Just back from Les Miseables there now. What a super movie. I’d like to thank my fellow Forumites for tipping me off that it was all singing and no dialogue. Once prepared for this aspect of the movie you can let the whole experience wash over you.
Im just in from a very enjoyable evening watching Gangster Squad. Another shoot em up type film, Gosling played a similar character to most of his other films. He’s a bit monotone. Not a classic but kept me out of the pub.
Glad you enjoyed it, I thought it was fantastic also. Jackman was brilliant.
Brilliant he was. I see Rocko has fucked up the quote function.
The place is falling apart ffs… Anyway, I can see why It’s the most successful musical ever, but the transformation for the big screen was some job.
I’ll be taking in Life of Pi tomorrow, read the book a few years ago, and Django during the week.
[quote=“ChocolateMice, post: 110869”]
Brilliant he was. I see Rocko has fucked up the quote function.
The place is falling apart ffs… Anyway, I can see why It’s the most successful musical ever, but the transformation for the big screen was some job.
I’ll be taking in Life of Pi tomorrow, read the book a few years ago, and Django during the week.[/quote]
Life of Pi is meant to be utter gack.
Yes i am a clown. Tks for letting me know ure ladyship that this is a forum where ure opinion is the only 1 that counts. Geebag.
And again -i / me thoroughly enjoyed that movie
Just in from this. Good film alright. Jackman and Hathaway excellent. First 20mins particularly good. Unneccessary extra songs were boring and paled in comparison with the great original music from the stage show and the dubbing was awful. Ali G and Helena BC very good in comedy roles
Watched Road to Perdition last night on Film4. Very enjoyable with a stellar cast and shot beautifully. Paul Newmans last film too and he nails the Irish-American accent.
A 3 hour musical with Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway? I’d rather be kicked in the head by 40 knackers thanks.
The Impossible is woeful.
The first hour of Django is excellent, tails off a bit in the 2nd half and is probably too long overall.
Not bad though. Tarantino’s cameo is rather embarrassing however.
The dinner scene is way too dragged out
It’s one of his major failings, he writes and directs stuff then can’t bring himself to edit out a second of it because he thinks everything he does is so amazing. I was also a bit uneasy with the final scene but don’t want to spoil it here.
Tarantino is in greater need of a editor than Peter Jackson and thats saying something.
Have seen Les Mis, Lincoln, and Argo in recent weeks. Argo is grand, a nice film, can see what KIB Man was getting at re the ending, but I wasn’t too bothered. Les Mis is a great show to be fair to it, I understand how its not everyones cup of tea, but for what it is, its very well done. Crowe however was a huge miscasting imo. Jackman and Hathaway stole the show with an honourable mention for Barks who played Eponine.
I was wary of Lincoln but I was very much pleasantly surprised. I don’t know too much about the man bar the bones of his life really, but I found it to be a well told story of a very important part of his life and legacy. No one will touch Day Lewis for the Oscar, he inhabits the role and rarely if ever does the facade crack. He loved an auld story did Lincoln if this film is to be believed.
Django…unreal!!!
Di Caprio is a class actor.
Ah lovely, just downloaded four fairly recent movies back to back and also have ‘Looper’ downloaded the last few weeks which i haven’t watch. The new movies are ‘Argo’, ‘Zero Dark Thirty’, ‘Seven Pscyhopaths’ and ‘Flight’. What should i watch first?
The Big Lebowski. I’d love a White Russian now.
I enjoyed both looper and Argo.