Good Friday Drinking Laws?

Just wondering if any TFK members have a problem with not being able to go to the local tomorrow?

One point that always gets thrown at me is “it’s only one day”. My reply; I can abstain any time I fooking want, why should the day be forced onto me! I don’t think the boozers should be forced to shut at all, it’s a law that is well out of place in modern Irish society imo.

What harm does it do people though Ben?

One thing that really bugs me is people boozing on Good Friday for the sake of it. There were stories of people travelling on trains down the country and getting beer on there because trains are somehow exempt from the ruling. They would actually go on the train specifically for that.

I have heard constant references to ‘stock-piling’ for tomorrow on the other thread. Can I just ask if the people who stock-pile would go on the beer for the entire day on a random Saturday? (Bandage/Jugs - don’t answer). So why go on the beer on Good Friday? Is it a two-fingers to authority? Are perople trying to be hard? I don’t understand it myself.

The ruling doesn’t do any harm to people so I say leave it as is.

it doesnt bother me at all. Its not as if I never knew about it and had planned a night out or something and have to cancel. Its one of a couple of days when pubs are closed, and I dont think it makes that much difference really. Like farmer says, a lot of people drink more than usual to compensate for pubs not being open for whatever reason that I dont get either.

I drink at home anyway so I feel justified in stockpiling. Obviously if you plan to drink on Friday night, you have to buy your booze on the Thursday, so why the objection to stockpiling?

The law in itself doesn’t bother me but I’d get rid of it if it were my decision.

Well, I don’t do it myself usually but it is the start of the Easter holidays and there’s no work till Tuesday so if the pubs/off-licences were open people would probably go on the piss anyway.

And if you do want to have a party it’ll be all the better for not having people skiving off to do silly things like go meet mates from work/girlfriends in crap nightclubs etc.

And of course, isn’t it human nature to want to do something that you can’t do?

Thing about Good Friday is you get a day off work but can’t go gargling. Would you rather work the day and go on the piss in the pub or have the day off?

Having said that pubs should be allow choose if they open or not. We’re backwards over here

Was up in the supermarket earlier and you’d swear there was a world shortage of beer tomorrow the way everyone is carrying on. Same as Christmas Eve. Doesnt bother me cos I’ve to work tomorrow but never really did anything on Good Fridays anyway.

I don’t drink at all Good Friday, nor do I eat meat or unnecessary snacks as I am Catholic and do believe in the significance of today. However I don’t shove my beliefs down other peoples necks, I don’t see why the government should!

I would love to go down to the local for a few hints at about 11pm this evening. I honestly see no point in the pubs being closed on the Friday of the longest weekend of the year.

It doesn’t harm anybody as such (Farmer), but it does inconvenience tourists who come to Ireland for the weekend finding out they’ve nothing to do on their first night. It unfair to somebody like me, who would go to the pub in the afternoon for a fish and chips and a pint of water. It also destroys one nights business for most of the businesses in the cities.

??

Are any nightclubs open at 12? I hear talk of Sin, RiRa, Viper Room might be.

My friend is absolutely aching for a night out. He can’t go out the rest of the weekend you see…

[quote=“Thrawneen”]Are any nightclubs open at 12? I hear talk of Sin, RiRa, Viper Room might be.

My friend is absolutely aching for a night out. He can’t go out the rest of the weekend you see…[/quote]

Your friend, eh?

The Viper Room will definitely be open anyway.

[quote=“Bandage”]Your friend, eh?

The Viper Room will definitely be open anyway.[/quote]

Cheers Bandage. Never been there…any use?

Never been there either Thrawneen but was discussing places that would be open with a friend who goes there a bit and he said they were defo opening. Think it stays open really late and gets a load of easy but skanky types.

You’ve just sold it to me. I mean us. Me and my friend.

Absolute kip Thrawneen, but lovely skanks in there, they might even be too skanky for Jugs, I mean really skanky, you can smell the skank. Shite overpriced pints may be a drawback.

Will Eamo Doran’s be open?

Hittin Club 92 y’all

Fair play, report back Thraw. I was supposed to report to Dorans this evening at 0001, my mate bailed on me last night after I had a shower and changed my jocks. I’m now sitting at my laptop on TFK with clean hair, scrubed balls and clean jocks, what a fooking waste!

Crisis averted - we can all drink again without the threat of going to hell hanging over us.

I’ve a burger on the frying pan and a few cans of Bertie’s tipple Bass in the freezer, fook all on the box though, even Jools Holland fecked off for the weekend!

Woke up beside a bird at least three times bigger than me in Cherrywood. Absolutely vile wandering out of there in that wind. Luckily a mate came and gave me a lift home.

Great night.