Green Shoots - How Michael Noonan ended the recession

No its fucking not!

if one person says something and the other disagrees what would you call it sport?

a variance of facts?:rolleyes:

[QUOTE=“count of monte cristo, post: 1018710, member: 348”]if one person says something and the other disagrees what would you call it sport?

a variance of facts?:rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

No, a differing range of details.

[QUOTE=“Julio Geordio, post: 1018585, member: 332”]@caoimhaoin[/USER] [USER=236]@Fitzy[/USER] [USER=1137]@chewy louie[/USER] [USER=361]@Tassotti[/USER] [USER=367]@mickee321[/USER] [USER=1170]@flattythehurdler et al

While ye fucks bolted at the first sign of trouble, we refused to be beaten or bowed, we dug deep and turned this place around.

@Rocko lock this thread.[/QUOTE]
I was gone before the Celtic tiger pal. I wouldn’t be counting too many chickens. Borrowing of another mob to pay off the first. The govt of course are interested only in keeping the show on the road for the next few years. There is trouble ahead still for many many people.
As the the worlds attention turns to the tax rates in Ireland, the multinationals may decide to find somewhere else to play. No money has been invested in long term infrastructure, and once the major players get over the forelock tugging and ankle grabbing of the current mob, there may well be a drain of high end jobs. Bending over to the major corporates in the long run eats away at everything to feed the profit monster.

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1018756, member: 1170”]I was gone before the Celtic tiger pal. I wouldn’t be counting too many chickens. Borrowing of another mob to pay off the first. The govt of course are interested only in keeping the show on the road for the next few years. There is trouble ahead still for many many people.
As the the worlds attention turns to the tax rates in Ireland, the multinationals may decide to find somewhere else to play. No money has been invested in long term infrastructure, and once the major players get over the forelock tugging and ankle grabbing of the current mob, there may well be a drain of high end jobs. Bending over to the major corporates in the long run eats away at everything to feed the profit monster.[/QUOTE]

They’re thinking about tax rates in more than Ireland pal. There’s a lot of sunny islands with a zero rate of CT that’ll be of more interest than Ireland. The Brits are reducing CT to 20% and maybe they’ll go lower. It’ll be a moderately interesting period for boring cunts that are into that type of shite.

I think it’s disgusting that anyone other than Ireland sets our tax rate though.

[QUOTE=“count of monte cristo, post: 1018710, member: 348”]if one person says something and the other disagrees what would you call it sport?

a variance of facts?:rolleyes:[/QUOTE]

I’d call it a typical discussion with a stubborn South Wexford cunt

[QUOTE=“flattythehurdler, post: 1018756, member: 1170”]I was gone before the Celtic tiger pal. I wouldn’t be counting too many chickens. Borrowing of another mob to pay off the first. The govt of course are interested only in keeping the show on the road for the next few years. There is trouble ahead still for many many people.
As the the worlds attention turns to the tax rates in Ireland, the multinationals may decide to find somewhere else to play. No money has been invested in long term infrastructure, and once the major players get over the forelock tugging and ankle grabbing of the current mob, there may well be a drain of high end jobs. Bending over to the major corporates in the long run eats away at everything to feed the profit monster.[/QUOTE]

Once Scotland votes Yes all the call centres they host will start to move over to Ireland. We’ll be a world leader in back office finance and call centres i.e. a country of admin monkeys

[QUOTE=“Appendage, post: 1018786, member: 11”]They’re thinking about tax rates in more than Ireland pal. There’s a lot of sunny islands with a zero rate of CT that’ll be of more interest than Ireland. The Brits are reducing CT to 20% and maybe they’ll go lower. It’ll be a moderately interesting period for boring cunts that are into that type of shite.

I think it’s disgusting that anyone other than Ireland sets our tax rate though.[/QUOTE]
I don’t think anyone is looking to change our tax rate though more that they are going to make it more difficult for companies to “route” their profits through Ireland. So our tax rates will stay the same but because companies won’t be able to “route” their profits through Ireland, it will become less appealing for them to have their EMEA HQ in Ireland.

