Dunph, with us already well into the new year have you opened your book on the Unsponsored Irish Greyhound Derby yet? I must say Iāve a real hankering for Oran Classic, heās a real talking dog. I get the feeling weāre going to hear alot more about him going forward.
What are your thoughts on the John J Casey SS**? I see Powers have done up a book on it and have made Thurlesbeg Joker the 11/2 favourite. Iād have thought Corporate Attack is a decent price at 12/1 but maybe the 575 will not be long enough for him?
Corporate Attack is probably still a major force alright, Dunph. He is like a dog Peter Meldrum would put up in his Pricewise column Iād say. Weāll see how he gets on. How have you put down the time with all the racing off?
Iāve been mainly reading and eating chocolates. At least thereās some action this weekend so weāll soon be back in the flow of things.
Think i might well back Corporate Attack at 12ās for the interest. I donāt suppose anyone else will price up a book before the thing starts outside of Powers?
I doubt if anyone else will price it Dunph, you know what those bookmaking spivs are like with the dogs, they fill the nappy when a fella puts ā¬50 on the counter.
Keep yeāre eyes on www.irishcoursingclub.ie today for an announcement on whether Clonmel is going to be delayed by a week or 2. From reading DJ Histonās comments in the Sporting Press yesterday it looks as if a short postponement is more likely than not. I see Brendan Matthews calling for it to be staged over the weekend of 12-14th Feb.
Yeah, meetin is going on with in the not so hallowed halls of Davis Road as I type.
On the bigger picture, however, the Executive Committee of the Irish Coursing Club will meet today (Friday) to finalise plans for the remainder of the season.
The thaw may not have come soon enough to avoid a postponement of the National Meeting as it seems unlikely that sufficient time is available to have the full preparations put in place.
As well as that, owners and trainers will be hoping that additional time is provided for them to prepare their runners for the classics.
On Tuesday last, I spoke to D J Histon, Chief Executive/Secretary of the Irish Coursing Club, and he said: āThere is no doubt the recent uncertainty in the weather has increased speculation on the most appropriate way of completing this yearās coursing calendar while simultaneously creating minimal disruption to all.
āThe running of the National Meeting is the main focus for all coursing supporters and the clubs which are still waiting to complete their fixtures.
āThe Executive of the ICC will meet this Friday to review all information required to make a judgment on whether it is necessary to re-schedule the National Meeting or to retain the current fixture date. ā
A delay would fook up a lot of lads travelling form the UK etc⦠some scramble for digs as well if they move it.
Dunph, I will hold off any preview until such a time as the qualifers are fully known and the draw has been made.
On track matters, I have a bitch lining up in the John J Casy tomorrow night, bags of pace, has doen 28.77 around HQ after missing the break and being 12 lengths back entering the back straight, needs the full575 and then some⦠but she has other focuses this weekend as she will go to slips in a members stake on sunday morning. The way āDe Ex Factorā was finishing in the X before christmas, he could be one to keep an eye on over 575. Very open cometition though.
If they have the internet at Davis Road I would plead with them to go ahead as scheduled. A weekend Derby will be the ruination of this great game like it was at Epsom. I am pleading with the ICC mandarins to leave well enough alone and draw lots for the final trial stake tickets or something. The show must go on.
Iāve heard the reasons for the proposed delay have very little to do with giving runners a chance to qualify and more to do with the fact that they have shag all hares yet, and havenāt been able to train any up to now either. I would say a postponement of some sort is very likely.
I hope they do keep it to a Mon-Wed though even if it is pushed back a week or 2.