Well a few Sars lads will get a chance anyway. Between Sars, Duhallow and the Glen there are some fine young hurlers.
ceist for langers
Any ska skirting around the top of Fairhill about A Bio and a hairy journo?
Heard something about it, don’t think it would be a good time to do it to be honest, 4-5 years time i’d say.
Just heard last night that in fact most of players invited to the Colmans thing will come from the clubs i mentioned above. It’s suits the CCB that these 3 teams have been in the limelight. Teddy Mac (Sars) is a selector and will push those guys to get involved, Duhallow have no connection with the Cork set up other than Anthony Nash and Pat Horgan (The Glen) has been openly in support of playing for Ger Mac.
The Glen don’t have too many other stand out players though.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Heard something about it, don’t think it would be a good time to do it to be honest, 4-5 years time i’d say.
Just heard last night that in fact most of players invited to the Colmans thing will come from the clubs i mentioned above. It’s suits the CCB that these 3 teams have been in the limelight. Teddy Mac (Sars) is a selector and will push those guys to get involved, Duhallow have no connection with the Cork set up other than Anthony Nash and Pat Horgan (The Glen) has been openly in support of playing for Ger Mac.
The Glen don’t have too many other stand out players though.[/quote]
Like I said earlier, Ger would want to keep a very close eye on Teddy Mac (and his connections.)
Any news on the Gardiner Cusack resignations?
On the Bio; if you’re close to the “Family” ask them to consider an Langer. I hear Porky Kweeve is available.
If Ben Dunne is looking in…
No, not close to them at all really. My knowledge and friendships of the Northside seem to mainly have stayed away from the men with no Thumbs.
Obviously I’m in BlahCliath too long. While I have no idea what that means I think I get the jist.
Anyway; if the Sars lads do well Ger Mac will need some serious help with his next step.
The Red hand of Ulster should explain it for you.
gotcha
is it true that the langers have named a team for Sunday?
anyone have the details of the 15 MEN named for battle.
fair fucks to the lads who pull on a cork jersey this sunday, fair fucks to them!!
[quote=“mairegangaire”]obviously I’m In Blahcliath Too Long. While I Have No Idea What That Means I Think I Get The Jist.
.[/quote]
na Piarsaigh…
Cork squad named for Sunday, On my knowledge (many may disagree) i will bold guys who i think are somewhere near the standard or have a shot, i’ll also try to give as close an age profile as possible.
Alan Kennedy, 23 (Sars); Conor O’ Sulliavn, 19 (Sars); Chris Murphy (Blackrock), 22; Alwyn Kearney, 20 Middleton; Joe Moran, 23 (Carrigaline);
Steven White,22 (Ballygarvan); Ger O’ Driscoll, 20?? (Newcestown); Barry Johnston, 28 (Bride Rovers); Glen O’ Connor, 20 (Barrs); Darran Crowley, 20 (Bandon); Colin O’ Leary, 22 (Blackrock); Cian Mac, 19 (Sars); Conor Dorris, 20 (Glen Rovers); Michael Collins,23??? (Bride Rovers); Tadgh Og Murphy, 23 (Sars)
Subs;
C Croning, no idea(Lisgould); Aidan Ryan, 20 (Midleton); Paul Barry, 19 (Blackrock); Gary Norberg, 21 (Blackrock); Brian Ahern, 21 (Blackrock);
Eoin Keane, 19 (Barrs); Robert O’ Driscoll, 19(Sars); Mark Collins(still Minor!!!),18 (Douglas); Paul Honohan(still a minor), 18 (Bishopstown); Eoin Cronin, 21 (Glen Rovers); Brian Moylan, 21 (Glen Rovers); Ray Ryan, 26 (Sars); Stephan Corcoran, 20 (Carrigaline); Will O’ Brien, 19 (Carrigaline); David O’ Sullivan, 20 (Ballinascarthy)
All in all it’s going to up the anti, but a few things stick out to me. - - Bob Honohans son is on the panel, nowhere near good enough.
- William Kearney from Sars isn’t, shocking if he wasn’t asked.
- No Duhallow man, shocking.
- 5 Blackrock players on it (Frank Murphys club), none of them good enough for Inter-County, the Rockies have hardly won agame at U-21 in last 5 years, and at least one of those players couldn’t even making the Blackrock senior starting team that got hammered this year.
