Holidays in Ireland thread (Laois is for prisoners)

Nah, you’re just one of a few who wandered off the motorway. It’s great really. Leave them on it and leave it to us.

I was at a ball in a castle in freshford lovely spot.

McCarthy’s in fethard is a grand spot.

That’s a sort of niche pub and so is Bobs. I think what myself and @peddlerscross are referring to are general pubs at the crossroads on the way home from somewhere.

I remember stopping in a small pub in galbally on the way home from cork in 2019. Myself and the lads said we’d go home the old road after a great victory. Serious three hours in a distinctly average pub with lovely beer, great craic with the locals too.

I remember as a garsun the old road to Dublin had a few grand spots to stop in on the way home for chips and a few pints for the father,we were on the Coca Cola and crisps diet. Doyle’s in Urlingford and Pascals in Johnstown were right beside Italian chippers and you’d get good commentary from a few Kilkenny lads on arrival.

Remember being a young chap at the Galway races stopping in Hartes in Gort on the way home.

Drink driving and motorways has them days gone. My generation doesn’t know or won’t know of them days.

Walsh’s in knocknagoshel is a great spot.

There’s a fine pub in mountcollins

Not far from my mother’s birthplace,

Knockanure both mane and poor,
A church without a steeple
Bitches and whures looking over half doors,
Criticising daycent ppl

Bobs is the place with the high nellys. I met Bob a few times before. A character.

Put down a bank holiday years ago at a friend of mine from Borrisokane’s home place. We spent the afternoon out in Carney supping pints and then into Borrisokane itself. Borrisokane has a large Protestant population, so whatever pub we landed in was owned by Protestants, me man told me. And the owner was blasting out rebel songs and singing away

Right lads I’m stumped for ideas as to where to go for our summer holidays in Ireland and in true TFK fashion I’m asking the learned members of this board for suggestions. I’m looking for a child friendly place for myself and the missus and ahem, a baby. Ideally we would like something like self catering apartments that are affiliated with a hotel so that we could have a kitchen in the apartment/lodge but also the flexibility to be able to use the hotel facilities in the evening like a swimming pool or more importantly the bar so that I can have a few pints (especially so if there are still restrictions to boozing in summer whereby it’s residents only allowed in the hotel bar/restaurant). So I suppose a hotel that are used to seeing a child in a high chair in the restaurant, nothing fancy required. Location wise we are flexible, but probably somewhere within two hours drive of Limerick preferably. We were thinking Galway as first choice but open to ideas.

Menlo Park in Galway has self catering apartments beside the hotel.

The self catering at Fota is good.
A bit away from the hotel facilities but it’s fine.

The Gleneagle houses are nice but the hotel itself is very meh. Grand pool and play area but the bars are shit.

Congrats on the new arrival.

Haughtons of Ballyshunnock on the N25 cc @Fagan_ODowd

I thought of that but feels more like a one or two night thing than a whole week? And a child under one won’t appreciate the zoo.

Wow. The manner in which you announce your life developments is superb! We went to the hotel in blarney years ago when we just had the little lady. They have cottages but you use the facilities/pool/restaurant in the hotel. Close to Limerick and not far off the north/south ring for going anywhere in Caaaark.

The Woodlands in Adare is actually the finest with a child. Great spot for kids. Fota, Castlemartyr or Garryvoe in Cork won’t set you wrong. I know fuck all about Galway so can’t tell you much.

All I’ll say is that any trip away with a 1 year old isn’t a holiday.

And Congrats @Smark :clap:

Parknasilla In sneem or lough Allen hotel in drumshanbo

Plus newpark in Kilkenny

Can’t wait to hear about junior @Smark’s first haircut

Trumps place in Doonbeg is the best I have found in terms of service. We went there with a 2 month old and were bumped up to a suite with kitchen and living room free of charge and had a spa credit for my missus as well. They had cot there without us prompting them and welcome gift. They couldn’t have done enough for us. Worth ringing them and saying you will be travelling with a baby. Fine restaraunts and bar as well or they run a shuttle bus down to village free of charge. Tubridys is also good down there.

That piqued my interest as I could take in the Drumshanbo distillery tour but the hotel appears to be gonzo, not taking any bookings for any dates unfortunately.

That’s a pity. It wasn’t overly fancy but tailor made for break you were looking for. I believe @mickee321 was a fan too