There are some amount of clubs in Cork. Impossible to keep up with.
That’s my club. Dungorney/Loughaderra/Mogeely/
Castlemartyr
Are Castlemartyr not a club on their own?
Dungorney and Castlemartyr go their own way after Minor.
Dungourney and Castlemartyr but the latter is his club.
He scored 0-2 in the Final in '88. Noel Lane score 1-0 and Pat Malone got 0-3. Mac was joint 3rd highest scorer on the day for Galway. Not too shabby from Half-back.
Hi sir Richard. Hows things?
I don’t think you can say they are many levels above the other four named. All five units were excellent and dominant. If you took out the Kilkenny three and replaced them with any of the other four and put the Kilkenny forwards from 2006 to 2012 around them I don’t think anyone would argue that Kilkenny would have won less titles.
The Kilkenny team which won 6 in 7 years was probably a couple of levels above the overall teams the others played on but all of the teams listed won multiple all Irelands and had excellent half backlines. Kilkenny in that era also had a stable of great forwards. The others didn’t have the same forward talent or depth.
Can’t look past Finnerty - Keady - McInerney. They had it all. X factor too. Finnerty and McInerney emigrants in New York, laboring on building sites and flying home for a few weeks every year in August and September for an All Ireland semi final and final.
I thought Finnerty was in the guards?
Youngsters today will never understand how exotic McInerneys white boots were.
He was but he was on leave. 7 weeks himself and McInerney spent in Ireland in the summer of 1987, some life they were living.
He was stationed in Henry Street in ‘85 before the U21 final.
NYPD?
Wasn’t one of the Galway forwards based in New York as well for a time?
Jonny Glynn?
Tipp in 09 were better than kk.
Dunne sending off is the only reason kk won that, yet lads talk about it as the greatest team ever.
Fact of the matter is, if tipp are pulling together and organised, they are better than kk.
And hair
Missed goal chances when they presented themselves from Seamie and Eoin Kelly as big a factor as Benny Dunne sending off. Plenty of teams have lasted 20-25 minutes a man down. If they’d took one of those goal chances when Kilkenny were on the ropes it was possibly game over, regardless of who got sent off after that.
I was at it. The missed goal chances were important, but tipp had kk on the back foot, and were slowly but surely turning the screw. It was like a finely balanced arm wrestle inexorably heading in one direction until someone lost a finger.
The tipp 15 were better than the kk 15. Sin e.