Humphries on the Cork saga

Some people are not for turning on this pikie, its too entrenched. I wish it’d just play out sooner rather than later.

Could I get a PM off one of ye too please…

You should pay about as much attention to that article as you would to your demented grandmother. Lest we forget this is the same Babs Keating who argued that young players had “too much education” and that “lads used do what they were told” before they all started going to college. So to start, we need to recognise that Babs’ ideal is complete subservience to authority, even when that authority is a fat idiot like Babs Keating. I’m not even going to comment on the pathos employed with the “what the O’ Sullivans are doing to their father” bit. The cheapness of that remark is about what we’ve come to expect from this fucker. But lets look at his, apocalyptic prediction that the standing of county boards is under threat. What utter horseshit. What is under threat is the county board’s unquestioned dominance over every matter, regardless of the protestations of other significant stakeholders. Given that Gaa in Cork is controlled almost entirely by one individual, the Cork players stance is somewhat less revolutionary than even that. Consign the opinions of Michael Keating to the bin where they belong. They’ll be right at home amongst the rest of the decomposing shit thats in there.

Actually …

Munster Hurling Final dawned with the news “DONKEYS DON’T WIN DERBY’S.” But Cork and all that was Cork; man woman child beast; from crubeens to Beamish’s stout; from Fairhill to Stawberry Hill to Bottle Hill; from the harrier clubs to the pidgeon lofts and from Blarney Castle to Blackrock Castle; the rebels stood and the the rebels fought. The fond, but over used Tipperary adage “hay saved Cork bate” became nothing more than a mythical fairytale because the rebels changed the form and made hay of their own instead. This time Cork remembered the game of hurling lasted for seventy minutes and took current champions and “derby” favourites Tipperary’s crown, and their 4-16 left a truly rebel bruising eight point gap over the “alleged” Premier county’s 2 – 14.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Actually …

Munster Hurling Final dawned with the news DONKEYS DONT WIN DERBYS. But Cork and all that was Cork; man woman child beast; from crubeens to Beamishs stout; from Fairhill to Stawberry Hill to Bottle Hill; from the harrier clubs to the pidgeon lofts and from Blarney Castle to Blackrock Castle; the rebels stood and the the rebels fought. The fond, but over used Tipperary adage hay saved Cork bate became nothing more than a mythical fairytale because the rebels changed the form and made hay of their own instead. This time Cork remembered the game of hurling lasted for seventy minutes and took current champions and derby favourites Tipperarys crown, and their 4-16 left a truly rebel bruising eight point gap over the alleged Premier countys 2 14. [/quote]

Your slipping up Maire, the auld age catching up. Babs made the comment about Mark Foley mainly, it is thought he could have been refering to brendan O’ Sullivan as well, but he was defintely on about Foley. Foley hit 2-07 from play that day. 2 of the sweeter victories ever were that year, batin them and then batin Meath in the football.
Foley to most people had come from nowhere, but in fact he had been a star Harty and Cork Minor player. His studies and work took him to London and when he came back he struggled to get his skills back. Babs had probably seen him earlier in the year when he struggled in the league. But the cannon and Ger mac (funny that isn’t it) knew better. I think Foley had hit some outrageous score in a challenge a week before against Galway or someone, but Cork had kept a lid on it. Babs, the idiot that he is, fell hook, line and sinker for it.

God i’d love if we could go back to those cute hoor days rather than having everyone see our problems in the press.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Your slipping up Maire, the auld age catching up. Babs made the comment about Mark Foley mainly, it is thought he could have been refering to brendan O’ Sullivan as well, but he was defintely on about Foley. Foley hit 2-07 from play that day. 2 of the sweeter victories ever were that year, batin them and then batin Meath in the football.
Foley to most people had come from nowhere, but in fact he had been a star Harty and Cork Minor player. His studies and work took him to London and when he came back he struggled to get his skills back. Babs had probably seen him earlier in the year when he struggled in the league. But the cannon and Ger mac (funny that isn’t it) knew better. I think Foley had hit some outrageous score in a challenge a week before against Galway or someone, but Cork had kept a lid on it. Babs, the idiot that he is, fell hook, line and sinker for it.

God i’d love if we could go back to those cute hoor days rather than having everyone see our problems in the press.[/quote]

Oh shur’up and piss in someone elses soup

Thats an extract from Torva Venia about the day.

Lets agree Donkey’s don’t win Derbies refersto a crap Cork team v the current All Ireland Champs who were considered hurling Royalty. Leahy, English, Ryan, Fox etc etc

Actually???:smiley:

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Your slipping up Maire, the auld age catching up. Babs made the comment about Mark Foley mainly, it is thought he could have been refering to brendan O’ Sullivan as well, but he was defintely on about Foley. Foley hit 2-07 from play that day. 2 of the sweeter victories ever were that year, batin them and then batin Meath in the football.

