Sounds a reasonable enough plan so mate.
Closer to the airport too! Yeah, some nice places that way too.
Go now while the kids are young. Why not sure
Was just about to post the same. I’d say he has files in Roxboro and Henry St as long as your arm.
The big house will take care of all of that.
@fenwaypark I agree. He is a loss to education. He genuinely has all the skills, I would think at primary, post primary or third level.
Consider it carefully.
I’d go home tomorrow if I could.
I was on a lovely career trajectory around 2 and a half years ago that if I kept playing my cards right than a move to California would have materialised within around 18 months.
Company was then acquired, project got scrapped and then Covid kicked in and I ended up leaving the job just over a year ago. Will always be a what could have been.
I’ve lived in a good few places. Ireland is as good as anywhere bar the housing situation and the weather and the price of goods and services.
I’d defo try it for a year, and do it now if you can make it work. I’d try and leave the door as ajar as possible for returning though.
I was supposed to move to California for a two year gig - financial crash came - project was shelved - second baby arrived and I didn’t go in the end when they came asking the second time.
I’ve a few friends who moved back last year or two from US. You sort of have to decide before kids go to high school as it’s much harder on them then so you have to commit to stay another ten years.
Another pal of mine moved to Germany (wife is German) - lives just outside Berlin and likes it if not loves it.
I think the fact I never went away when young means I’ll want to go away to retire.
I lifestyle choiced for a year in NZ. Had work all sorted going over and always had a time-limit on it in my head, so I don’t think you could classify it as really emigrating. I found it a very easy country to get set up in - having the job, the language, being single and it being a nation of immigrants were all in my favour, but the bureaucratic elements were all straight-forward. You would do well to get much further away from home than NZ, so it was tough leaving alright. With Spain you have the comfort of knowing you could get home quickly and cheaply if needed.
Completely different scenario with kids. I’d consider doing it, but only on a short term basis and if something fell into my lap, and herself would probably veto it anyways. But I do regret not doing more of it when I had more freedom. I can see myself spending extended time abroad when all offspring are out the gap at the other end. You need months in a country really to immerse yourself in it, and there are lots of places I’d love to do that in.
The grass is always greener…
I have to laugh at @Thomas_Brady
- talking about Ireland not being a nice country anymore
- bucketing the US into one
- talking about wanting to raise a child in a country where they can have a good upbringing and opportunity
But then suggesting Spain. I guess the sunshine bias trumps the reality that Spain has had one of the worst youth employment prospects in Europe for well over a decade.
Every country has its problems but Ireland has fewer than most. We all have our priorities in life and we all have our biases based on where we grew up or the popular culture we consumed (see the relentless focus of Thomas on the negative aspects of the US) but there are no OECD countries that a rational person could rule out living in. Except Australia of course which is objectively a hellhole. @Chucks_Nwoko
I wouldn’t underestimate the importance of that small bit of support. It is one of the main reasons I’m no longer an emigrant, the difference between having limited extended family support and none at all is huge when you have kids.
If I was going abroad at this stage of my life I’d have to make sure it was somewhere with loads of other emigrants in a similar situation - making friends in your 20s is an awful lot easier than making friends later in life. And I’m not sure there is anywhere in the world I’d like to move to that has loads of emigrants there already. Good luck with whatever you do though.
I never said half of that. But laugh away.
My experience with California is that it is not necessarily that great a place to live. Vast distances to everywhere. Outside of San Francisco you couldn’t live without a car. Nobody walks, nobody cycles to work. To cross a road by foot you wait an age to get priority to cross the 4,6,8 lanes of traffic. Very expensive. In from the coast it’s very very hot in summer. Grand place to visit but I’m not sure I’d like to live there long term. We don’t know how good we have it here.
In our case, I was away from home and the missus is from Szczecin which is seven hours away by car. As a result we had zero backup or support with kids etc. That can be tough. I don’t know how I did it really
Fairly standard in most of the US. Footpaths are often poor in lots of nice suburban places. Car culture is a big drawback.
San Francisco is the most expensive city in the US to live in? Or one of them. Beautiful city but huge amount of homeless there. Due to the temperate climate a lot of the homeless in the US migrate there.
I know a few lads out there, living on both Spanish and Gib side if you want any on the ground info
Far from it. The 2 countries that border it would be more attractive to me
San Francisco is the most expensive city in the US to live in? Or one of them. Beautiful city but huge amount of homeless there. Due to the temperate climate a lot of the homeless in the US migrate there.
All true, but I like it as a city. Outside of SF the rest of the Bay Area is fairly beige. Well the bits I’ve seen.