Good luck with everything, Tony O’Donoghue

One man did his job last night.

One man didn’t.

the champagne socialist pretend ira lads going ape because a bloke earning 25k a week gets asked why he is so shit at work by a fella earning a grand a week

O’Neill is making himself look insecure and like a total bluffer with his carry on.

The lads afraid of MoN being called to account by the media are the same lads who love a feel good media story about the best fans in the world.

This is not show business. It’s a results business.

O’kneel pulled a Kevin Keegan on it

Did you watch the interview? TOD was turning the screw and O’Neill was disgusted when TOD said humiliation - the interview was over then but TOD kept digging.

I don’t know what all the outrage is about. O’Neill was just waffling and incoherant. The questions were fairly straightforward. If you’re going to be an international football manager, you need to be accountable. He was just trying to play the sympathy card there and it doesn’t cut it. That was a disgraceful performance which has to be laid at O’Neill’s door. These players aren’t as bad as that. O’Neill has to go and take the inexplicable Roy Keane with jim.

Tony O’Donoghue is a real pro. One of the best sports journalists in the business.

an awful lot of the soccer lads would prefer if Donoghue ignored the accountability questions and instead asked ONeill was he bringing the lads out to do the Harry Ramdan Challange

‘The best fans in the world don’t leave after 70 minutes’ - Anger from stands in Danish pasting: http://indo.ie/ayuu30gAAjC @YouBoysInGreen #IRLDEN https://twitter.com/IndoSport/status/930729574337478656/photo/1
:grin:

I did. MON is running away like a little girl.

Face the hard questions.

He has dealt with many tougher things in his life in fairness to him.

They were legitimate questions. Ireland were putrid in quite a few games and could with better home performances have won the group.

You cannot keep pointing to one off away performances. Consistancy underpins good teams

Not a great husband though

Listen, TOD was making it personal and using the defeat to have a go - O’Neill doesnt have to put up with personal attacks if he doesn’t want to. By all means ask the tough questions but as soon as it got personal you could see the change in O’Neill’s eyes as he saw it for the pathetic attack that it was and he walked off…

I’ve already called O’Neill out on the Denmark thread but i’m not condoning the personal attacks… In no other sport do RTE go after managers and players like in soccer… The rugger boys get slaps on the backs and no matter how bad it is the language revolves around heroic effort and courage … The soccer team are cut to bits… Maybe that’s part of soccer, they are highly paid professionals, but the double standards from RTE is gas. You’d rarely see it with GAA either but that’s different.

O’Neill was engaging throughout that interview despite their differences, TOD used their personal dislike to stick it to him … Martin doesn’t have to take abuse from anyone.

Spot on mate, Joe Smith was allowed to use a delay for the team bus as an excuse for losing to Scotland and not a word about it.

What was personal?

Thats just mental snowflake carry on.

He is the International manager on 1.2m a year. Of course questions need to be asked. Its MON who made it personal, by taking it personally.

The questions were about his job. And the job he did.

You dont follow Irish soccer much do you?

he listed off a number of results that he considered below par, it wasn’t a question , it was him having a pop

No manager in International Sport would stand there and take that.

And there you go again — As soon as someone disagrees with you, you throw out wild, childish abusive labels - this time it’s ‘mental snowflake carry on’

No manager should have to. O’Donoghue is an utter cunt, makes Geoff Shreeves look like Mary Poppins.