Or am I way off as usual?

[QUOTE=“Horsebox, post: 1018800, member: 1537”]I don’t think anyone is looking to change our tax rate though more that they are going to make it more difficult for companies to “route” their profits through Ireland. So our tax rates will stay the same but because companies won’t be able to “route” their profits through Ireland, it will become less appealing for them to have their EMEA HQ in Ireland.

Or am I way off as usual?[/QUOTE]

You’re correct. My effort was a ham fisted attempt to say that Ireland wasn’t the only country being seen as a tax haven. I do think a lot of counties resent our low CT rate.

This OECD thing has some similarities to the slow moving CCCCCCCCCCCTB proposal from the EU. Taxing where value is created.

I’m sure there’ll be lots of legal challenge to it as the big losers (outside actual countries) will be tax and transfer pricing specialists. And these people work for big firms and are altogether very important. The EU reckoned they’ll knock a billon off compliance costs if companies adopt CCCCCCCTB. They should fuck off with crap like that. There’s a lot of hungry mouths to feed.

Sure if the IP was developed in Ireland isn’t that where the value was created? Not in Germany where the sales occurred. *

*I’ve a very limited knowledge of tax matters.

GDP growing by 7.7% on an annualised basis

a meteoric recovery

seriously those numbers are incredible

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1019140, member: 2272”]GDP growing by 7.7% on an annualised basis

a meteoric recovery

seriously those numbers are incredible[/QUOTE]

Ya they were incredible yesterday too mate :rolleyes:

:slight_smile:

Snap election after a give away budget

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1019144, member: 2272”]:slight_smile:

Snap election after a give away budget[/QUOTE]

Abortions for some and minature Irish flags for all.

Could be Fine Gaels best chance to win two in a row since the Republic was declared.

Labour are fucked.

[QUOTE=“TheUlteriorMotive, post: 1019144, member: 2272”]:slight_smile:

Snap election after a give away budget[/QUOTE]

The FG backroom team must be working overtime alright. They have a lot of timing options which might only serve to confuse them. I reckon March 2015 pointing to 4 years in office would be best, shatter has been submerged, acting garda commissioner making the right noises, looking good on budget and loan debt wont be any better in 2016.

Joan Burton has a strong profile though with mna na hEireann and will give Labour a bounce if they can securely bury Gilmore, Rabbitte, Quinn & the old guard

[QUOTE=“ciarancareyshurlingarmy, post: 1019221, member: 464”]The FG backroom team must be working overtime alright. They have a lot of timing options which might only serve to confuse them. I reckon March 2015 pointing to 4 years in office would be best, shatter has been submerged, acting garda commissioner making the right noises, looking good on budget and loan debt wont be any better in 2016.

Joan Burton has a strong profile though with mna na hEireann and will give Labour a bounce if they can securely bury Gilmore, Rabbitte, Quinn & the old guard[/QUOTE]

I’d say one more giveaway budget in 2015, then off they go.

The recovery in the economy must be galling for Sinn Fein who must have felt they were in for a shot at Government. Fianna Fail will recover and move to the left to try and eat SF vote.

Are they not the same party at this stage?

Noonan is a a fucking wanker, the cunt should be ashamed of himself with his sly EU taxes. Phil hogan got his promotion for fucking the country with his property taxes. The economy may be recovering in economic terms but Limerick City is absolutely fucked and there is no desire from Fianna Gail to try and fix it.

The funny thing is County Limerick is on a par with South Dublin for disposable income. A strong midwest city would suit @Joe Player and Tipp types like Carryharry as much as it would ourselves. I’m personally sick of Limerick people and everyone else running down the City which was completly miss managed for far too long.

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/bms-phama-investment-1780113-Nov2014/

:pint::pint::pint::pint::pint::pint: