Enjoy the celebrations pal
Been before but booked Budapest there for next month with the missus. Canāt recommend that place enough. So much to see, so clean, so safe.
Fantastic city. Mad melting pot.
Anyone here ever been to Munich?
A long time ago⦠a nice clean city with good beer. Donāt recall too much touristy stuff in the city. The old town having a hefeweizen or two is nice. The surroundings of Munich are stunning
A month in Budapest doesnāt come cheap. Enjoy yourselves.
Thatās the way to do it, none of this week with the yobs on the Costaā¦ā¦
I went to the euro games there in the olympic plaza around 2005. Like a fun olympics for lgbt with some serious athletes too. Absolutely savage craic. The Munster team won the cheerleading i think.
Great beer halls, real sense of history
Iām going next monthā¦for a long weekend
Yeah. As german cities go, lively and lots to see. Very easy to get around. Few days be ample
Yes and going again in December. Getting the train from there down to Salzburg. Munich isnāt the most impressive city but there is a good vibe and the Hofbrauhaus is a great beer hall. Dachau is very near by.
Knocking shops and red light district not marked?
No use to the lads here.
Theyāre always on the left when you walk out of the front of the train station.
So just off map.
Yes. Back in September 2004 and it was hell.
Celtic played Bayern Munich and lost 2.1. Alan Thompson scored first but Roy Makaay scored twice to bring misery and pain to another Celtic away game.
I was just back from some sightseeing in New Zealand and Australia and after spending a good few quid flying from Brisbane to Seville and back to Brisbane earlier that year for the UEFA Cup Final before going back to New Zealand to snow board I was low on funds.
Of course Celtic lost to Porto in that final which was the far worse than the pain and misery of Munich and the worst I have ever felt after a game.
Anyway Munich⦠@thedancingbaby said he would fund the flight but nothing else, and also the flight was to Charleroi not Munich as it was cheap and sure he wasnāt flush either at the time. Weād bunk on the train.
Id a few quid for pints and the match ticket, bunk the train, his mate he used to work with would put up us so no accommodation costs. Oh fuck it I said, Ill go.
The misery soon started. Ticket Inspector on the train so into the jacks we went. 8 fucking hours sitting in a train jacks from Brussels to Munich. Half the time spent with cunts banging on the door wanting to piss or shit. Thankfully we had cans and newspapers to keep us occupied and eventually ended up in Munichā¦but 8 fucking hours in the jacks.
The first night we were supposed to stay with his mate but he went missing. We ended up chatting to a load of Celtic fans from Belfast who offered us the floor of their hotel, happy days. Great craic back in the residence bar and then around 4.30am @thedancingbaby arrives over and says heās found somewhere to sleep. An empty room down the hall, its perfect. In we went wrecked after a day in a train jacks and drinking germans finest. Itāll do says I.
Around an hour later the door opens an an aul one starts shouting. Its only the cleaners room. The earliest staff member to come in and its her room. Fucked out of the hotel in freezing cold. Into McDonalds and try to get some sleepā¦fucked out of there also. The rest of the morning is a bit of a blur but we just got back drinking to take the pain away.
Went to the game that night which was in the Olympic Stadium, miles out from the City Centre, no transport so Shanks Mare⦠When we got back to the city centre of course there was no sign of his mate. Another night and no accommodation. Weāll sleep in the train station says @thedancingbaby. We get there and half of Glasgow has the same idea, the place is mobbed. This has been a fucking disaster.
We walk outside and @thedancingbaby says Iām wrecked, maybe weāll just can get a room in a hotel and out he pulls a wad of cashā¦ffs says I, weāll be getting a seat on the train back to brussels in the morning as well.
At the next meeting of the Bold Robert Emmet CSC @thedancingbaby was removed from from his Transport and Accommodation Officer remitā¦and contrary to the rumours that @Funtime spread, @thedancingbaby did not have a shit in the train jacks. At least not on the train to Munich.
Not sure how easy it is to get to from EIRE, but Cadiz (city and province) is worth a look. Seville airport or Malaga probably the easiest bet.
Seville is marginally closer, very much scrubland and salt marshes as you go inland but some cracking towns and beaches apart from Cadiz
That story in itself shows the difference between a football fan and a rugby fan. You just donāt get that level of commitment from the goys.
It is a lot greener at the coast too (I would guess because of the Atlantic). Youād notice a lot of cows grazing in green fields, which you wouldnāt see in other parts of Andalusia as much. Now is a great time of year to visit. Weather is good, and it is a lot quieter. I still have not made the trip across to Morocco though from Tarifa.
Iām sure Munster rubby fans have stories like that from the glory days of the bandwagon around Europe. Roasters sleeping on hotel floors. All the windows closed and they filling the room with Guinness and kebab farts all night long.