Going to a hilltop village in Tuscany for two weeks in August. Giddy as fuck.
I’ve only been to Tuscany once and I was smitten by it. Whereabouts are you headed, pal? Or am I being too nosey?
Great stuff
A lonely hilltop village near Siena, one of my favourite cities in the world, pal.
Lovely. My stay in San Gimignano was a real highlight of that trip. That same type of beautiful hillside place and near Siena too if I recall correctly. My only disappointment in Tuscany was leaving those sublimely picturesque and quaint little villages over near Florence and Siena to go to the shithole that is Pisa.
Did a cracking road trip from Denver to LA at this time of year about 3-4 years ago through Utah. Started with a few days skiing in Aspen and then drove on through Utah. Some cracking national parks. We went to Arches, Bryce, one I can’t remember the name and the Grand Canyon. All worth seeing and all a bit different. A day or two in each is loads. Hiking down into Grand Canyon and staying the night down below is definitely worth it. Nighlife, etc almost non existent where we were. One night in Vegas for something different and then home via Vegas.
Been to both.
Years since I was there. I didn’t particularly like Vietnam at all, esp Saigon, but liked Cambodia. The Killing Fields near Pnomh Penh are well worth visiting. Heartbreaking to see the age of the kids in the pictures Pol Pot’s army. If you’re going that direction you should make the effort to go to Siem Riep.
I dunno lloyd, the french are assholes
Yes, my friend?
Siena is class.
Yes. I am quite excited by the prospect of visiting Siena again. The last time I was there, completely by chance I happened upon the trials for the Palio horse race. It changed my life in ways I barely thought possible.
Saigon is great craic. Christ those Americans were an awful shower of cunts.
The Cheltenham of Civilisation.
I travelled round Croatia, Montenegro and Albania for 3 weeks a few summers ago. Started in Dubrovnik and finished in Tirana. Montenegro is a beautiful spot with Kotor being a highlight.
Albania is still very under developed but well worth a trip. Tirana was cool and we went to Shkodra, Durres (the former capital) and Berat which is a UNESCO site. While in Berat we travelled to Apolonia for the day to see the Ancient Greek city. Durres is a very dirty city and no one speaks English. In fact that’s the case until you get to Tirana on the whole.
Very keen to do Croatia/Montenegro, but couldn’t handle a total non-English speaking country like Albania.
Most have Italian due to growing up watching Italian TV and a lot of Italian companies have call centres in albania so people learn it to get a job there. We stayed in an ottoman house in Berat and the owner spoke German,French , Spanish but not English!
The Albanians are very welcoming as are the Montenegrins.
The cheek of those fucking Albanians not speaking English. I presume ye learned a couple of phrases of Albanian to try to get by though yeah?
Yea of course and found an English-Albanian phrase book at a market in Durres to get by.