Hotels In Ireland

Tip down to peninsula below Dingle Bay and go to Ballinskelligs. Most beautiful place I have ever stepped foot in. You have Caherciveen on north side of peninsula and Waterville on South. Each about 10 mins equidistant from Ballinskelligs. The drive to Portmagee over the mountains is breathtaking as Skellig Michael comes into view followed by the drive down to Glin and Portmagee. Valentia Island then is only a hop skip and a jump connected to Portmagee by Bridge or reachable by car ferry from Renard point near Caherciveen. Great food, great people, stunning scenery and magnificent beaches. It benefits from being more subtle and less commercialised than some of the places mentioned above. Probably most suitable to those with a young family. I have travelled all over Ireland and try to go somewhere new or different but sometimes you cant beat perfection. I have some more of Donegal to discover but something about Ballinskelligs draws me back.

Drove down around Ballinskelligs in May. Was a bleak enough looking spot. Looked very run down.

Keith Barr and Eamon Heary get Dara o Se to pay for it

The village itself is only a church, pub and a few houses. Its more the general area I am talking about. The beach is stunning and framed by mountains to the south and the castle and abbey. Its location is ideal when exploring all those other places mentioned above.

Dingle is a state of mind - you just couldn’t be aytin out every night.

They used to have two quality restaurants outside the town - Gormans cliff top and the old pier beside each other. The food was off the charts and an unbelievable setting. Everything seems to be centred in the town now.

Sneem is where it’s at lads, was down there a few weeks back and the place was buzzing

Dingle is an over priced shithole

:thinking::thinking:

Ah Dingle is great. It is gone expensive, but sure it’s expensive everywhere. It’s probably crossing the line between real Ireland and twee touristy shite, but it’s still got some fantastic pubs, restaurants, scenery etc
Westport is another good spot with the same vibe and probably less touristy though it’s getting there.

I stayed in sneem a few weeks back, nice little town, plenty of tourists around and there was good craic in the few pubs we were in. Nice spot for a couple of nights break

Com an Easpaig I presume is the pass you are referring to. A real famine road feel to that one, a road from nowhere to nowhere, fine steep and narrow. I crawled over it in absolutely biblical rain a few years back. :grimacing:

Dingle is the best place in Ireland by a distance. It’s an absolutely fantastic spot which offers pretty much every thing somebody can want.

I like Kenmare too but it isn’t really a town for a proper night out.

My relatives have a place in ballinskelligs. It’s a beautiful area alright but fairly boring.

Dingle is Ireland, it is what is left of the Ireland we love, money does not come into it, you can’t put monetary value on the memories and experiences in Dingle

Dingle is a state of mind

There’s nothing better than going for swim off the pier outside TPs before heading in to Dingle town for a heap of liquor.

We need Dingle now more than ever

I will arise and go now to Dingle

Has anyone heard that famous phrase
“To heaven or to dingle”

There is a bakery beside Dick Mack’s that did unreal flapjacks, I dunno if they are still going. We used to holiday down in Cloghane and the auld fella would be up at the crack of dawn each morning and away over the Conor Pass to fill up the car. I’d say they were papering the town with temporary staff advertisements from the moment he first shtuck the head in the door each summer.

With flapjacks?!