Once you get past the age of 40 you really shouldn’t have any need to be reading any work or piece of fiction, unless it’s Russian.
I bought that on your recommendation before a recent holiday
No offence mate…
Audible have a two for one offer at moment
Reading “The Guns of August” at the moment about the lead up and first month of World War 1. It’s about 60 years old, JFK was a big fan apparently. Anyway, it’s absolutely superb, recommended for any with an interest in history.
Great choices but I prefer “No Longer At Ease” to “Things Fall Apart”.
Did this thread ever have a discussion on “Normal People” by Sally Rooney? We’re showing our age if not.
I mostly liked it. The voice is very addictive, you’d fly through it. The end is ridiculous. Everything is made very easy for the reader, it’s like the production on Boxer by The National, everything is pushed to the front, there’s not a lot of subtlety, what depth there is is ironically sort of “in your face”, which obviously means there’s fuck all depth. Slightly overrated but well worth reading.
Conversations With Friends was very annoying I thought, unlikeable Trinity students who think anyone gives a fuck about their opinions talking shite and occasionally making a mess of their lives. Neither of her books have much story.
Fair play to her though.
Interesting. I’d Normal People on my “to-read” list. She was getting wall-to-wall outstanding reviews there a few months back.
I started reading it but began to feel like a dirty old man reading about young people riding so I stopped.
I thought Normal People was grand. Surprised the reviews are so enthusiastic.
I had conversations with friends on Audible but I gave up on it, a more annoying bunch of cunts you couldn’t read about
Did you read the book or listen to the audible version? I’m about a third of the way through the audible version and it is excellent as it has almost s mini podcast after each chapter where he goes into more detail
Audible.
Very much enjoying Ben Elton’s latest book Identity Crisis. Listening on audible.
Are people too fucking lazy to read?
These audio books kill your own imagination.
You try driving and reading a book at the same time and see how you get on.
Why do you think that. Interesting viewpoint. Iv listened to 40 books in last 12 months and probably read less than 10
The narrator colours your own picture of how the characters sound, and how the prose reads. He/she does half of the interpretation for you.
He’s enjoyable
Well said. People are being spoon fed books now.
I’d rather drive home and read it then if I’m interested in it.