God i’d love if we could go back to those cute hoor days rather than having everyone see our problems in the press.[/quote]

In fairness babs was probly right about Foley, he never did a rap after that day really did he?

Not many timoleague men ever hurled for Cork either id say, how did that come about

Ah C, read it again.

[quote=“dancarter”]In fairness babs was probly right about Foley, he never did a rap after that day really did he?

Not many timoleague men ever hurled for Cork either id say, how did that come about[/quote]

Barry Harte did,not for long though, won at least an Intermediate, could have been a sb in 1990.

Foley scored 1-04 in the final or semi, can’t remember which. He then moved to London around the middle of 1991 i think. That must be the reason he wasn’t seen much of. He obviously was a player who couldn’t afford to miss much training.
Arigideen Rangers are still a handy hurling side, won the Intermediate final about 3-4 years ago. Would have had 3-4 Cork Intermediates over past 6 or 7 years. Nice part of the world too. I hope Barryroe get up to the same level as them, their games when both were Junior were great games.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Barry Harte did,not for long though, won at least an Intermediate, could have been a sb in 1990.

Foley scored 1-04 in the final or semi, can’t remember which. He then moved to London around the middle of 1991 i think. That must be the reason he wasn’t seen much of. He obviously was a player who couldn’t afford to miss much training.
Arigideen Rangers are still a handy hurling side, won the Intermediate final about 3-4 years ago. Would have had 3-4 Cork Intermediates over past 6 or 7 years. Nice part of the world too. I hope Barryroe get up to the same level as them, their games when both were Junior were great games.[/quote]

He had a great final, but remember that team were written off before that season started. On paper they were shite but thats what made it the greatest year ever.

Anyone remember the drawn game against Waherfurd?

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]He had a great final, but remember that team were written off before that season started. On paper they were shite but thats what made it the greatest year ever.

Anyone remember the drawn game against Waherfurd?[/quote]

Your right, they were totally written off.

I think it also helped that all the attention and pressure was on the footballers.

Ya, its quite like that now.

Just on the issue at hand, i was told by a CB member today that 45 players refused to play for Cork, thats on top of the 30 not playing from last year. jesus these poor boys are going to get some hidings. i think some people don’t want any resolution to the mess, members of the CB as they will see it as a victory to have Donal etc retire, and the players may be hoping the lads get destroyed and everyone comes begging them to come back. pityful really.

On Babs, Tipp people are very disapointed about the first floodlit game being degraded with Corks 5th team playing. I think that is fueling some of what he is saying. There are a few things he is not correct about.
Cork does have coaches well up to the standard. Judging it on one game is absolutely ridiculous.
The O’ Sullivans are doing nothing to their father. They are all grown men, and they all put themselves in the positions that they are in. I’m sure they make light of it in private.

As for changing peoples mind MBB - I’m very open about the fact that i think both sides are a shower of muppets.
He’s made mistakes, but the way Ger Mac’s name is being dragged through the shit by both parties is disgraceful.
i just try to bring a bit of balance as most people on here jump on to bash the players. As has been shown in recent weeks, they do have a fair case, they just didn’t deal with it properly.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Barry Harte did,not for long though, won at least an Intermediate, could have been a sb in 1990.

Arigideen Rangers are still a handy hurling side, won the Intermediate final about 3-4 years ago. Would have had 3-4 Cork Intermediates over past 6 or 7 years. Nice part of the world too. I hope Barryroe get up to the same level as them, their games when both were Junior were great games.[/quote]

Yep I have spent plenty time in Timoleague myself, many drinks were drank in Padjoes.

Forgot all about Barry Harte, another dentist as well (Im pretty sure), how weird is that?!

I think HQ are shitting it to be honest; what is billed as Tip coming out of the traps under lights will be a shambles if they are playing against langers numbered 75 to 100.

But can you imagine the look on their faces if its numbers 1 - 15 that run out instead :slight_smile:

Gerald McCarthy’s position is now one of mockery and this is making him weaker and weaker by the day. He got personal and when that happens there is no going back. Getting personal means dealing in and with gossip, and that can never be spun, controlled, contained or maintained; and in Cork particularly, gossip is worse than the plague.

Gerald should have stuck to the hurling field, and not what happens outside it. Nobody can trust him now. Not the players, not the press, not his advisors, not the clubs (his own included) and not the County Board.

I never had faith in him but I stood by the team for those 2 years. I stand by them now.

They were stupid but they were not wrong. And they are my team.

Would you ever fook off with your “novel”, nobody gives a shit.

hey you know the title: I’d say thats a good start

wouldn’t you?

[quote=“Mairegangaire”] and in Cork particularly, gossip is worse than the plague.

Is that because nothing ever actually happens in Cork?

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]hey you know the title: I’d say thats a good start

wouldn’t you?[/quote]

I’d put that down to the amount of times you’ve thrown it into random threads just for the sake of it.