I always maintained flooding Longford was the way forward for the country.
Fixed that for ye
I’d a few days down in west Wicklow/Carlow last week - beautiful landscape but it must be one of the most depressing parts of the island. Each town/settlement was more grim that the last - Avoca, Tinahely, Baltinglass, Tullow, Rathvilly. A complete failure in town planning - abandoned towns with a new housing estate a mile outside the centre. We are off to north Mayo tomorrow, it surely can’t be any worse.
Lovely spot
The red kite walk is delightful, the village is an abomination.
I ended up around the back of Kildare and Wicklow area a while back . Ended up near Glen of imaal. Lads playing banjoes are crossroads type of country .
The one redeeming feature I spotted was the local folk drinking bottles of MacArdles - as a Down man it filled me with pride!
The decent places in Wicklow are on top of the mountain.
Or the coast. Although Arklow is the exception to that
Bray and Wicklow town? I was trying to convince my fellow travellers that Wicklow was the garden of Ireland, twas a hard sell. Redcross was apparently a tourism hotspot - we quickly abandoned it for Finns of Conary.
On top of the mountain you are talking right beside glendalough. Anagh I think it’s called or hollywood is a nice village. The gap is beautiful. Wicklow Bray and Greystones are nice towns. Bray and Greystones have lovely sea fronts. Wicklow town does too but it’s not developed like the other two. Greystones is very bougie
Very british
There are a few spots dotted around the mountains which are very nice, Glendalough obviously, Glenmalure I think is spectacular and is the best of the lot. Then you have various stop-offs on the couple of passes over the mountains. Powerscourt in fairness is well worth a visit, as much for the gardens as the waterfall itself. A lot of the Wicklow Mountains are fairly uninspiring though. Dull moors and lots and lots of sitka.
Aughrim a nice village too.
Like fucking Ibrox if you have to go there to get a result in D4.
Many a dream has been punctured in fu**ing Okrim….
Have played a few games there meself now over the years now since my relocation. A grand big field but an odd place for the county ground. Fellas like to talk about sporting ambushes - true to their nature Wicklow have the location scouting done well, if nothing else.
Many a lung too
In the Parknasilla lodges for a few days down in south Kerry.
Class spot with the kids. The dry weather definitely helping
We’re at similar in the Breaffy House in Mayo. Grand spot.
Such a lovely spot there. You’ll enjoy the outdoor hot tubs