GGA Player Power Part II

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I don’t agree with everything Mac says. I just see where he is coming from, and acept his view.

Mac - Of course success at underage is a good thing for a county that doesn’t win that much. Might give the boost to the adult side. Laois weren’t completely useless at Senior, they did win a Leinster, which they hadn’t done in donkeys years. They wouldn’t have done that without the Minor teams.[/quote]

5 Leinster Finals in 6 years to be exact.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I don’t agree with everything Mac says. I just see where he is coming from, and acept his view.

Mac - Of course success at underage is a good thing for a county that doesn’t win that much. Might give the boost to the adult side. Laois weren’t completely useless at Senior, they did win a Leinster, which they hadn’t done in donkeys years. They wouldn’t have done that without the Minor teams.[/quote]

Not nitpicking at Laois here but I’d imagine that the majority of people would agree that the “Golden generation” didnt deliver on their potential.

Wasn’t there a comparison of the Tyrone minor teams from that time on here a while back? Just because they won all around them at minor it doesnt guarantee them success at Senior. You could also argue that Leinster football has been weaker this decade than any other so that amount of final appearances is not as good as it sounds*

[SIZE=“1”]*I completely reserve the right to change my mind on this point should the subject of Wexford appearing in a Leinster football final arise[/SIZE]

Ya, but ye are winning nothing, absolutely nothing.
I remember at the time Laois people were delighted with winning Minors, it was a novelty, i don’t think when they were thinking, jesus in 5 years time we’ll be winning seniors. I think they were too busy hooping and hollering about winning All-Irelands.

Slightly off the point as its a personal view, but i got as much out of Cork All-Ireland Minor in 2000 as any other All-Ireland, as we had a few lads on the panel.

[quote=“Mac”]Not nitpicking at Laois here but I’d imagine that the majority of people would agree that the “Golden generation” didnt deliver on their potential.

Wasn’t there a comparison of the Tyrone minor teams from that time on here a while back? Just because they won all around them at minor it doesnt guarantee them success at Senior. You could also argue that Leinster football has been weaker this decade than any other so that amount of final appearances is not as good as it sounds*

[SIZE=“1”]*I completely reserve the right to change my mind on this point should the subject of Wexford appearing in a Leinster football final arise[/SIZE][/quote]

You wont find any arguments here about the golden generation not delivering mac. Our problem was we didnt give them a strucure once they came out of minor.

Did you know Harte is 17 years managing now in Tyrone, minor and senior? I firmly believe had we had someone like Harte and not managers who drank with the players, we could have been in Tyrone’s position.*

[SIZE=“1”]*although Tyrone had a base to build on what with being in an AI Senior Final in 95[/SIZE]

Just heard on RTE Sports news that Dessie cunt Farrell has reaffirmed the GPA’s position on the 2009 Cork Hurling squad. As the 2008 squad are in disupute with the county board he’s not willing to allow any of the 2009 squad in. I know this was mentioned last night but he half avoided answering the question whereas tonight he confirmed it.

So a union set up for players wont allow players into it? Its the most bizarre thing I’ve heard. Again, he’s showing himself up for the thick cunt that he is.

[quote=“Mac”]
So a union set up for players wont allow players into it? Its the most bizarre thing I’ve heard. Again, he’s showing himself up for the thick cunt that he is.[/quote]

As opposed to a player set-up that represents the players and then kicks out the players when those players actually become involved in a dispute?

[quote=“myboyblue”]You wont find any arguments here about the golden generation not delivering mac. Our problem was we didnt give them a strucure once they came out of minor.

Did you know Harte is 17 years managing now in Tyrone, minor and senior? I firmly believe had we had someone like Harte and not managers who drank with the players, we could have been in Tyrone’s position.*

[SIZE=“1”]*although Tyrone had a base to build on what with being in an AI Senior Final in 95[/SIZE][/quote]

your problem is that all the queens county players are little windbags

My head hurts

Another fine contribution from the corncrake.

Seething still I see.