- There has been an awful lot of players have said no
- There is alot of players crossing the line over their club mates.
Very, very sad that Cork hurling is in this state, but best of luck to the guys involved.
kevin, in fairness the only way of finding out if they are good enough is in games like this and the crystal and into the league.
when you say lads are crossing the line i think that is sad, this is a hurling match not a factory floor.
This is a very interesting development. The GPA will probably set up their own championship now - a bit like when dart players rebelled against the BDO and set up the PDC world championship. Problem is, Cork will be crowned winners every year without playing anyone. Kevo, do you have any more information on the Blackrock players? My Cork-based cousin speaks very highly of Chris Murphy and also thinks Brian Ahern’s a wonderful prospect.
[quote=“HBV*”]kevin, in fairness the only way of finding out if they are good enough is in games like this and the crystal and into the league.
when you say lads are crossing the line i think that is sad, this is a hurling match not a factory floor.[/quote]
I’m only saying HBV, i think they have been put in a disgraceful position by the hurlers of Cork, Ger Mac and the CCB. Some of the players brought into this are so far away from it i would honestly say i’d fear marking only a hand ful, and at best i was/am only an Intermediate Club hurler.
You can’t change God given talent no matter how many games you get.
You are correct in your sentiments though, it’s not a factory floor.
Significant though is, NO Na Piarsaigh player, no Newtown player, No Killeagh player, No Castleyons player. With the exception of the Barrs and Sars nobody else has guys on the Cork panel, and both those clubs have selectors.
Chris Murphy is a very good footballer, marked him myself this year, was on Cork football panel, i personally don’t think he is Inter-County hurling standard. He’s teek, tough etc etc, but his basic hurling isn’t up to it IMO.
Also played football against Ahern and saw him hurling twice against the Barrs, was handy, but the standard was brutal, hard to judge him from that point of view, but he didn’t stand out as Cork senior. His temperment is suspect (i know).
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I’m only saying HBV, i think they have been put in a disgraceful position by the hurlers of Cork, Ger Mac and the CCB. Some of the players brought into this are so far away from it i would honestly say i’d fear marking only a hand ful, and at best i was/am only an Intermediate Club hurler.
You can’t change God given talent no matter how many games you get.
You are correct in your sentiments though, it’s not a factory floor.
Significant though is, NO Na Piarsaigh player, no Newtown player, No Killeagh player, No Castleyons player. With the exception of the Barrs and Sars nobody else has guys on the Cork panel, and both those clubs have selectors.[/quote]
the only significance in that it shows how obvious it is that the senior players have bullied their clubmates away from the cork panel.
how do you think these young lads will be judged in cork after this?, and i dont mean by the gpa lads, i mean the ordinary club men of the county
if i was a langer i don’t think it would be possible for me to have much more respect for them
Well i believe that the bullying has being coming from all sides.
I have never hid my embarrassment about this situation HBV, so your preaching to the converted. Shower of wankers the lot of them, i just sometimes jump in here to keep the balance, as i believe outsiders (in some cases) totally refuse to see the players side, and they have a side. I don’t know this, but it wouldn’t surprise me if some of the guys who refused don’t even make the Cork U-21 panel this year, and were told their Inter-County careers were in the balance on this decision.
The one thing that might happen is that they start from scratch.
Isn’t that Brian Aherne lad quite short and tubby? And visually impaired with an awkward left handed stroke? Amazed to see him named on a Cork development squad.
This is a hollow victory for the CCB mafia and will do more harm in the long run.
Heartiest conratulations to the senior hurlers of Cork for telling the outdated establishment where to stick it.
Sean Moran had a good article in the times yesterday about modernisation of the GGA.
This Colmans game is a joke given the rule about no county games in November and December. To twist the rules to allow it to happen, and then to name some ‘mickey mouse’ team further deepens the issue. Clowns are taking over.
[quote=“Appendage”]Isn’t that Brian Aherne lad quite short and tubby? And visually impaired with an awkward left handed stroke? Amazed to see him named on a Cork development squad.
This is a hollow victory for the CCB mafia and will do more harm in the long run.
Heartiest conratulations to the senior hurlers of Cork for telling the outdated establishment where to stick it.
Sean Moran had a good article in the times yesterday about modernisation of the GGA.[/quote]
Very good article.