Good luck with everything, Tony O’Donoghue

What part of it was making it personal?

He accused Martin and his players of humiliating the country, mate … I thought that was fairly obvious. We are limited yes, but those lads are very honest and hardworking and for TOD to come out and use language like humiliation when we were beaten by a far superior team - as most teams are that we face, was a joke. There’s history with them two and Martin was being honest but you could see the look in his eye change as he realized TOD was changing it to a personal attack rather than sticking to the game

You’ve just been pumped 5-1 at home. O’Neill was crest fallen. Pointless for O’Donoghue to repeatedly goad him and stick the knife in.

“Was it a humiliation?”. Ffs. Anyone with eyesight saw what happened, that was needless and provocative. O’Neill was actually fairly restrained.

And then listing off all the poor results at home. All O’Donoghue had to ask was “it was our home form that ultimately cost us in this campaign, wasn’t it?.” Just adding salt to the gaping wounds.

O’Neill got it terribly wrong with his half time subs but it was a gamble worth taking. He has done a decent job overall and even after that debacle last night didn’t deserve a scorching from a mouthy cunt who sides with whichever way the wind blows.

But we were humiliated and O’Neill was not being honest. He was trying to play a doddery oul fucker in a vain attempt at soliciting sympathy.

Bullshit.

Load of event junkies at the game that article says? Surely not. The beautiful game. The one true sport. Best fans in the wuddled

If even Dunphy is saying it went too far, then it went too far

Is this a piss take mate?
I doubt Roy holding himself up to a higher standard than everyone else Keane would agree.

Eddie O Sullivan nearly had a TV3 lady fired because sbe asked him would he consider his position within 5 mins of them being knocked out of the world cup

Agreed. I think O’Donoghue sees himself as part of an ongoing duel with O’Neill - you regularly see him retweeting comments about his O’Neill interviews and posting links to joe.ie type crap clickbait articles along the lines of:

“Well this latest installment in the O’Neill / O’Donoghue saga was awkward and tense”.

I think he’s been watching too many Conor McGregor press conferences. The first few questions were reasonable, the “humiliation” one was antagonistic but 1-5 is a humiliation. It was the last piece that O’Neill was within his rights to take exception to.

O’Donoghue just gave a speech listing out all the games we drew or lost and there wasn’t a question forthcoming. He was just sticking the knife in and I felt it was quite classless. O’Neill butted in and mentioned the games we won in Austria and Wales which is fair enough. We’re a mid-ranking team and win, draw and lose some.

Overall, O’Donoghue is a clownshoe of a man who knows nothing about football despite being interested in it and being employed within it.

that gimp @mac analysed that bizzare speech where he talked about shit results as
“The final question was a statement which implied the question that our home results were the downfall of the campaign”

ONeill was paid €120,000 to manage Eire last night, thats what he gets paid for each competitive game they play.

Whats that, the full proceeds of 2000 ticket sales?
Personally speaking, TOD asked the questions i wanted asked last night.
Oneill is not an amateur GAA manager who has to get up for school in the morning, he takes a million plus every year.

The soccer lads are very precious. Reverting to default mode now of having a pop at the high flying Ireland rugby team. Warren Gatland, Eddie O’Sullivan and Declan Kidney all came under ferocious media scrutiny after bad results and all ultimately paid the price soon after with their jobs.

Abusive?

Snowflake? Thats exactly what it is. Its soft and unmanly to run away like that.

Ffs get a grip.

He is an international manager. And he is showing himself up as weak.

I am not really defending TOD however the questions were not that hard and could have been brushed away with a bit of honesty.

And we support paying his wages

O’Neill was very honest with his answers if you watched it.

O’Donoghue could have asked the same questions without using such insulting and cuntish language.

He let himself down in trying to get a reaction. Any half decent journalist would have been able to do that without being such a fucking dickhead.

He ran away like a little girl when asked about the group as a whole and was defensive very fast

Look, it’s not my fault if you can’t understand basic English. Go read a few books or something.

meh. Those lads getting thick over it are worse. I’d say the lads moaning about fans leaving are ones who could walk home after the game. I had a season ticket for Ireland games when I was in Dublin. Grand and handy to get to games. Trying to travel up the country mid week for late kickoffs is a disaster to get up and even worse going home. If some fella with kids leaves 20 minutes early at 9pm in a dead rubber game in advance of a 3 hour drive home then fuck it, what harm. It would be different if it was a Saturday afternoon game, I’d criticise then, but not midweek games.

I saw some click bait article today too about fans pushing a car or something and how “they are still legends even in defeat”, so the best fans in the world are still going strong.

The thing about it is, TOD obviously wanted to bask in MON’s misery, but he could have easily done it without seeming to do it. He could have just stood there with a shit eating grin as he lobbed the simple questions to MON. By going at MON the way he did, he only outed himself as a gigantic cunt to all and sundry. At least we can be thankful for that.