Hotels In Ireland

It’s in Laois.

Has a cracking golf course

Lovely hotel but the rooms are a bit dated compared to the rest. Lovely food.

What are you looking for really?

Looking at maybe a quick night away this weekend. Is it the sort of place you could just relax around for the day? Seems ok value compared to what most places are offering.

I see this question was asked a few weeks ago

A hotel by the sounds of it.

Going to Dingle this weekend. Just the one night thankfully as my constitution is tender following a 24hr bug.

It is. Spa is good. Nice golf course to stroll around. Seves is decent too for a bite. You’d put down a day there handy enough. The Thatch is a grand pub just outside the door too.

Sounds good. Herself suggested it, so i can’t really go wrong.

Do say hello

I stayed in the Gibson last weekend,never again.Talk about over rated,smelly room very rude staff and zero atmosphere.The breakfast was daycent.6/10.

How would I recognise you?

:rofl::rofl: I heard we lost a potential good hurler to Italy

He’ll be the lad watching the horses with Pov.

Our trip to the Heritage was a bit of a mixed bag.

Lovely spot, a lot nicer than I expected. The spa was top notch, the service really friendly and the bar very lively last night.

However, while the service was friendly it was a bit all over the place. We had originally booked dinner as part of the package, but when we tried actually book our slot in the restaurant all that was available was 9pm slots, so said we’d switch to the bar. They bizzarely tried to charge extra for that, but eventually it was sorted out by a manager.

The food in the bar then was poor. One of the few times ever I’ve actually complained about the food to a waitress. In fairness the bar manager came over and took our bottle of wine off the bill. The table beside us sent back a steak twice.

Then there was extra charges on the bill then this morning when we were checking out that we had to get sorted out.

To be fair, nothing was questioned when we pointed out the various issues and things were handled well each time, but just seemed like they’ve a few issues going on.

That’s interesting. Would suggest at something going on Management wise more so than just badly run. I’ve eaten in both before and never had an issue but at least you got sorted quickly and easily.

You appear to be of the belief you’re the spokesperson for all things Laois.

His meal was a ball of shite. It’s not your fault. Entirely anyway as you did recommend the place.

I would have thought you were a bit long in the tooth for going again but best of luck to yourself and your wife. Hope all goes well.

:smiley::smiley: