Humphries on the Cork saga

No he has mentioned it numerous times on here…

Although the price he was looking for the tickets you swear he trying to fund a new stadium for Shamrock Rovers…Daylight robbery

[quote=“The Puke”]No he has mentioned it numerous times on here…

Although the price he was looking for the tickets you swear he trying to fund a new stadium for Shamrock Rovers…Daylight robbery[/quote]

sold those tickets for that price
sold 2 french tickets today
open 2 offers for the England game

Cusack’s haircut is far more disturbing than any of the rows going on down in Cork:

That was as solid a performance as you could hope for. Its as much about the sense of togetherness, a strong, consistent voice as any quibbles with the wordsmithing. No drama, no name calling, no leaking of confidential personal information.

Its clearer than ever that McCarthy is a spoofer, surrounded by people who carried on their role with something other than full commitment, was played by elements within the CCB for their own purposes but more importantly than all of that, is not of the calibre required for managing Cork.

The press conference was much ado about nothing really, the correct course of action will now be taken and it will be put to the clubs. I hope the players demands are rejected and this saga ends quickly now, saying that even if the club chairmen all row in behind the players that is no guarantee the CB will oust Gerald Mc.

One valid point they did make in the release was the fact that G Mc threw out one particularly low blow during the whole episode, where he questioned Sean Og commercial activities etc. I think this one comment would have killed any chance of the players reaching a compromise with the current management team. It was an unfair punch to land, and it is to the players credit that they did not take the easy option and counter with the fact that common perception in Cork is that G Mc is in the CB pocket due to the nature of his business (trophy & trophy engraving business).

No winners here. Heard Seanie McGrath (the baby jesus, not the other one) on the radio last night, he sounded fair disgusted with the whole thing, felt if this wasn’t resolved that it could be years before Cork won another Championship match, a slump similar to the early/mid 90s. Interestingly he felt that maybe there was going to be a solution offered last night and was a s surprised as anyone at the lack of content in the statement

The players are saying they are doing this for the future of Cork hurling. Personally, I dont see how this stance is doing anything for the future. They are acting out over proceedures held within the board, and despite some Cork people trying to claim that the county board throw out motions if they dont like them, if a motion arises, or if anyone challenges Frank Murphy to secretary, then they cant just throw them out, no matter what the misconception over it is.

I think the players are doing this all wrong, and are now saying that if they dont get their way, they will retire. How is doing that any good to the young kids in Cork who wont get to see the O’Connors, Sean Og, Kenny and the likes playing again? This isnt helping the future of Cork hurling, its setting it back a long long way. They are fueling a bad precedence they started last year.

“Despite this, and out of respect for the man on a human level, and given the actions of other inter-county panels last year, we decided to send an urgent delegation to meet him to explain our position, in private.”

this says two things.

1. they have respect for Gerald…do they fuck!
  2. they disagree with the way the wexford hurlers treated john meyler…what the fuck!?

[quote=“artfoley”]anyway back to the cork fuckers

the only mistake gerald made was not dropping half their sorry, lying, mischevious arses[/quote]

Gobshite, what lies have they told?

Just copied this post from AFR, a different perspective from the usual, not very complimentary towards the players.

In relation to the trouble in Cork hurling Ive observed huge arrogance and a real myth. Ill return to this later.

Jimmy Barry Murphy was manager when this current panel won the 1999 All Ireland Final. He stepped down after a disastrous year in 2000. Tom Cashman didnt do any better with this panel in 2001 and quickly left. Ditto for Bertie Og Murphy in 2002. Can I remind that Bertie Og won 2 Under 21 All Irelands in 1997 and 1998 as manager. Donal OGrady then took over in 2003 and qualified for the All Ireland after beating Wexford in a Semi Replay. Kilkenny won the Final. OGrady won the 2004 through the back-door, beating Wexford and Antrim on route. John Allen then took over winning in 2005 and losing the 2006 Final to Kilkenny. Gerald McCarthy then stepped in to manage a team in decline at the same time as Kilkenny were on the up.

The so called 2008 Panel, Donal OGrady, John Allen and sections of the media would have you believe that this Cork team are/were far superior than the facts suggest the MYTH. Unfortunately the 2008 Panel chose to get lost in this MYTH and in doing so showed huge arrogance towards the wider hurling public. They have suggested that, had they had their own way, they would have won more All Irelands. They chose to ignore the fact that they also lost All Irelands under OGrady and Allen.

Since 1999 Cork have won 3 All Irelands and have had SIX managers. Kilkenny won 6 with 1 manager.

Its time to open the eyes, to cop on and use those energies in supporting the supporters in these hard times.

Nothin new with that angle really Dan. Always appeared that everyone outside of Cork knew they wouldn’t have won anymore All-Irelands, and the arrogance in them always thinking different led to the whole of the country despising you fuckers.
No offence.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Nothin new with that angle really Dan. Always appeared that everyone outside of Cork knew they wouldn’t have won anymore All-Irelands, and the arrogance in them always thinking different led to the whole of the country despising you fuckers.
No offence.[/quote]

A savage attack

No offence taken :smiley:

3 All Irelands since 1999 is a very decent record. I actually think that the players might be aware of their own frailties. The last two All Irelands were won with a fairly limited team, the lacked a couple of scoring forwards in 2004 & 2005 and O’Sullivan has always been liable to conceding a handy goal. They made up for these shortcomings with their fitness, organisation and how well drilled they were in the short passing game.
Maybe rather than them being big-headed they are well aware that they need to be firing on all engines to be in with a chance of another All-Ireland?
I can see nothing to suggest Gerald Mc is capable of bringing a team to that level.

So what would happen if they disband? Would it be similar to FC United and AFC Wimbledon? Will all the players go across the border to clubs in Kerry and play for the Kerry county team or something?

Will they be the first team to play in a GPA All Ireland Championship or will they tour the country playing exibition games for appearance fees?

Serious Question -

In one sentence, what do the Cork posters here want to happen now? Fuck the players or Fuck Ger Mac?

Fuck the Players.

Some will come back if the strike breaks up. If not this year, next year.

I was thinking about htis on the way into work this morning when I heard Gardiners pretty much saying its up to the supporters now. What if they have had enough of this shite and dont lobby the county board and they dont get their clubs to make any change? will they listen to their own supporters or will they ‘disband’. I think if this happened last year, they may well have had some support on the matter. but I think now they may have dragged it out too much and patience has worn thin.

what happens next?
what is the process?

what happens if the situation arises whereby the clubs back the 2008 players and get Frank out, what will then be the outcome as in who manages them because they still have no proposal on the table it seems.

[quote=“north county corncrake”]sold those tickets for that price
sold 2 french tickets today
open 2 offers for the England game[/quote]

So your a tout is what your telling us. The scumbag image grows.

[quote=“Mac”]Serious Question -

In one sentence, what do the Cork posters here want to happen now? Fuck the players or Fuck Ger Mac?[/quote]

Fuck the players*

I’m KK but this is my 10th year down here and I’m a member of a club so I get a say

[quote=“Locke”]Fuck the players*

I’m KK but this is my 10th year down here and I’m a member of a club so I get a say[/quote]

Nice touch out of cody to travel north at the weekend Locke