Holidays in Ireland thread (Laois is for prisoners)

I have spent most of the week looking for something for 4 days in August for the family. Absolutely fuck all really suitable either hotel or air bnb… Day trips it is

Myself yourself and @caulifloweredneanderthal will rent one of those castles and split it

Did this today, some nice slides, good craic alright, better than the one in Kilrush, wrecked from climbing out of the water all the time, hasn’t been in the Hodson bay for years, forgot how big it is.

Was at inch strand today. Weather iffy, waves iffy. Absolutely cracking day. The kids adored it.

The lifeguards waved everyone in twice because of strong rips

Right family men on TKF, we’ve booked an Air BnB in Westport for a few days the week after next. Really looking forward to it. We went there as a couple 4 years ago and had a great time but 2 small ones and another on the way means a lot of the stuff we did the last time such as Croagh Patrick, cycling the green way and dining in An Port Mor are non runners.

Any suggestions?

Surely Westport house if it’s open? Loads on in there

Nope. The theme park type thing there is not opening this year anyways. Had planned to head there earlier this week.

Ah shite, had it booked in on the little research I had already done. Look if the weather is good for the few days we are there, that’s a big plus.

Think we’re gonna go the day trip route ourselves. Couldn’t really find anything without leaving at least half a grand on the table for a couple of nights. Trying to save at the moment so we’ve decided we will probably give it a miss unless a good deal pops up

Are you gonna do the reek?

I’d love to, but it’s a non runner my clann this year.

Still an option with trailers. We did the Mulranny to Achill stage during the week and its brilliant. The aquarium in Achill is worth a look too.

Nice beaches in Louisburg. Bowling and Cinema might bail you out on a wet day.

Wet suits are a great job for the kids.

Edit: not sure what direction you are coming from but Land Of Giants in claremorris is a decent stop off with a nicr playground and a 5k walking loop.

Anal bleaching in ballyhaunis if it’s wet.

Was just over around Achill/Westport for the first time this week.

They’ve been mentioned on this thread already…

Keel has a lovely big long beach. Lots going on there. Surfing etc…

But keep on going and you’ll find the real little gem on Achill. Keem Bay. It’s not ideal to get in and out of with a car when it’s busy. But if the weather is nice, get there early! As nice a beach as you’ll find. Pretty small in length but a wonderful spot.

Achill’s marketing team need a severe overhaul.

If you plan on dining out you need to book places 2-3 days in advance. Genuinely. It’s bananas out there. This was true of both Westport and Dingle this week. So I’m assuming it’s happening in all tourist spots.

We took a drive out through Ma’am Cross and Leenaun and then onto Kylemore Abbey last weekend. It’s a stunning part of the wuddled. Kylemore Abbey is interesting but not a huge amount for kids. It looks like there was some sort of boat trips operating from Killlary Harbour.

As mentioned above there are lovely beaches around Louisburg. You can’t bate the beach with small kids

I’ll be in ventry for any forumunites who want to meet for a pint after 6pm.

@Julio_Geordio @TreatyStones or any other Limerick parents, we’re in your fair city for a few nights in the next couple of weeks. Throw me some ideas of activities to do with kids and good restaurants that are kid friendly.

Thank you in advance

There’s nothing to do in Limerick and all the restaurants are shit.

Spoken like a true Tipp man

Grand portions though.