Girls

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1062516, member: 2533”]I compiled this poem this morning.

Heartbreak II

I bought my baby a ticket to Noel Gallagher
But she said no thanks, sir
I’m not very fond of you
Even though I said I was into you

Love is a funny feeling
It encapsulates me like I’m dreaming
Unrequited love again
Taking me on its rollercoaster spin

Why, oh why, oh why
Is the saying I always sigh
I thought it was going so well
You had me cast under your spell

The beautiful girl from Free Derry
You had me feeling festive and merry
Then you didn’t text me back
Basically telling me I got the sack

Now, I must recover
Maybe try and find another
But it eats me up inside
I really would love to hide

I felt it was meant to be
That each other, again, we would see
You told me that’s what you’d like
Then you fled, on your bike

Now, I sit here, heartbroken
Old wounds, suddenly reopened
Onward to an alcohol abyss
Not to a lover’s bliss[/QUOTE]

Actually, that’s a lie - I did it this morning, ad lib.

Where’s the nearest hipster pub where I can recite this, aloud?

I thought you were the girl that I wowed
You had me feeling oh so proud
Then you let me know it wasn’t meant to be
You left me feeling all at sea

Open the pharmacy
Just, please, let it be
I wanted to marry you
Felt our chemistry was so true

Now I know where I stand
I’m walking on a lonely land
I look at the stars at night
Trying to ignore your callow slight

But, as much as I try to forget
You’re like a constant sonnet
Love is not meant to be
At least for poor old me

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1062520, member: 2533”]I thought you were the girl that I wowed
You left me feeling all at see

Open the pharmacy
Just, please, let it be
I wanted to marry you

Now I know where I stand

Love is not meant to be
At least for poor old me[/QUOTE]

Wow… just wow.

:frowning:

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1062520, member: 2533”]I thought you were the girl that I wowed
You left me feeling all at see

Open the pharmacy
Just, please, let it be
I wanted to marry you

Now I know where I stand

Love is not meant to be
At least for poor old me[/QUOTE]

beautiful words for a horrible situation

Send it to Noel Gallagher. He will come up with a cracking tune for it.

That’s too high brow for the eye brow brothers.

There’s an Ivor Novello in it.

Thanks, pal.

Dreaded fear
Horrid atmosphere
Mind not clear
Heart pierced with a spear

I thought I found love again
But now it’s thrown in the bin
We bonded over Brian Harvey
And how his music evoked harmony

But at Christmas time
You committed a love crime
Leading me to believe
I was stitched upon your heart sleeve

Please let me know where I erred
What it was wrong that I inferred
Because it gnaws away inside
As I really, really, really tried

No, no, no @balbec . This has Damien Dempsey written all over it.

It was Christmas day
Not a word would you say
Because you decided that I was not the one
You decided that we were done

Wistful regret fills my thinking
Along with your blissful eyes still blinking
You are the at the bottom of my heart
I can’t bear to think us apart

Please say yes I think to myself
I’d buy you the most expensive delph
I’d like to start a family
Send you a winking smiley

If you were by my side
You’d make the most beautiful bride
But you’ll go for another
As you’ve torn my heart asunder

Spot on.

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1062576, member: 2533”]It was Christmas day
Not a word would you say

If you were by my side
As you’ve torn my heart asunder[/QUOTE]

This is fast becoming a sonnet

[QUOTE=“Il Bomber Destro, post: 1062576, member: 2533”]It was Christmas day
Not a word would you say

If you were by my side
As you’ve torn my heart asunder[/QUOTE]
Here, mate, I drunkenly wrote this at 2am a few weeks back, but posted it on a rival forum as I don’t want to get a name here for embarrassing, mawkish poetry, but what the hell.

Regret, regret, corroding my mind like rust
Chewing at my brain like a rat gnaws on a wire
which is pulling me down, dragging me by the neck
You’re 11 hours ahead, I’m 11 years behind

You race forward so fast, I fall back slowly
Into a warm cocoon of sorrow, smothering my head
in a strange soothing comfort, clouding my senses
but this comfort brings pain, and i cannot breathe under the weight of it

There’s nowhere to look except back
my eyes can only focus one way
there’s no point in turning around, i still see the same view
and even if i close my eyes, I still only see you, like you were and as you still are

Regret, give me a lifeline, something to hold
To grab onto tightly in the cold winter night
Regret, regret, release me from your grasp, cast me into the open
let me breathe again, or else strangle me, as is your want

[QUOTE=“farmerinthecity, post: 1062266, member: 24”]No asking of ‘advice’ for you. Just using your own bloody cop on.

:clap:[/QUOTE]
Could you imagine seeking or taking advice from that @glasagusban freak? Fuck sake.

Damien Dempsey is a warrior poet, not a whimpering fanny.

You’re confusing with damien rice.

Jaysus we need the GAA back soon.

Lads regressing to teenage angst ridden bad poetry.

Ffs sake