Holiday destinations for the accompanied traveller

Some lovely seaside towns on the Vendee coast.

Nantes is a fine town

Pornic or anywhere nearby would do the job for you. An hour from Nantes. Small stunning little marina town. Buzzing in the evenings with loads of restaurants… v nice beaches within 10 mins either direction

Awful tragedy.

Istanbul lads, talk to me

Just shave it off mate

Would you believe, I was thinking more for a holiday than cosmetic surgery

Never been but it’s on my list. A few friends have gone and loved it. If you’re into history it’s off the charts.

Was there a good few years ago, just after a bombing in Taksim Square which I hadn’t really thought about until a fella had a mirror on the end of a stick looking under the car when we pulled up at the hotel on the square.

Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, and trip across to the eastern side are the main things I remember from it, but definitely plenty to see, and decent food and nightlife.

Haven’t been for around twenty years but a great city to visit.

Where would you recommend staying?

When you going? We went in November but the bro in law is Turkish and organised everything. The basilica is pretty cool. Giant underground water chamber for when the city was under siege.
A boat up the bosphorus is class. Id defo do that. Mosques are better watched from outside in my opinion. See if you can get a galatasary/besiktas/fenerbache ticket. That was good craic.
Food is outrageous. Get an original iskanders.they melt the butter at your table and pour it all over your kebab. Unrale!

Also had a lovely evening sitting on a bridge at the golden horn. Loads of cool restaurants and theres a heap of lads fishing from the level above so you see them pull the fish out and go past you.

We did an air bnb which was good for us.

Going in September

I think herself has designs on a hotel

Erdogan bombed Taksim square while we were there but theres no elections coming up so you should be grand on that front.
Youd need to prebook turkish baths if she’d like that sort of thing. Istanbul could be pretty hot around then.

Lots of hotels in Taksim.

Re the boat, just had a look there. Loads of different options from places on big cruises for 20quid to private yachts for hire.

Around Taksim Square is a good location. It’s the commercial centre rather than on top of all the sights but they are handy enough to get to from memory, and should be busy around there at night.