Holidays in Ireland thread (Laois is for prisoners)

I was down around my village on Sunday and around the roads to a couple of beaches. I’ve never seen as many people around here as I did on Sunday. Guards were out and cars were towed away parked up in awful spots abandoned to get down to get beaches. the shop had to sell ice creams out the window so there was two queues, one for the shop, one for ice creams. All the local eateries were packed and queues of about 30 people for a take away coffee out the new cafe opened up. It was mental. Great for the local economy though, albeit there are as many people moaning about the wanker dubs down spreading their corona virus.

Wanker dubs paying the bills for ye all the same. Up the dubs.

Ballybunion today with a message

Who is Pobs?

Absolutely. It’s having the place full in summer is what keeps it ticking over and open during quiet months.

Looks great I haven’t been there in 30+ years

How did you ever graduate from college? Did you even do the leaving cert?

A great day knocking around Mayo today. Took a boat around Clew bay this morning. There was a smashing guided tour. Lunch in Westport quay before hitting off to Old Head beach in Louisburgh. I spotted James Horan there but won’t be logging it in the celeb spotting thread. It’s a smashing beach. Back into Westport for the evening for an ice cream and a walk around Westport house and a run through the playground with the small Poxes.

Off very early in the morning to attack the reek solo and then back to tour Achill for the day with the clann. It’s some country we have when the weather is half decent.

Never came back to this. We ate in Tuscany in Castletroy. Twas a very fine meal and exceptional staff. La Cucina was closed.

The playground out in Mungret must be one of the finest in the country. Great park around it for the kids to go mental on bikes and scooters. Similar in Castletroy itself but not as good.

Spanish Point beach for the first time yesterday after the obligatory trip to Lehinch/Lahinch. Both were uncomfortably thronged with people as was Dingle today. It was as if the last 5 months hadn’t happened with the way people were. It was nice to see but very weird and odd at the same time.

Trip to Kildare was cancelled so we’ve another few days to put down in Limerick. We’ll get that figured out tomorrow.

Head to the curragower for some wings and a pint

Any venue in Limerick I’ve been in so far is taking a fairly liberal approach on the food rules :clap:

ballyvaughan to Fanore yesterday

i must come back to the Burren again on my own on a winter’s day - its some spot lads looking at all that stone - there is a hairpin bend there as you head down to ballyvaughan and all you see is stone - its unreal altogether
Fanore is a grand baech - we made it to Doolin and its an awful dump - a poor man’s Foynes

back to Doolin today and headed to Inis oirr for the day - the beach there is something else lads - had a grand chat with an old fella from doneraile waiting for the boat back - - the north atlantic is something else - there is some power in that ocean you can feel it even on a days its flat calm
the kids and the wife are black after the trip - im burnt
@TreatyStones im headed to askeaton in the morning

Ya tis lax enough once you ate something from my experience.
The Locke bar a good option for a nice day as well.
Curraghchase will pass a few hours for you as well. Head into Adare then afterwards and get over charged for some grub

Stop will ye,the limerick boys need their sleep.You’ll have them up all night posting about which pub is better.

I’d say we cross paths yesterday mick

You’ll get three courses in the top for €15

i drove from limerick to Ballyvaughan and down to Fanore and then doolin
drove back to limerick via Le/lahinch but didnt get out as we were knackered they fell asleep in the car after Liscannor so i decided to have an hour to myself back to the radisson
we were over curraghchase diection monday and im half debating going to adare maybe tomorrow
jesus - not much to do in limerick itself really -
im nor sure if ill bother with lahinch to kilrush as i think we’ve seen clare for now - jesus the burren is something else tho up the top of it - the way if falls to meet the sea there at fanore is incredible

not sure what tomorrow will bring now

edit we did a gerry macann on it there and went for a fag a while ago - its raining

That’s black head in your picture. The burren is unreal, go back in winter when it’s covered in frost and empty of fucking tourists. Walk up it where you took that picture it’s a very calming spot. It is a country where there is not enough water to drown a man , wood enough to hang one, nor earth enough to bury him

Ps @mickee321 the hairpin bend is called corkscrew hill, there’s some fine walks the Tubber or Lough bunny side. When I was a young lad we used to go to dawn mass Easter morning in the ruins of corcomroe abbey often in the driving rain. Primeval stuff cc @Tassotti