[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067321, member: 273”]Ya but the benefits are clearly way better to have the parent around for some of the time and the kid mixing with others then at a crèche.
Now again it’s about the cheap option. Why not dump the sky sports for the crèche?[/QUOTE]
I am just relating experiences of people who have tried both options and then found an au pair to be a better option with all things considered, especially when the children are in school- it means they are not gone from their own houses for hours on end.
I know equally as many people with children in full time crèche care and people where one parent has opted to work less - one of my male friends tried this but couldn’t take to being a full time stay at home Dad.
I don’t think there is an ideal scenario- I agree with a lot of what you’ve said but I also agree with @mickee123 and @flattythehurdler
and @farmerinthecity[/USER] and [USER=1]@Rocko.
I also agree with whoever said the eighties were shit. My primary school reeked of poverty, there were boys and girls in my class who genuinely came to school hungry and if the school hadn’t brilliantly provided food, they would have gone home hungry too.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067368, member: 273”]It’s unbelievable. But you have to see where some of these lads come from to realise the mentality.
It’s all about the deniro’s.
Capitalist pigs.[/QUOTE]
When you get an education Kev, you might be surprised to learn that women in the workforce is one of the bedrocks of socialism.
The suicide rate of teenagers would seem to differ.
You are awful cunt who has exposed himself Mac style today.
Just because you had an unhappy childhood back then doesn’t mean we all did and you obviously judge the kids happiness on the material things available to them today. I feel sorry for you. It goes someway to explaining your childish obsession with a British soccer club. Most lads drop that after school end.
[QUOTE=“Bandage, post: 1067345, member: 9”]I think the critical question that needs answering is whether @caoimhaoin uses a dog sitting service or bring his dogs on holidays with him.
Well?[/QUOTE]
Well I think the main issue is here is that your mate Rocko is beaten so far up the stick here the best you can muster is a few dumb ratings and stale shite like this.
It’s clear you don’t really support your mate, or as likely, you are one of these pathetic 30somethings who still had a fear of women and struggles to have conversations with them and positively explodes with even the thought of kids.
[QUOTE=“Midshipman Asha, post: 1067371, member: 1508”]I am just relating experiences of people who have tried both options and then found an au pair to be a better option with all things considered, especially when the children are in school- it means they are not gone from their own houses for hours on end.
I know equally as many people with children in full time crèche care and people where one parent has opted to work less - one of my male friends tried this but couldn’t take to being a full time stay at home Dad.
I don’t think there is an ideal scenario- I agree with a lot of what you’ve said but I also agree with @mickee123 and @flattythehurdler
and @farmerinthecity[/USER] and [USER=1]@Rocko.
I also agree with whoever said the eighties were shit. My primary school reeked of poverty, there were boys and girls in my class who genuinely came to school hungry and if the school hadn’t brilliantly provided food, they would have gone home hungry too.[/QUOTE]
I did it for five months when the little lady was about 8months-1year. It was good, some tough days, but I have to admit I missed adult conversation*.
You would be amazed at the amount of schools in Ireland now providing a breakfast club. It’s shocking the amount of kids that are actually hungry in school.
I would like to publicly apologise to @Bisto for a dumb rating I attributed to one of his comments earlier in the thread. Upon reflection the rating was unfair and unnecessary.
That’s not what I said. It’s you are assuming I’m talking solely about women. I have specifically spoke about parents all along. My references to mothers have been mostly about the past or specific families I have spoken about.
The accounts are taking a real pasting today. They must be upset after Charlie last night.
[QUOTE=“Juhniallio, post: 1067384, member: 53”]I did it for five months when the little lady was about 8months-1year. It was good, some tough days, but I have to admit I missed adult conversation*.
You would be amazed at the amount of schools in Ireland now providing a breakfast club. It’s shocking the amount of kids that are actually hungry in school.
*Not that sort of adult conversation.[/QUOTE]
So it’s just as bad now. Which kinda ruins rocko’s point.
[QUOTE=“caoimhaoin, post: 1067376, member: 273”]The suicide rate of teenagers would seem to differ.
You are awful cunt who has exposed himself Mac style today.
Just because you had an unhappy childhood back then doesn’t mean we all did and you obviously judge the kids happiness on the material things available to them today. I feel sorry for you. It goes someway to explaining your childish obsession with a British soccer club. Most lads drop that after school end.[/QUOTE]
You’re as bad as @Bisto at misreading stats.
The mortality rates in Ireland for Under 18s have improved fairly dramatically in the last 20 years. That is down to health and social factors. That’s a good thing. You need to use some weird twisted logic to judge the health of our children to be worse now.
[QUOTE=“Rocko, post: 1067369, member: 1”]If you’re going to try and be pedantic then try and be correct in your nitpicking. If you can point out where I said “child mortality” I’d be hugely obliged*.
*Timesaving hint: I didn’t.[/QUOTE]
ah here I’m totally confused what we’re even arguing anymore!..if you didn’t say it then i apologise…but your initial lifestyle post was fuckin ridiculous…you also sensationalized my comments about the 80’s , like the “great” etc…enough people got the point, you didn’t…be it so…
[QUOTE=“Juhniallio, post: 1067384, member: 53”]I did it for five months when the little lady was about 8months-1year. It was good, some tough days, but I have to admit I missed adult conversation*.
*Not that sort of adult conversation.[/QUOTE]
My friend, a tad naively, thought he’d have more time for reading great books and watching great movies and never got to grips with the whole housework/shopping side of the arrangement which drove his wife demented.
My old primary school is still doing food for the children but my sister who taught there until she moved abroad lady year said the old stench was largely gone.
always the humble gent… That pig @Rocko could learn a thing or 2 in humility from you pal…instead he tries to align himself with the downtrodden when he was clearly born with a silver spoon in his mouth…