High profile stick hurling managers who got death threats

I remember hearing a story a bout Johnny Pilkington once.

Offaly SHC game on a Sunday morning.

Pilkington turns up as the boys are getting ready to go out. Togs out slowly. Boys decide to do a bit of a warm up in the dressing room to give him a chance tog out.

Pat Joe starts giving it loads geeā€™ing the boys up.

Pilkington sits there humming to himself.

Boys tear the door off running out on the field.

Pilkington sauters out the door.

Turns around.

Comes back in.

Pulls a hurl out the bag.

Walks out.

Fires over 8 points from play with a fag at half time to keep the energy levels up.

Albert Randall in Wexford makes savage hurls Iā€™m told.

Any League of Ireland managers ever get death threats or does anyone care enough about the league to bother?

[quote=ā€œMacā€]Albert Randall in Wexford makes savage hurls Iā€™m told.

Any League of Ireland managers ever get death threats or does anyone care enough about the league to bother?[/quote]

more passion in the LOI but less violent scumbags like syick hurling fans

syick hurling fans? Jesus man, youā€™re just making up sports as you go along to support your arguements.!

stick hurling , sick hurling, syick hurling - all legitimate names

I recieved a death threat at a shamrock rovers game. The matter is still in the hands of the Gardai but they are expecting to make arrests in the next few weeks.

was this a seperate hoops game to the can incident?:smiley:

It was the same game. The threat was written on a supermacs napkin and stuck to the side of the can. The Gardai have narrowed it down to the 3 Shamrock Rovers fans who can write.

Whats the best hurling helmet?

I had a big white square Mycro one when I was a young fella.

They were some yokes. You could nearly turn your head in them and be looking into the back of the thing.

I remember Ollie Canning was a big fan of them.

What ever happened them Lidl ones?

So did I but it was robbed on me and I saw it as a sign to never wear a helmet again. The accident and emergency staff at a couple of hospitals didnā€™t really see the logic behind my thinking

Pure hard fran.

Just like John Power.

Des Mythen robbed my helmet and I robbed his.
I was never the same player again and neither was he.

Did it stunt the little fuckers growth?

Is it a coincidence that Pikeman was injury prone up to that point I wonder?

[quote=ā€œMacā€]Albert Randall in Wexford makes savage hurls Iā€™m told.

Any League of Ireland managers ever get death threats or does anyone care enough about the league to bother?[/quote]

got a few randall hurls at home and find them good sticksā€¦ some of the worst id say i used was cullens of Bannowā€¦

He went on to be nominated for an All-Star wearing my helmet :smiley:

Then he got injured and has been since whereas, as Mac said, Iā€™ve been injury free.

[quote=ā€œmyboyblueā€]Pure hard fran.

Senseless stuff MBB.

Just like a lot of the threads on this board