Holiday destinations for the accompanied traveller

It’s a good town. Few days is all you need there. Great base to explore Monte Carlo, Cannes, even train over to Italy all v accessible as well as local bus that calls to lot of great spots multiple times per day

It’s very Nice

Grand place for a few days but would use it more as a base as a day or two in the city itself is enough. The train or bus over to Monaco is worth it for the views and towns they go through. Vilfranche sur mer is close by to get the train to and stroll around there. St Paul de Vance is a nice old town to visit up in the hills about 40mins away as well

Thanks

It rained for much of my time there, but wasn’t impressed regardless. So many more beautiful parts of the country to choose from. The icing on the cake was a grim reception one morning in a DelBoy Trotter themed Brit pub, and made the awful mistake of ordering Guinness, as I was a fledgling, and poorly educated consumer of the drink. I knew by the taste that something was not right, but it went against my moral fiber to not finish a paid-for drink. I proceeded to exit the establishment then, for some dry retching. Never again, Nice.

Cheers

The Exotic Garden of Monaco is worth a visit. Although I’ve never been I believe there’s a bit of climbing involved but worth the effort.

Nice city. Lovely beachfront promenade (though the beach itself is just a pile of rocks). Plenty good Italian restaurants there.

Monaco is only a few euro on the bus and is well worth a few hours

Nice spot but feck all to do really.

Kids have asked to go to visit some cities for their holiday this year. Looking at Amsterdam for few days (been there with them before it is excellent for kids) and Eurostar to Paris (unbelievably cheap) stay there for few days and then Eurostar to London for few days

Anyone done anything similar? Kids are 10 and 13 so can travel light and they can manage themselves.

Anywhere else might be worth adding to itinerary? Was thinking go to Germany instead of London from Paris but long train spin

Anywhere outside of Amsterdam worth visiting in Holland (aside from dunreil) iv been in Utrecht, Alkmaar, Zandfoort myself over years but not with the kids

We stayed in Haarlem one time, it’s pretty much Amsterdam but it’s a really cool spot in itself

Budapest is a fantastic city, lots for kids

Cheers. Visited Harlem last time we were there with kids it is lovely. Was half thinking of basing ourselves there this time.

Antwerp is an hour and twenty minutes by train from Amsterdam and well worth a visit. Cologne is also well worth a visit but that’s closer to 3 hours by train.

The Hague is also nice.

Thoughts on salou late April early may ? Climate & things to entertain two kids under 5

Did it mid May last year and weather was perfect, going a bit earlier this year (actually flying in April) so hopefully there isn’t a drastic difference there. Were you looking at one of the resort parks?

She wants to go to sanguli, I’d rather stay in the town so Wel be in sanguli I’d imagine

Zeeland is worth a visit, especially the Delta Works, one of the seven modern wonders of the world. Some nice towns along the coast, Domburg and Westkapelle which was flooded when the allies bombed the dikes/dykes in 1945. Not far from Antwerp or Bruges.

Cambrils Park I think is a better shout for children under 5. Once ye rent bikes ye can travel over and back between Salou and Cambrils towns at yer leisure.

There’s another resort in Salou town called La Siesta, smaller scale than Sanguli and Cambrils parks but that might not be an issue if the kids are under 5.

Plenty to see and do in the area, lots of bars, restaurants and tacky shops that the kids will love. Camrils town and Tarragona are both a short spin away, and a bit classier than Salou. If you’re not hiring a car and using the bus buy a card from one of the Bus Plana depots and load it up, works out a lot cheaper than pay as you go when boarding the bus.

If you are hiring a car Europcar are based at the Belvedere Hotel in the town centre, having a car makes everything a lot more accessible. I drove up to Barcelona last year, parked on the outskirts near the Camp Nou and got the subway into the city centre.

April/May is an ideal time to go, the heat and crowds are oppressive in high summer.

Cambrils and Tarragona are more than a bit classier than salou but don’t have much for kids. We visited each of them in summer 24.