Good Books

What happens in the end?

Killing rage. Armed Struggle by Richard English. 10 Dead men … I also highly recommend Shankill Butchers - it doesnt go into the politics of NI or the conflict that much, but it is one of the most harrowing / tense books I ever read.

Loads of good BBC spotlight docs up on youtube also.

I’d highly, highly recommend the C4 doc on Ballymurphy too — should be free on their website once you sign up.

There was a great bbc doc a couple of years back on the funeral murders going into the Gibraltar killings and Michael stones attack on milltown cemetery

All up on youtube - i think

It’s a while since I read it, but think they all lived happily ever after

Got Ten Dead Men there. Thanks for the recommendations lads

Lost Lives

There’s a version of it on I think BBC this Sunday. It’s a book every Irish person, or British or Northern Irish person should read.

About a third of the way through this. Dreadful. I’ve started, so I’ll Magnus Magnusson.

Hard going on tv

Just about to tuck into this

I read Say Nothing by Patrick Radden Keefe there recently. Highly recommended.

Goes through a lot of detail from the hunger strikes, bombing trips to London, the security response and political posturing from all sides. Cracking read.

Great book.

Certainly was. That’s the thing about Lost Lives, it tells the personal story of the dead whether they were combatants or completely innocent

Medium Raw - written and narrated by the great Anthony Bourdain is an excellent audio book to listen away to on the daily commute.

They were talking about Hilary Mantell’s new book on radio 4 this morning. Initially I misheard, and thought it was about that uucoam Cromwell. In fact it’s about Thomas Moore, which is disappointing as I’d love to read her take on Cromwell, but they gave it rave reviews.

Thomas Cromwell

Ah, that’s how I misunderstood it. The radio in the meriva is appropriately shite.
I think I know what happens in the end.

Reading between the lines here it seems like you’re a fan of Hilary Mantell but was unaware that she wrote books about Thomas Cromwell

Medium raw is poor enough imo @Big_Dan_Campbell but Kitchen Confidential is a good read,*
If you’re into that sort of thing I’d recommend a book called The year of eating dangerously by (I’m taking a risk here) Tom Parker Bowles

*actually I think it’s a Cook’s tour that is his best book

Not really a fan, but oliver Cromwell is a fascinating thug, and I would like to read her take on him,and the take of an world class writer,but an English person,on his butchery in Ireland.
I’d also be glad to see this exposed to a wide audience.
I’ve always found Cromwell a darkly interesting character, though I feel guilty about this tbh given his crimes against the country and the innocents in it.
I’d be interested as she writes from the first person in many ways wanting to,as she says herself ,act like “a shaky videocam on the shoulder” of the protagonist.
I’ve always found the sacking of Drogheda appalling,and how it jarred against stories of him hanging his own soldiers for rape, and even,in the same campaign, for stealing a chicken.

Recommendation needed for a bit of mindless fiction to listen to while running, I tend to daydream a lot so it’ll need to be fairly untaxing, I finished ‘Where the Crawdads sing’ this morning and enjoyed it very much.
Page turning fiction is what I need