Was at the pet shop boys at the marquee, they played all the greatest hits, good show but wasnât amazing
Owl Fagan here with the beard and glasses up the front. Only way to see a gig really. Hard to know whether Bobby Gillespie was actually fucked up or whether it was an act. Anyway it was a super show. Moving on Up kicked it off. It was clear it was a greatest hits kind of a night with the audience being regularly called on to sing. That was fine. Anyway I thought Loaded was the highlight of the night but those around me loved Country Girl and Rocks which rounded off the night. The Gospel group had a great night.
Between Mrs Jones last Sunday, copious pints in Dublin and Bobby himself, Iâm fucking feeling âAh, lovelyâ
Youâre only a young fella.
One of the nice things about being close to the stage is seeing the gear the guitarist is using. I reckon Andrew Innes played four guitars over the course of the evening, 3 Les Pauls (classic, custom and junior) and a Fender Stratocaster. It also occurred to me that as vocalists and drummers degenerate over the years guitarists generally get better with time.
Also being so close to the stage I got a good look at Bobby Gillespies snake skin shoes. Nice.
Whats Fairview Park like as a venue?
I found it good. Very chilled crowd and a good night weatherwise helped the experience. Also we werenât set upon by hooligans in the park, another bonus. The tent was a carryover from Electric Picnic so it was up to the job. Tolerable queues for drink and no shortage of loos.
One criticism I heard from a girl who was at Phoebe Bridgers was that the flatness of the field meant that people at the back couldnât see her. Answer to that - get up the front.
Walked back to Harry Byrnes after, had a nice couple of pints for old times sake and then home.
Yeah. I had the youngest in the playground in Fairview park yesterday evening and was surprised how sedate it was. Its a great location access wise too. Harryâs is a fine pub.
A grand pub. Especially the front bar.
Just in the door from the 44, we were out out
Heading to the crown to watch Ye Vagabonds tonight.
Rave legends
My sister was at it. Said he was brilliant. Heâs some back catalogue.
Some venue for a gig in fairness. Walking along the marina with pillars of oak trees either side, boats meandering up the lee to get a good pitch, thousands streaming up to the Park, clouds giving way to a sun setting over the ground and he belting out his greatest hits, crowd baying for more and he giving it. Magic. Brought us back to the old days and good for the soul.
Waiting for The Pixies to come on in the The Big Top here.
#giaf #macnasheads
They were excellent I thought. Black Francis not a man for small talk. Just horse the tunes out.
The way you want it!