Humphries on the Cork saga

RedFM announced this morning that there will be a rally/strike/march on the first day of the league, at home to Dublin. Going from Dawn Sq to Pairc Ui Rinn.

What a load of trollop!

Yeah, didn’t have to, but in fairness what’s forgotten is that Antrim played KK last year in Freshford in the same competition and beat them so I suppose even though KK had the draw to be at home it was a good gesture. Ballyhale Shamrocks did the same in their first round match in Leinster against the Westmeath champs; played the game in Mullingar. Cha and Henry didn’t get off the pitch till an hour and a half or something like that signing autographs. The dressing rooms were locked by the time they were finished.

[quote=“Locke”]RedFM announced this morning that there will be a rally/strike/march on the first day of the league, at home to Dublin. Going from Dawn Sq to Pairc Ui Rinn.

What a load of trollop![/quote]

Ahem, Daunt Square I assume :smiley:

Blow in

edit: thats a good walk, mostly uphill, I wonder have they thought it true fully!!

[quote=“Locke”]RedFM announced this morning that there will be a rally/strike/march on the first day of the league, at home to Dublin. Going from Dawn Sq to Pairc Ui Rinn.

What a load of trollop![/quote]

Who’s gonna march? a lad and his dog?

[quote=“dancarter”]Ahem, Daunt Square I assume :smiley:

Blow in[/quote]

Glen langer in the cube beside me, asked him 3 times, saying “Dawn” square to him and he said yeah. Must have been his Norrie draaw that caught me out.

Asked him where it was, he said outside McDonalds, just off Panna, that right?

The players and supporters apparently. You wouldn’t know with RedFM, biggest load of bollix I’ve ever heard but I was hopping from station to station getting the sports news and thought the Cork stations would have a different, more biased view on the issue. I was right.

[quote=“dancarter”]Ahem, Daunt Square I assume :smiley:

Blow in[/quote]

Has there been any word from the most important man in Cork GAA on the latest developments?

[quote=“Locke”]Glen langer in the cube beside me, asked him 3 times, saying “Dawn” square to him and he said yeah. Must have been his Norrie draaw that caught me out.

Asked him where it was, he said outside McDonalds, just off Panna, that right?[/quote]

yep where Virgin and Argos are

[quote=“Gman”]The players are saying they are doing this for the future of Cork hurling. Personally, I dont see how this stance is doing anything for the future. They are acting out over proceedures held within the board, and despite some Cork people trying to claim that the county board throw out motions if they dont like them, if a motion arises, or if anyone challenges Frank Murphy to secretary, then they cant just throw them out, no matter what the misconception over it is.

I think the players are doing this all wrong, and are now saying that if they dont get their way, they will retire. How is doing that any good to the young kids in Cork who wont get to see the O’Connors, Sean Og, Kenny and the likes playing again? This isnt helping the future of Cork hurling, its setting it back a long long way. They are fueling a bad precedence they started last year.[/quote]

I think they believe its for the future because they don’t want anybody else to have to deal with the likes of Bob Ryan and Frank Murphy in the future.
I’m not “claiming” that motions were thrown out, i’m “stating” that fact, my club was involoved in one last year about the up-holding of rules concerning the gap between Championship matches for the 1st adult team in any club, and teams basically being made say play hurling 3 days after Football championship, with no time to prepare. Thats one of many over the years. I was going in to talk on the motion. I got a call about 2 pm that saturday from our secretary saying he haad just got a letter saying it was out of order. I raised it at the convention anyway, i was called “out of order”. I asked for an explanation and technical help for the reason it was out of order and that was refused. I followed it afterwards with the Runai and i never got anywhere. Calls not returned etc. This is common place. This is not a GAA website as such, so there isn’t a huge number of Cork people who can come on and give similar stories. There was a number of good examples on the other site we dare not mention yesterday about MR. Murphys involvement in teams.

I find it funny that people outside of Cork completely refuse to accept that someone could have this control, its sad, but its the truth.

I don’t believe the players went about itthe right way whatsoever, but i would support what they were trying to get at.

After reading it once again, they did in fact throw in 2 new things. They had never really gone after FM before, in fact they have hardly mentioned him ever. They also mentioned the word amateur, not sure had they used this word, they always denied wanting pay-for-play, but had never used amateur, in anything i read at least.

I’d be amongst these people Caoimhaion. I’ve a fair insight into how the county boards in other counties operate, and I honestly find it very hard to believe that somebody could really have that much control and that the club system in a county as big and as successfull could really be that toothless.

I know nothing about the workings of Frank Murphy. But surely if he was this tyrannt that they make him out to be, it wouldn’t have been that difficult for a few clubs to get together, along with a somebody who is an expert on the rules (I’m sure not all county board officals are in awe of Frank) sit down and draft a motion that would lead to him having to step down.

I don’t think you’ll find anyone outside who’ll argue that he doesnt have that level of control. My Da used to be involved in UCC GAA years ago and had loads of run ins with him. He dictates what happens but has he contributed more good than bad to Cork GAA over the years?

No absolutely not, he hasn’t. He done his job as full-time secretary. Thats it, shouldn’t we expect him on the money he’s on to do that. You see the problem is the role of the secretary. For years he was making himself a selector on hurling teams, there was trainers etc who didn’t want him there, but after seeing clubs who did revolt against him in the past get crazy venues for Championship matches, screwed by Frank himself when he was a ref. You just didn’t cross him. He can’t be ousted as secretary, and i’m blue in the face from explaining this to people. Only Frank or Croke Park can relieve him of the post. Croke Park (and others) are afraid of legal proceedings. He has threatened legal proceedings on many many people, clubs, hacks etc, and probably delegates and Croke Park as well.

Runt - The workings of County Boards etc are the same everywhere, its just that most secretarys, full-time or not, want the best for everyone, and not just the best for themselves.
People always say Frank done this and that. I for one don’t agree that Frank didn’t offer Derry a replay in Minor Football in 2000. I know one player who believes it taints his AI medal slightly and has driven him to try and win a senior since. I didn’t agree with Anthony Lynch getting off, or Brendan O’ Sullivan back in the 90’s. There was no good spirit in these, and i think it has help wound GAA peoples perspectives on Cork GAA, that has contributed to some unfounded ill-feeling towards Cork in general over the last few years, which has been added to by Roy Keane and a few silly things like the Peoples Republic lark etc etc.

I think he has contributed nothing of value outside of the job he is actually paid to do.

good points caoimaoin. And I think you may be right with the ill feeling points too, with Cork getting any player they could off suspensions with technicalities. But at the same time, he was doing these things for the teams in question, and the players/managers at the time would have requested this. John Mullane could have requested a similar stance when he got his suspension after the Cork game a few years back, nbut he held his hands up and sais he will take the suspension. The cork players seemed to always first go to Frank and try find a loophole to get off.

So while these things may not have been good in the long run, he was doing what he could for the players, be it morally right or not. I dont think its fair to say that he is doing things for his personal gain tho rather than for the good of the county GAA. what had he to gain about getting Lynch off or any of the other things that happened?

[quote=“Gman”]good points caoimaoin. And I think you may be right with the ill feeling points too, with Cork getting any player they could off suspensions with technicalities. But at the same time, he was doing these things for the teams in question, and the players/managers at the time would have requested this. John Mullane could have requested a similar stance when he got his suspension after the Cork game a few years back, nbut he held his hands up and sais he will take the suspension. The cork players seemed to always first go to Frank and try find a loophole to get off.

So while these things may not have been good in the long run, he was doing what he could for the players, be it morally right or not. I dont think its fair to say that he is doing things for his personal gain tho rather than for the good of the county GAA. what had he to gain about getting Lynch off or any of the other things that happened?[/quote]

Without knowing the man personally, but being a man myself, i would think its an ego thing, and a wanting to belong to something. Its not for me to ponder on what he does outside of GAA, but i guess he doesn’t have anything else.

Look i believe in the GAA in a country sense. Its an amateur sport, goodwill to our other clubs and counties should be first and foremost. I think the GAA has helped Ireland in so many ways its not calcuable. I myself would believe that owing to my natural personality i could have found myself with a different life only for my clubs administrators, coaches, the facilities etc. I believe this is a very unique assosiation in World sport. I don’t think bending the rules like Frank did was anygood for the GAA, and the GAA in Cork especially.
In recent years i have had to travel alot around the coutry for work, i literally turned up at training sessions all over the country just to get a bit of training in with someone. I was always well recieved. I don’t think that would happen everywhere, or in every sport. I don’t believe the way Frank Murphy has acted over the years represents this spirit.

Another thing I noticed is that Gardiner was banging on about the panel having one voice and people are wrong when they say that Dg and SG are the ones speaking for everyone.
Then the picture shows tha bar Gardiner, Donal down the back Sean Og in front are the only ones with microphones.
But of course they are not the ones speaking for everyone.

I feel that Cork think they are the only ones with a County Board.
Every GAA county board is festooned with politics. Every small club has it’s own politics.
The panel, in my view, are a group of young fellas who are naive and are fighting a loosing battle.
As the phrase goes, if you have to defend yourself or explain yourself then you’ve already lost.

This statement was written by a 12 year old.
And not a smart 12 year old either.
Terrible statement and including the letter at the end was pathetic.

Yours in head shaking,

just on that picture, there is only 29 players there. is someone missing or something else going on?

A poorly written statement, as all of the players statements so far have been, not to mention their spoken interviews. Every time they speak to the media they seem to dig the hole they are in that bit deeper. I find it quite ironic how they keep referring to “the process as outlined by Kieran Mulvey”. I know that Mulvey himself feels the process was adhered to and isn’t particularly symapthetic to the players at all this time. I’m not entirely without sympathy for the players as I’m well aware of how vindictive Frank Murphy can be, but the players have played this one very badly over the last few months and this is just another example.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Without knowing the man personally, but being a man myself, i would think its an ego thing, and a wanting to belong to something. Its not for me to ponder on what he does outside of GAA, but i guess he doesn’t have anything else.

Look i believe in the GAA in a country sense. Its an amateur sport, goodwill to our other clubs and counties should be first and foremost. I think the GAA has helped Ireland in so many ways its not calcuable. I myself would believe that owing to my natural personality i could have found myself with a different life only for my clubs administrators, coaches, the facilities etc. I believe this is a very unique assosiation in World sport. I don’t think bending the rules like Frank did was anygood for the GAA, and the GAA in Cork especially.
In recent years i have had to travel alot around the coutry for work, i literally turned up at training sessions all over the country just to get a bit of training in with someone. I was always well recieved. I don’t think that would happen everywhere, or in every sport. I don’t believe the way Frank Murphy has acted over the years represents this spirit.[/quote]

what?

You’d have to be fully grown to understand NCC.

Don’t know much about Murphy himself but for anyone to have that much power can’t be a good thing.

There’s huge politics in the GAA alright but this sounds like a dictatorship.