Humphries on the Cork saga

Ya, they seem very happy with Counihan. It would be crazy of them to join the hurlers and I imagine they would garner very little public support for it.

watershed day for langer GAA.

the fallout out from tonight could last a generation.

no doubt the leaders will take a back seat and a few young lads will be well versed on the mantra and put out to face the cameras.

where will it be held?

I was told the names of a couple of hotels but not sure which one it’s going to be in. Someone I know is driving down today to cover it.

Who shall be covering it for TFK?

Right, I have the name of the hotel. Don’t know whether I should put it up or not though…

Course you should put it up.

In a tfk exclusive, I can reveal that this epoch-defining press conference (that most of us don’t give a shite about) will take place in the Maryborough Hotel, Douglas, Co. Cork.

who pays for the room?

The same hotel the Munster Rugby team base themselves out of for matches in Cork.

I dunno. The 30 chaps themselves? The GPA? Club Energise? The Hotel owner?

Do Munster not play in Limerick?

They sometimes play in Cork but that’ll be less frequent now as they try to earn revenue for the new pitch.

Not true, and he has come out to confirm this.

Hardly an exclusive, it was on 96fm this morning.

OK, it wasn’t an exclusive for both of the people who actually listen to 96fm, but here in Ireland it was an exclusive.

c.
if the footballers down tools over this, something which has fuck all to do with them, will their manager stand idly by and tell them to give him a shout when they are ready to resume preparations for the championship.
i don’t know counihan, but he appears a no nonsense type who will not stand by if this situation arises, i cant think of any intercounty manager who would to be honest.

He doesnt have to confirm it, it was one of the conditions he laid out when he accepted the role last year.

[quote=“HBV*”]c.
if the footballers down tools over this, something which has fuck all to do with them, will their manager stand idly by and tell them to give him a shout when they are ready to resume preparations for the championship.
i don’t know counihan, but he appears a no nonsense type who will not stand by if this situation arises, i cant think of any intercounty manager who would to be honest.[/quote]

Your right about Counihan, very smart man, and very much his own man. But, he’s not an idiot, and no matter what happens i can’t see him jumping into anything, or just walking away, he will let things play out and won’t compromise himself. He (and many others) see Cork winning a football AI in the next 2-3 years, i don’t think he will throw that away too easily.

It’s actually the same with the footballers, in the fact that its a few of the older guys who would be a little bit more millitant and would support the hurlers. I’d know more footballers than hurlers, and for the most part the footballers don’t give a fuck about strikes etc. They are young, from West Cork, Muskerry, Duhallow and football strongholds like that and all they want is to train and play football. I have spoken to one older player who is very much behind the hurlers, but he knows himself that they simply would have no problem in letting him f-off from the football as there is so much young talent around. The guys nearer the city seem to be a little bit more sympathetic to the hurlers, i’m can’t say i know exactly why that is.

Its bollix Mac, he didn’t, this was all sorted out in an interview a couple of months ago. A hack wrote that in an article interviewing CC, he has since come out and say he didn’t say anything of the sort.

People outside Cork must remember that the Cork Footballers are used to be treated like shit, so its nothing new to them at all.:stuck_out_tongue: