Holiday destinations for the lone traveller

Good time to go but if you go during Thanksgiving weekend prices will be higher for hotels

Only seeing this now @Horsebox . Colombia is class although I am hearing it is coming more and more overrun by backpackers all the time. Quite a lot of them are absolute wankers too…kids thinking they are shit cool to be in Colombia while doing a bit of charlie to boost their ego even more. Plenty of fellas get stuck there too because they get a bit too fond of the powder. There have been a few overdoses in the hostels and I’ve heard stories of lads families having to fly over to literally drag them out of there.

I was only there for 2 weeks but Tayrona National Park and Medellin were my favourite spots. Depends what you are into really but I’m sure there are loads of other places well worth checking out if you had the time. If you want to avoid the backpacker scene, I’d say it is easy enough these days.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo, post: 891988, member: 197”]Only seeing this now @Horsebox . Colombia is class although I am hearing it is coming more and more overrun by backpackers all the time. Quite a lot of them are absolute wankers too…kids thinking they are shit cool to be in Colombia while doing a bit of charlie to boost their ego even more. Plenty of fellas get stuck there too because they get a bit too fond of the powder. There have been a few overdoses in the hostels and I’ve heard stories of lads families having to fly over to literally drag them out of there.

I was only there for 2 weeks but Tayrona National Park and Medellin were my favourite spots. Depends what you are into really but I’m sure there are loads of other places well worth checking out if you had the time.[/quote]
Cheer Phil-if I make it to Colombia, it will probably be down to Cartagena and out to some islands near there-friends of mine were there last year and had a ball. Is it mainly Americans when you are talking about backpackers? That would be rough.

It’s not as overrun with backpackers as the rest of South America and definitely not as many wankerish types as Peru and Bolivia. Never came across groups of Americans. Groups of Israelis let loose out of the army were the worst.

Surprise, surprise-shower of cunts.

I was there in 2010 and it was mainly English and Irish that I found annoying. Maybe I was just unlucky but I came across plenty of lads who practically loved showing off that they were taking coke every night. I’ve no major problem with drugs… each to their own and all that but these lads were attention seeking knobs.
I don’t remember meeting any Americans or Israeli’s myself.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo, post: 892006, member: 197”]I was there in 2010 and it was mainly English and Irish that I found annoying. Maybe I was just unlucky but I came across plenty of lads who practically loved showing off that they were taking coke every night. I’ve no major problem with drugs… each to their own and all that but these lads were attention seeking knobs.
I don’t remember meeting any Americans or Israeli’s myself.[/quote]
Me too Phil.

They’re all nuts. Young, coming out of three years in the army, loaded, travelling in big groups. Fucking nuts. In fairness I met two sound ones but they were a bit older.

[quote=“Phil Leotardo, post: 892006, member: 197”]I was there in 2010 and it was mainly English and Irish that I found annoying. Maybe I was just unlucky but I came across plenty of lads who practically loved showing off that they were taking coke every night. I’ve no major problem with drugs… each to their own and all that but these lads were attention seeking knobs.
I don’t remember meeting any Americans or Israeli’s myself.[/quote]
I suppose it’s fairly typical of young backpackers thinking they were the first people to ever go to Colombia or take drugs. From what my mates said last year you can get away from that scene handily enough in this particular area.

Yeah I’d there are some savage places to go to that are off the beaten track

I am currently planning a roadtrip from the 15th March to 6th April - 22 nights.

We are 3 fellas in our late 20’s.

The proposed route is

Atlanta - GA
Montgomery - Al
Mobile - Al
Biloxi - MS
New Orleans - LA
Austin - Tx
Dallas - Tx
Amarillo - Tx
Santa Fe - Co
Durango - Co
Grand Canyon Village - Co
Las Vegas - Nv
San Francisco - Ca

Its about 3000 miles and 50 hours of driving time, which I think should be doable. We are a bit undecided in terms of how to get to San Fran from Vegas. Anyone got any advice on this? one suggested going by salt lake city and then onto Reno and Sacramento. Another way would be to do through bakerfield and possibly take in death valley and travel up some of the pacific coast highway. Crossing the Sierras from East to West in early April is impossible apparently. But we would all like to see yosemite NP.

Can anyone suggest possible possibly how long to spend or allocate to each place above considering we only have 22 nights to play around with?

Also is there places along the route that would be must stops or good detours or have I made any glaring omissions? Or even if ye had 3 weeks to play around with what would ye do?

In terms of Car rental and driving in the US we are complete novices so any advice or do’s and dont’s from driving in the US to dealing with car rental agencies would be very much appreciated. Are VISA debit cards acceptable in most places in terms of hotel bookings.

Sorry for long winded post. Thanks in advance.

[quote=“Whiplash, post: 901872, member: 638”]I am currently planning a roadtrip from the 15th March to 6th April - 22 nights.

The proposed route is

Atlanta - GA
Montgomery - Al
Mobile - Al
Biloxi - MS
New Orleans - LA
Austin - Tx
Dallas - Tx
Amarillo - Tx
Santa Fe - Co
Durango - Co
Las Vegas - Nv
San Francisco - Ca

Its about 3000 miles and 50 hours of driving time, which I think should be doable. We are a bit undecided in terms of how to get to San Fran from Vegas. Anyone got any advice on this? one suggested going by salt lake city and then onto Reno and Sacramento. Another way would be to do through bakerfield and possibly take in death valley and travel up some of the pacific coast highway. Crossing the Sierras from East to West in early April is impossible apparently. But we would all like to see yosemite NP.

Can anyone suggest possible possibly how long to spend or allocate to each place above considering we only have 22 nights to play around with?

Also is there places along the route that would be must stops or good detours or have I made any glaring omissions? Or even if ye had 3 weeks to play around with what would ye do?

In terms of Car rental and driving in the US we are complete novices so any advice or do’s and dont’s from driving in the US to dealing with car rental agencies would be very much appreciated. Are VISA debit cards acceptable in most places in terms of hotel bookings.

Sorry for long winded post. Thanks in advance.[/quote]

@count of monte cristo will be along to you shortly to tell you that you should have posted this in the holiday destinations for multiple travelers thread.

I thought there might be some pedantic fucker that would pick up on that alright.:smiley:

[quote=“Whiplash, post: 901872, member: 638”]I am currently planning a roadtrip from the 15th March to 6th April - 22 nights.

The proposed route is

Atlanta - GA
Montgomery - Al
Mobile - Al
Biloxi - MS
New Orleans - LA
Austin - Tx
Dallas - Tx
Amarillo - Tx
Santa Fe - Co
Durango - Co
Las Vegas - Nv
San Francisco - Ca

https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQKEu2NuDO-yMxZSau9LuENMQgmjEPIldKv90u8YD3QnAthtImTlA

You know what youve done pal, whilst your transgression wasnt as bad as @Mac 's as we i dont beleive we a have a “holiday destination for multiple traveller thread”.

I was left with no recourse once i was called out but to issue you with the above warning.

I apologise, i dont make the rules, i have just decided to enforce them

The proposed route is

Atlanta - GA
Montgomery - Al
Mobile - Al
Biloxi - MS
New Orleans - LA
Austin - Tx
Dallas - Tx
Amarillo - Tx
Santa Fe - Co
Durango - Co
Las Vegas - Nv
San Francisco - Ca

Not sure how widely accepted Visa debit is. MasterCard is the safest. But let the fuckers in the Bank know you’re going to be in the States or else they’ll put a block on the card after the first couple of purchases.

or the ‘seeing America from inside a car’ thread…

The proposed route is

Atlanta - GA
Montgomery - Al
Mobile - Al
Biloxi - MS
New Orleans - LA
Austin - Tx
Dallas - Tx
Amarillo - Tx
Santa Fe - Co
Durango - Co
Las Vegas - Nv
San Francisco - Ca

Fantastic looking trip - it is a lot of driving and my experience of driving on the interstates is it can get boring and a chore very quickly - I would maybe look to cut down on number of stops/destinations

if driving from Vegas to San Fran . I don’t think road via Yosemite will be open in April either - you could go up to Lake Tahoe - roads there should be open but was only there in summer and it is a ski resort so will be snow there

Check out the lonely planet forum and ask questions there and you will get detailed answers on what you plan and what roads to take etc

Driving wise - obey the rules and keep id and car documents with you - it is intimidating being pulled over for a traffic stop by a cop with a gun the first time - you need to produce id and car rental papers so have them to hand and not left in the hotel. I am risk averse so collision damage waiver insurance is worth getting I think for peace of mind

Lads, reasonable priced accom in Barcelona? Near old town preferably but don’t mind being out a bit if by metro.

We rented an apartment the time we were there and it was great value. But there was a decent sized group of us

On your own?