Nah, a flashk of milky tae.
You can’t attack the child here, rephrase that so the blame is apportioned fully to the father please
Back to my rightful role in the forwards
Comprehensive win for ye
You must have scored a few?
Tapped on a few alright. Ya good win. We were missing a good few as well. Sunday morning not the most conducive to attracting numbers for junior B football.
It’s an absolute shambles. 12 o clock on a Sunday morning, all Junior B fixtures.
We try and get them moved to midweek if possible, best for getting numbers.
I always thought it was ideal, can’t beat a feed of pints of a Sunday afternoon. Bag of blocks around 7 or 8 and tip on home.
the early shift is moving on so you’d want to come on and keep me company
I scored my first ever goal for Wyoming Tigers FC today in our 3-0 victory over Berkeley Vale, a significant improvement on last week’s disastrous showing against lowly Kanwal. Played the whole game too and felt good throughout. Dry July kicking in, felt a lit fitter after not having 7 or 8 beersbthe night before. I love football.
Well done mate, it pains me to know that I’ll probably never score a meaningful goal again,
We were knocked out today 2-0 in the semi to Toukley, a team we previously beat 5-0 in the league. I should have scored in the first half when I latched onto a ball in space in the box, taking it off my right and shooting with my left (I’m left footed) when I should have just hit it.
I was pretty fucked off after the game. I’ve run myself into the ground again, but our best player, whi I spend most of my time setting up, refuses to pass. One excellent passage of play between me and our captain led to the ball going to Mick and despite me running into the box with no one near me, Chris running into the box on the right with no one near him and Scotty in front of him in space, he shoots from outside the box into the trees. One instance of many. He thinks I’m shite which is fair enough, but I’ve set him up for about 10 goals this season and I work my bollocks off (I’m not the only one) getting into space, but he won’t pass.
Anyway, it’s been great, a lovely bunch of lads to play football with, we go again.
We go again.
After two rain associated cancellations (it rains here now, which is good) we finally got a pre-season friendly in yesterday against Berowra. Some of the more technically able of our team were missing so the creative stuff in midfield fell to me. And I didn’t disappoint witj assists from right and left feet for two of our goals (a dainty chip with the right into the box vollyed home by Tony and a forceful cross with the left which not so much was headed home by one of the Scott’s as just happened to hit his head and ended up top left corner) and winning the ball leading to our third.
One of the many Scott’s in the team missed a pelanty. And we lost 4-3. Berowra had a super striker who scored an excellent hat trick.
But a good hit out, I’m not too sore after playing the whole 80 mins.
The season proper starts next Saturday with a home game against the other 35’s team from our club, for whom it’s also a home game. Scheduling snafu there.
Also weird as our team yesterday was made up of players from both teams. Play with them one week, play against them the next.
I refereed a ladies gaelic football match on Saturday having made the schoolboy error of replying “well if you’re absolutely stuck”
I found it tiring, but I did soldier on despite a heavy cold.
Good standard, wasn’t a player out there didn’t show for the ball.
Did you get much abuse?
They were all chasing the ball in a pack like U8s?
I did.
They werent. They were all comfortable on the ball and used it well. John Mitchels Liverpool had some outstanding players, and lawrences had a decent side too. Mitchels are a serious senior team, so I gave everything I could to Lawrence’s. It was taken in fairly good spirit. I think it finished 4-17 to 2-7 or somesuch, though Mitchels used a lot of subs and were reasonably tolerant. I was described as an “fuckin oul bastard” at one point, which was accurate enough. Refereeing the tackle in ladies football is hard. There’s a lot of fine lines between unfair tackling and unfair charging, which in a men’s game you can just ignore to your hearts content.
I’ve decided that refereeing a championship match would be for thicker skinned people than me. I realised this when I started getting heckled by the Lawrence’s coach even after I’d given them enough slack to wrap round a junior c goalie.
It was a lovely day, and I did enjoy it.
They are also much better organised than the men. The pitch was marked out and the nets up, and both teams were ready when I got there.
I’d have been proud of my lass if she had been any player on either team.
The Mitchels coach was a gent who took my bias in good nature. It was a great GAA occasion all told.
Were they local girls or immigrants?
Both mate