Greyhounds Matters šŸ - Supporting Rural Ireland

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Scolari Me Daddy gave a brave display tonight for such a youngster. To lead Shaneboy a merry dance all the way to the line was a great effort.

Causeway getting up to win after being fourth at the third bend was worth the admission alone.

Carly Philpott looked well! :clap:[/quote]

Will Causeway be hard bet?

Heā€™ll be hard bet alright, but itā€™s an exceptional stake and there are many dog exceptional dogs in the line up. I hope we get an worthy final.

Itā€™s shaping up nicely anyway. Wise Thought dumped out tonight.

SS** was Teflon Tom a non-runner?

Teflon didnā€™t run tonight. Iā€™d say your bet is a loser though, itā€™s all in run or not on Betfair I think.

Damn.

Just after watching all of last nights heats there. Causeway did well to get up but i feel his poor breaking will cost him eventually. Heā€™s been fortunate enough in the opening two races that he hasnā€™t been badly bumped or baulked. I would be surprised if he goes on to win the Derby. There iā€™ve said itā€¦

Well you could be right, heā€™s yet to win a lengthy competition like this. Something always goes wrong. Heā€™s the fastest dog on the planet though over this trip.

That was the main reason I didnā€™t back him at the start, heā€™s my favourite dog by far but just worry about his ability to see these things through to the finish. Would love to see him win it out though.

Iā€™d have my doubts over Buckley, if McKenna or Hennessy had him Iā€™d be more confident. He seems to be a bit like Michael Oā€™Donovan in the coursing derby. The bolt seems to be shot at the semi final stage.

They should change his seeding to wide, if he gets drawn in 1-3 again he could be on his way out.

CC also just seems to be a dog who runs his best races fresh.

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]They should change his seeding to wide, if he gets drawn in 1-3 again he could be on his way out.

CC also just seems to be a dog who runs his best races fresh.[/quote]

Iā€™d agree with that. Put him in trap 6 and heā€™s the best chance of a clear passage.

How much control do trainers have over a dogā€™s seeding?

they can pick rails, middle or wide

there was only 20 odd wides left in before lasst night out of 96 runners so there was a very good chance of 5 or 6.

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]they can pick rails, middle or wide

there was only 20 odd wides left in before lasst night out of 96 runners so there was a very good chance of 5 or 6.[/quote]

What happens if youā€™ve 6 dogs in the same race who prefer wide? Would preference be to the dog with the fastest time in his last race or what?

no, then itā€™s the luck of the draw, they are put in at random

normally in the draw for the next round, the first wide drawn out will get trap6, the second wide seed drawn will get 5 and so on, for rails seeds the first drawn gets trap1, second gets trap 2, middle seed are left to one side until all 6 dogs are drawn out and they then fill whatever middle positions are left. from the inside out in the order they were drawn, I think.

another thing to note is that dogs under the same ownership are guarded in the draw, meaning they canā€™t meet until the final.

[quote=ā€œSHANNONSIDER**ā€]Scolari Me Daddy gave a brave display tonight for such a youngster. To lead Shaneboy a merry dance all the way to the line was a great effort.

Causeway getting up to win after being fourth at the third bend was worth the admission alone.

Carly Philpott looked well! :pint:[/quote]

What stage has Scolari got to now?,should mesef and Piles Hussain be getting up there to jump on the bandwagon or is it a bit early yet?,cmon to fuck Scolari:thumbsup:

Through to the third round and he looked very good last night Link.

Would be a good bandwagon to climb aboard nice and early Link. go for it.

CC will benefit from having 9 days to his next run as he indeed seems to struggle to put two runs together. Liek SS**, I would also have my doubts about Buckley getting them right for such a competition. McKenna and Hennessy nurse dogs through and have them peakign for finals night.

Aside, the forthcoming 09/10 coursing fixtures are out, cant fookign wait !

Think ye are being a bit over critical of Buckley lads to be honest. In the last 18 months he has won the puppy derby, easter cup, galway champion bitch stake, ladbroke 600, northwest derby, scottish derby, youghal oaks, waterford masters etc

Heā€™s deadly in a final and only for Shelbourne Astonā€™s long snout and god knows what was in his system Iā€™d be adding Champion Stakes & Derby to that list! He produced Killahan Phanter & Slip The Lark to run the races of their lives in those respective finals last year.

he also only has about a quarter of the number of dogs in training that hennessy has.

Buckley is the best around at the minute for my money.

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]Think ye are being a bit over critical of Buckley lads to be honest. In the last 18 months he has won the puppy derby, easter cup, galway champion bitch stake, ladbroke 600, northwest derby, scottish derby, youghal oaks, waterford masters etc

Heā€™s deadly in a final and only for Shelbourne Astonā€™s long snout and god knows what was in his system Iā€™d be adding Champion Stakes & Derby to that list! He produced Killahan Phanter & Slip The Lark to run the races of their list in those respective finals last year.

he also only has about a quarter of the number of dogs in training that hennessy has.

Buckley is the best around at the minute for my money.[/quote]:pint:

[quote=ā€œmanaboutdogā€]Think ye are being a bit over critical of Buckley lads to be honest. In the last 18 months he has won the puppy derby, easter cup, galway champion bitch stake, ladbroke 600, northwest derby, scottish derby, youghal oaks, waterford masters etc

Heā€™s deadly in a final and only for Shelbourne Astonā€™s long snout and god knows what was in his system Iā€™d be adding Champion Stakes & Derby to that list! He produced Killahan Phanter & Slip The Lark to run the races of their lives in those respective finals last year.

Buckley is the best around at the minute for my money.[/quote]

All adds up alright Miley, but there is something lacking there, can tquite put my finget on itā€¦ Just reckon he had CC buzzing for the first round, and cant possibly sustain that, or improve. saying that though CC could be anysort of a dog and me you or anybody else around here dont know the ins and outs of getting him right.

Some run for St Loius Spirit last night, if he leads he cannot be caught, has a habit of missing a few breaks ok.