Gigs coming up

Playing NCH next April

Chic are great live
Is Electric Picmic not a bit main stream for the hipsters now?

It is. I wouldn’t go near it.

Its 85% Leix now.

Bizarrely, when we used live in West didsbury, the local primary school had the children of one or two lads from James, a lad from the doves, and Paul Heaton lived round the corner. They played the school bonfire night fundraiser. £5 in for the band and fireworks. I wasn’t expecting much but they played James greatest hits for just under an hour and were absolutely perfect. As good as ever you’d see.
Our two were in the local Catholic school up the road, and Mandy Smith’s kids were there (I never saw her). Unfortunately they couldn’t one up this effort with the rolling stones.

Paul Heaton seems a thoroughly alright sort. He’s written some great songs too.

He’s been farewelling for a long time now.

Probably be a grand gig all the same but would be an absolute cuntfest, particularly in Cork. It will be the talk of the yacht club for weeks afterwards

They have a history of putting on a huge welcome for English queens.

James Taylor 3 Arena in January 2022

Be a great name for a festival

War on Drugs 3 Arena 13 April. Not sure how WoD would transpose to an Arena having only seen them in small venues to date.

Classic I preferred their earlier stuff post

I do prefer their early stuff. I was disappointed by their last major label record whereas the previous two indie label (Secretly Canadian) albums I listen to regularly- as recently as last night. Anyway I’ll give the new album a listen and if I like it I’ll buy a ticket for the gig.

You’d know more about music than any lad I know except a lad who met Noel Gallagher in Hartigans in 1996 chatted to for an hour and turned down back stage passes to see a band in Whelans.

He also agreed to finance White Ladder before David Gray decided to finance it himself

Could be like time Foals made the jump to same arena back in 2016

Ava music festival is going ahead in Belfast the end of September.

Cc @Fulvio_From_Aughnacloy