. The local club scene here is huge and I’ll be playing against blokes who have played first grade for years and now have a hit out at the weekend as they got older with kuds etc. Some serious players, plenty of ex semi pros etc. A lot fat, useless bastards as well though. I’m fast, but I’m not a very good footballer.
Have you good medical insurance?
Did i ever tell you about the time i went in to end Craig Fozzy Foster’s playing days? I was carted off.
Good enough for you, I have a lot of time for Fozz. You still playing?