I see. That changes it a bit. It is a bit sad all the same when an author as talented as Ryan can’t make a living out of it yet Cecelia Ahern is minted from writing absolute scutter.
My buddy has a theory . If you have something that women like you can get rich quick .
No idea. He mentioned in the article that it was a decent advance for next three books. But what that is in cash terms I wouldnt have a clue.
If you sold 500 books a week in Ireland from Jan to Nov you would be knowing around top of bestsellers I’d say
Absolutely.
I’d say the move options is the big kahuna pay day.
Ryan’s stuff would make excellent one hour tv shows I’d say if well made.
Yeah I can see what you mean. I also thought Ryan’s stuff might appeal to a filmmaker like Lenny Abrahamson.
How would Donaghy’s and Paul O Connell’s have sold in Ireland ???
Not sure really. Think I heard POC had over 1m worth of sales in 2016. Sold 20k the week before Xmas or something
Must have been close to top selling book of year
Abrahamson is currently working on a film adaptation of Donald McRae’s excellent book “A Man’s World” about the boxer Emile Griffith.
You could make yourself a bestseller handy enough so.
I’d say the thing about December could be adapted into an excellent 100 minute movie, in the right hands and the right cast I’d say it could be outstanding.
the newer one could easily stretch to a 5 part drama.
I’d say it’s only a matter of time before this happens for him, that or a Booker win to allow him out of the civil service but as I said earlier I’d say he’s as well out in the real world listening to real people.
I think he’s an outrageous writing talent, he’s shown in his short stories that he can do urban stories as well, I’d like to see him set his next novel in the Island field or O Malley park.
I’m going to target next January to top the best sellers list. Do you have to sell the books through certain outlets for them to count?
Himself and Kevin Barry could combine to write @ChocolateMice autobiography, Ryan could do his early life as a fun loving, partying, lothario on the mean streets of Limerick, then Barry could do his later years as a contrary auld bollix living in a bedsit in Cork.
A book about @Tassotti would be an international bestseller. That and the movie rights and the merchandising would set me up nicely for my retirement.
We’re could do a TFK annual
some great lyrics
FORGOTTEN
Watching late night television
Half in love with Vivien Leigh
But she’s so beastly dead now
Isnt she
And the light that glanced off her’s
Enhanced in my direction
By machines that kept her ghost alive
To give me this erection
And outside drunken twelve-year olds
Stand laughing at the fire alarms
Bu oh that she were young again
And held me in her arms
The light lags behind you
As you break up and on through
It’s dark at the top
But it’s dark at the bottom too
Sometimes it seems we have
Dreamt the wrong dreams as we
Flare through the arc from
Unknown to forgotten
I know that it’s not cool of me
This late in the century
To drop a tear in sympathy
For one dead girls lost beauty
When I can’t cry for bigger things
The girl herself, or all my sins
The holocaust, my coming end
Extinctions, or a vanished friend
But pretty girls I’ll never meet
Can set me stumbling in the street
Ones long dead, like Vivien Leigh
Or ones not born who, when I’m dead
Will feel the same for me.
GALWAY BAY
"The Sun goes down on Galway Bay
The daughter goes down on me
Her dad’s not due till one or maybe two
And I’m as happy as I’ll ever be
You’re so cute in your birthday suit
And I’m so cool in mine
I could play all day with your exotic fruit
If you didn’t have school at nine"
Just finished Springsteen’s autobiography - quite enjoyable and very well written. I wouldn’t be a massive fan but an interesting story all round
I enjoyed it. Better than most and you could tell he put a lot of work into it.
I found he came across as a bit of an arrogant bollox at times. Particularly when he would not allow The E Street Band be inducted into the Rock n Roll hall of fame with him. A massive ego at work there, but it goes with the territory I suppose.