Humphries on the Cork saga

Well, if you are shit, expected to be treated like shit :stuck_out_tongue:

Very true. But i’m talking about from a administrive point of view.
Their shitness at times when they had buckets of talent is hard to forget as well Pike, but it doesn’t mean they should be 2nd class sportsmen with the board.

Was it 3 U21 finals in a row, 1 win, surely there should be some decent talent there. Need to clear out a bit of the shite imo. Likes of Kavanagh arent up to it and have attitude problems.

I dont agree. CC was forced to come out and say it against his will. Trust me on this one.

Ya the talent is there. Even though Nemo generally win Senior handy enough, the Senior and both Intermediate championships are better than any of the hurling, so the football in Cork is decent at the moment.
Kavanagh could be in trouble. He is moved to Norway or Sweden or somewhere for work. The guy who played in McGrath Cup has always been a better footballer and full back. Hard to believe that Noel O’ Donovan (said full back) could possibly only get his first championship start this year, at about 27-28. He was one of the best of the 2000 Minor team.
Cork have carried alot of dead weight on the football panel for last number of years, player who were never going to play, about 27-28 years old and keeping young players off the panel. It was madness. I can see a few fellas getting the road this week.
The Dermot Hurleys of this world were never going to help us win an All-Ireland.

"

Last year’s Cork hurling panel is to hold a news conference this evening following the County Board’s decision to end negotiations aimed at resolving the latest dispute in the county.

The hurlers have been refusing to play under manager Gerald McCarthy, who has been pressing ahead with a brand-new team of players this season.

Last week, the County Board called an end to negotiations aimed at healing the rift.

Meanwhile, selector Teddy McCarthy has appealed to the senior players to reconsider their stance, while acknowledging they are in a difficult situation."

It’s some joke. It’s sport. It’s a game.
I have to put up with bosses I might not like.
I’ve lost absolutely all respect for Cork.
However, on the upside, if we can get a Clare manager to oust Cody and then get KK striking then we might have a chance.
Yours in hope,

[quote=“Garda Sean Horgan”]"

Last year’s Cork hurling panel is to hold a news conference this evening following the County Board’s decision to end negotiations aimed at resolving the latest dispute in the county.

The hurlers have been refusing to play under manager Gerald McCarthy, who has been pressing ahead with a brand-new team of players this season.

Last week, the County Board called an end to negotiations aimed at healing the rift.

Meanwhile, selector Teddy McCarthy has appealed to the senior players to reconsider their stance, while acknowledging they are in a difficult situation."

It’s some joke. It’s sport. It’s a game.
I have to put up with bosses I might not like.
I’ve lost absolutely all respect for Cork.
However, on the upside, if we can get a Clare manager to oust Cody and then get KK striking then we might have a chance.
Yours in hope,
GSH.[/quote]

I thought that bit at the end was Teddys quote until I read the third line of it!

Will this be live on 6.01?

they have sold the exclusive rights to Al Jazeera.
Cunts!

Expect Club Energise bottles to the fore…

One of the funnier sub plots of this is:
All 30 of the lads who were on the panel last year are striking.
There must be a few lads there who would not have been on the new panel this year. If I was on the borderline like that I’d feel like some wanker taking part in this strike.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]One of the funnier sub plots of this is:
There must be a few lads there who would not have been on the new panel this year. If I was on the borderline like that I’d feel like some wanker taking part in this strike.[/quote]

Sure the players are wanting to pick the manager so maybe they went ahead and picked this year’s panel too.

The difference is you get paid. If I was breaking my balls training for nine or ten months of the year I’d want to be confident the lad in charge was up to it.

[quote=“cluaindiuic”]One of the funnier sub plots of this is:
There must be a few lads there who would not have been on the new panel this year. If I was on the borderline like that I’d feel like some wanker taking part in this strike.[/quote]

Thats part of the crux isn’t it? Some of them were loosing their value to the squad.

Mac - I will look into this more. I haven’t anything to hand, but i do have a good memory of this been the case with Counihan. I’ll go looking later on.

We have the third best football team in the country, and were one of only two teams last year to beat (hammer them really) Kerry. And we have one of the best managers in Counihan.

How exactly are we shit?

Is this Counihan who has managed one year at inter county level?

[quote=“Turenne”]We have the third best football team in the country, and were one of only two teams last year to beat (hammer them really) Kerry. And we have one of the best managers in Counihan.

How exactly are we shit?[/quote]

What classes yez as the 3rd best team in the country?

Yeah thats him. Won a Munster title in his first year, and nearly got us into the All-Ireland Final.

Nearly eh? Jaysus shur ye might as well go up to Tyrone there and ask to have Sam for nearly some of the year.

Counihan has a long way to go before he can be called one of the best managers in the Country.

[quote=“Turenne”]We have the third best football team in the country, and were one of only two teams last year to beat (hammer them really) Kerry. And we have one of the best managers in Counihan.

How exactly are we shit?[/quote]

who told you you were the third best team in the country boy?
typical cork arrogance!

while you may not be shit, you are no more than making up numbers in the chasing pack, alongside galway, derry, dublin etc.
in fact if you were in a competitive province and had to play the likes of those sides early and often in championship, we would get a better idea of how shit or how good ye are.
stop grasping at straws