Some motherfuckers are always trying to ice-skate uphill
Fair fucks to this lad we talk about tough backgrounds but coming from the care system like he has is a different level altogether. Even when it comes to the likes of football and fellas coming from working class areas or wherever they almost always have a solid stable family background.
Whether fellas think he’s a good actor or not is immaterial those who matter obviously do. He’s not filling some kind of ‘token howya’ role either as I’d imagine few in America know or give a fuck to them he’s just Irish.
He’s a very very very good actor and he’s going to be box office in Hollywood too. Fair fucks indeed
Jesus, I didn’t know that at all, fair play to that man, his performance in Banshees is one of my favourite ever movie roles, blown away
He’s probably from historically the ‘roughest’ area in Ireland north inner city in around sherrif st/summer hill. I believe he has ADHD too.
Just finished banshees there - solid 8.5 from me and Mrs Spidey. Farrell very good. Wouldn’t be giving huge kudos to Keogan - fairly one dimensional and that scene with the sister seemed forced to show he had some depth. Some very funny parts in it but not sure if I was being led down the path to laugh out load.
Did you think it was a good depiction of island life?
Bull island was slightly different
Barry got a super thumpin from his brother on a night out last year
His performance in The killing of a Sacred Deer is brilliant. Proper unsettling.
Most people wouldn’t have picked him as the most likely Hollywood A lister from Love Hate. But there’s a reason he’s making it and doing so well. It’s a meritocracy business and he’s clearly regarded by directors and producers as a really talented actor.
How many dimensions was Keoghan to put into a simpleton character like Dominic? The fact that he made the character sing as much as he did is a credit to him. I get the feeling there’s a lot of Irish begrudgery going about with regards to Banshees.
It isn’t an Irish movie
It’s production companies and funding classify it as UK, US and Irish, not to mention of course the production location.
Its a british movie about Ireland. Its a film 4 production.
It classifies itself as UK US and Irish. I mean sure, maybe you’d know better but I can only go on what they say themselves.
How can a movie classify itself?
Its a film4 production. The director is british too.
It’s is a production of Blueprint Pictures, TSG (@Little_Lord_Fauntleroy) Entertainment and Film 4 Productions 2 of which have branches in Ireland. The director classifies himself as British/Irish due to being born in London to Irish parents. It’s disappointing that you’d view our diaspora as British. It’s plain to see McDonagh holds his Irishness as being a very important part of himself.
Typical Irish neediness trying to claim something for themselves.
Like Harry Kane.
Its a movie about Ireland directed by a fella who came here on holidays as opposed to grew up here.
And it shows
Of course he didn’t grow up here, he grew up in London. I’m also pretty sure he wasn’t alive during the Irish Civil War, but I suppose that’s pretty obvious too and maybe he shouldn’t comment on that either. And who the fuck is claiming Harry Kane? Has he directed a movie about life on an Irish island during the civil war?
It’s a very simple view to try and claim a movie based in Ireland, filmed in Ireland, starring Irish actors, using Irish production services and companies, written by a man with Irish parents who spent much of his childhood in Ireland, and part funded by Irish money, isn’t to be viewed as an Irish movie.
But then, some motherfucker’s are always trying to ice skate uphill
It isn’t an irish movie.