Holidays in Ireland thread (Laois is for prisoners)

If you’d be happy to go to Dublin pick up the phone to the intercontinental (old 4 seasons) or the Westbury or Merrion and see what deal they would offer. Will be far better than online price id guess

Lads was given a voucher for a family stay for two nights in the Rochestown Park Hotel in Cork. What’s it like? Will bring the kids and do fota anyway. Any suggestions for the second day for the kids? Prob will go early july

Spike island is a must see

Charleville is lovely this time of year

Was there 4 years ago with the father in law. If its fine I thought I might bring the kids alright, just for the boat trip alone… They love the water

CMX is an ok spot. Nothing wrong with it. Decent hardware store in by the Super Valu.

I must tick hardware store along with swimming pool when selecting my next accommodation on booking.com

And don’t forget the lace museum. But I would say the hardware store was a highlight of the trip

Ah I don’t mind it. A meal from The Courthouse on Saturday night. Some tasty treats in Matilda’s Bakery. A few takeaway pints from Shevlin’s and/or JJ’s on other nights. Although I hear The Fiddler’s, Banty’s place, is a COVID-19 casualty. I’ll get a couple of runs in, they even have a public running track. I’m leaving the day trip organisation to the local expert.

By Jaysus, pints from Shevlin’s. There’s a blast from the past. They had an upstairs lounge with a dodgy floor back in the 1960’s…I know this because I fell through it.

In all seriousness, it seems a grand spot. I’ve generally only driven through it. They’ve a good athletics club too.

A great town. You’ll be spoiled for deli options- Sean’s Deli on the Main Street or McCahey 's deli in their service station. If you want a real treat the Tir Chonail service station beside Lidl does fantastic ice-cream.

[quote=“artfoley, post:1264, topic:31283”]
booked parknasilla [/quote]

I can’t get a booking.

Leahys open farm in midelton is top class… Kids will love it. You can drive a mini digger and all

Not sure what age kids are but there is a brilliant playground in Fitzgerald Park near ucc

Leahys farm isnt in midleton

[quote=“carryharry, post:1318, topic:31283, full:true”]

Houses or hotel?

It’s as close to tallow as it is to midleton. It’s a good 15km outside midleton

It’s a grand spot to pass a bit of time alright.

Sorry @Faldo

Leahys farm about 10 mins from Midelton is great

Would you say Kanturk was in Mallow?