GGA player has depression

I know a lad who was a sub-par player with Wexford and he couldnā€™t manage to qualify as an accountant until he was 30odd because he couldnā€™t balance the two. If thatā€™s the sort of commitment a middling to poor hurler has to put in then itā€™s presumably dwarfed by the more celebrated players.

Youā€™ve conveniently neglected to mention mixing all of the above with his astro career

These lads ā€œworkingā€ for big corporations are probably the biggest chancers of the lot, sent around to meet and greet clients and such rather than doing any real work. Sure hasnā€™t Dyas been doing loads of press and promotional events since he started ā€œworkingā€ with PWC?

Cian Oā€™Sullivan has a handy gig with PwC and is very friendly with the new Managing Partner. Gets a bit of leeway in there as he promotes the firm in conjunction with their GPA sponsorship.

I know a guy with the Dublin senior footballers who is not in a cushy job because of profile, doesnt get much leeway over and above a normal employee and who still combines the training with a normal office type job. He doesnt meet with clients or they dont use his profile, and they easily could if they wanted. From the outside, he is basically a lad who works who has a hobby outside of work.

Some financial recruitment crowd were splashing their hiring of Paul Flynn all over Accountancy Ireland last month. Come in with your CV and MEET PAUL FLYNN.

Fair few drawbacks as well Iā€™d say. I would imagine the transition from championship hero back to mundanity must be difficult for some.

surely this yoke will do nude shots in some porno pretty soon?

Another one did that for a couple of years in Kildare and walked away with wads of cash

Itā€™s a lottery around here now pal.

Surely you meant the Dublin senior Hurlers pal?

I said the Dubs are an exception. Although Brogan runs 2 companies and I doubt heā€™d doodling around too much.
How long was Flynn in college? Recruitment is such a fucking waste on the worlds resources. Fucking horrible set up to be involved in.

Just look at the job profiles of most of these players these days?

They get sorted out with cushy roles in banks, civil servants like teachers or guards where they will invariably be looked after because they are county players. An awful lot of them tend to work as sales reps or in pharmaceutical companies. Work as gym instructors or some other psuedo fitness expert, coaches or games development officers.

Look at a county like Mayo, a place that is bog hinterland and has fuck all of a local economy. How many of their current squad have had to move to Dublin for work? Fuck all I would imagine, Iā€™d say you could pretty much guarantee that they have all been hooked up with cushy numbers where they have to do shag all.

Similar to Donegal, another county that has no local economy and how many of their players are based outside of it? Paul Durcan to my knowledge is the only one.

Itā€™s ironic that you are trying to garner sympathy for these lads and their sacrifices but it wasnā€™t long ago you were denigrating Eoin Bradley for having the cheek to want to play for Derry despite being one of the few high profile intercounty players who has a relatively inflexible employment and whose job is most definitely on merit not because he has a high profile.

GAA players consistently land cushy jobs where they are just paid a salary. I just decided to take a look at some of the Cork players Linkedins or other google searches for a matter of interest:

Brian Hurley - Sales rep
Paul Kerrigan - teacher?
Cadogan - fitness spoofer

What do Colm Oā€™Neill, Donnacha Oā€™Connor and Paddy Kelly work at? Do they even have jobs?

Michael Shields spent a year in the AFL. He turns 29 next month and according to his Linkedin he seems to have worked 8 months in his entire life. Does this strike you as someone who has had it tough?

The rest of the Cork panel seems to be a group of students.

I have no sympathy for GAA players, the vast majority of them particularly in the the bigger footballing and hurling counties get an awful lot of perks out of their profile. County GAA players generally donā€™t have the same work pressure your average employee has. In the vast majority of these cases they are not there on merit but their because of their profile.

At the end of the day nobody is holding a gun to their head, itā€™s their choice so quit playing the violin for them. Iā€™d love to be paid a regular salary only have to do about 15 hours a week and give carte blanche to pursue my hobbies to the ultimate level, I certainly wouldnā€™t expect people to feel sorry for me.

Trying to follow this shit would make anyone depressed.
What a pile of shite

Colm Oā€™Neill - bank official.
Donncha Oā€™Connor - electrician/trades man of some sort.

Donacha is a fitter for the health board, he fitted a bathroom for my auld lad.

Bomber hasnā€™t a notion. Primary school teaching is no walk in the park. And as for working in pharma, those yanks donā€™t give a fuck who you are.
Bomber just feels inadequate that lads are capable of doing such things.
And Iā€™m not sure why he thinks Personal Training or running agym is easy. Its highly competitive, I ran a professional gym Iā€™m Oz. Had to be there at 6am and while I was off during the day Iā€™d be there till 10pm. There are very few gyms in Ireland that can afford to carry anyone, and most trainers are self employed.

I already ruined him on the sales rep\bank official bull shit. As for judging a lads work rate on LinkedIn, moron.

These lads donā€™t have to put the same effort in as normal employees and donā€™t have the same work pressures to justify their job, thatā€™s just a fact.

Teachers have 2/3 months off during the summer which theyā€™re paid for. I think teachers are extremely deluded about work life, Iā€™d love to throw them into working in the private sector for a week and get them to revalue their expectations. Lots of GAA players choose this and the guards as they get soft jobs there. Itā€™s amazing how county players who are guards seem to have absolutely no bother getting weeekends off for matches. I wonder how many regular guards could guarantee having every Saturday or Sunday off the year?

You seem to think that GAA players work under the same pressures and schedules as normal employees which is not the case in most circumstances. They whine and whine and whine about it but they have a choice and they choose to play, probably because of all the perks that come their way with being a county player.

Again more rubbish. I know plenty cops who played or coached at Senior Club and county level and they do plenty weekends, especially Saturdays and for the most part these days its down to an individual boss being flexible and swapping with work mates, its the work mates are key for cops.

You simply have no idea whatsoever about school teaching, so I wouldnā€™t bother even going there. Especially the ones of county player age, are under extreme pressure to perform. Schools are run like businesses now and Principals are becoming CEOā€™s. You have to be sharp nowadays as a teacher and cater for all sorts of kids. Its mentally very very drainig, I see this first hand all the time.
In reality primary teachers have 6 weeks off and many of them even do summer courses now. They usually spend a week reviewing the year and a week preparing for the following year. If they change class or anything then its more work. Most teachers I know out of college in the last 3-5 years are still part-time full-time, they have very little security.

Yes being a county player can help, but I know 2 county players recently went for the same position in an East Cork school, a camogie player and a hurler, the camogie player got it cos she could show she had been coaching for 2 years at her previous school with the Sciath Na Scoil teams. Principal told her straight out that was the difference. She brought that extra bit of outside school hours work. She was certainly lower profile than the hurler.

Kerry lads having to move to Cork should tell you all you need to know.

You have absolutely no idea what you are on about, and life in the 26 is not as easy as it may be for some nordies helped out by the British government and their cushy funded public jobs.