Humphries on the Cork saga

Can I have a PM please Bob, I mean Dan?

I’ll take that PM too Dan if you can.

[quote=“dancarter”]Fair enough.

mallow have been advised/requested by the CB to cease making their grounds available for the 08 panel to train on.[/quote]

Can you pm me the other rumour you heard dan? or if dan is gone home someone else who got the pm off him earlier?
Thanks.

I’ll take one of these juicy PMs too please Dan, or anyone else who has it.

Did this rumour start over at PROC?

Dont read there Turenne. It aint a new rumour.

Could I have that PM as well please Dan?

I would presume they have to. Probably only about 2 or 3 euro each.

I don’t think it’s numbskullery to hold the opinion that they shouldn’t have gone on strike yet again but each to their own.

Altho Babs is an idiot, he makes some good points, albeit from a managers side of things.

BABS KEATING believes it’s time for the striking Cork hurlers ‘to swallow their pride’ and make themselves available for selection, maintaining the type of performances they have given in recent years doesn’t justify the stand they have taken.

“What Cork hurlers are demanding at the moment, no County Board can give in to that kind of blackmail in my opinion,” the outspoken former Tipperary boss said yesterday. "If they do, the standing of county boards all over the country is diminished.

“I would encourage the players to go home and look in the mirror and think of what they are doing to young lads who are being sent out to play against Dublin next week and are being sent up to Thurles on Saturday week. Is it fair to these young lads?”

He went further by alleging that ‘there was intimidation going on’, saying it was obvious that younger members of the 2008 squad would like to play.

Keating admitted that part of him would have sympathy for the striking players — based on his experience of seeing things from both sides as player and manager. Only a few weeks away from his 65th birthday, he said he would love to turn the clock back and tog out in a Munster final again — ‘particularly a Cork/Tipp final’.

"I’m thinking of the age we are living in and the profile the GAA has, as we saw last Saturday night in Croke Park. Some of those players, if they don’t get hold of themselves sooner rather than later, might never wear the Cork jersey again. I had my disagreements with selectors and all, but at the end of the day a player has enough to think about in preparing, getting himself ready and playing his own game.

"That’s the way they should be thinking. Collectively then, under a manager and with the help of good players around you, you talk team tactics and you talk about the opposition.

“The big difficulty I see with the present Cork players is the performances they have given over the last few years. There’s not one of them can honestly stand up and be a spokesperson for Cork hurling — because they haven’t given those kind of class performances themselves to justify the stand they are taking. I am being hard on them there, but I am being very truthful.”

He said it was the form of the experienced players which cost Cork victory against Tipperary in the Munster championship in Pirc U Chaoimh last June — ‘and not the inexperienced players up front that the selectors changed’.

"Young (Seamus) Callinan cleaned out Ronan Curran for most of the second half. We saw no ten out of ten performance from a Cork hurler last year. Donal g seems to be the spokesperson, but I would be critical of his puck-outs. In the old days Tommy Leahy would say to (Tipp goalie) John O’Donoghue, ‘you puck the ball out the way it’s going to come back’. I saw him (Cusack) pucking balls out and they kept coming back.’’

Despite claims to contrary, Keating insisted that nobody in Tipperary was smiling at Cork’s difficulties. "Nobody wants to a match the easy way and no hurling county wants the kind of problems that Gerald McCarthy and the Cork County Board are going through at the moment.

“That’s not what the true hurling person wants. If there’s anybody with that attitude in Cork they should get hold of themselves. Hurling is bigger than us all.”

He has also been disappointed with comments coming from some former Cork managers, believing they were not ‘helpful,’ and wondering if ‘there was an agenda there’. The role of the GPA was also questioned, saying that there was ‘no sign’ of the players body helping out.

“What baffles me altogether is the behaviour of the two O’Sullivans. I’m sure my son wouldn’t do to me what they are doing to their father. Diarmuid O’Sullivan had a great time with the Cork hurlers for the last ten years. Now his father has this opportunity to be chairman of the County Board. I’d be sorry for the man but I’d be saying ‘get hold of yourself’.”

Keating has no doubt that the League game against Tipperary in Semple Stadium on February 14 (which will mark the turning on of the new floodlighting system) will be devalued by Cork sending up a third or fourth choice team. In his view it’s the ‘responsibility’ of the striking players to ensure it does not happen. "Have the Cork players actually spoken to Gerald?’’ he asked. "Any report I have seen or any comment from Gerald is that he is available to talk.

"Cork are facing a huge problem from centre-field up to corner-forward at the moment and you’d have to say that Gerald and Ger Fitzgerald — having played in these positions — are better equipped to deal with that than most.

“They are all giving out about Gerald’s ability to coach and train, but I have been watching club hurling in Cork and I went to the county final the year before last. I haven’t seen outstanding performances coming from any team in Cork trained by other coaches. Cork county champions have been no threat in the Munster club competition for the last few years.”

From The Examiner

Frilly triggered it over on CH last Thursday.

[quote=“Gman”]Altho Babs is an idiot, he makes some good points, albeit from a managers side of things.

BABS KEATING believes its time for the striking Cork hurlers to swallow their pride and make themselves available for selection, maintaining the type of performances they have given in recent years doesnt justify the stand they have taken.

“What Cork hurlers are demanding at the moment, no County Board can give in to that kind of blackmail in my opinion,” the outspoken former Tipperary boss said yesterday. "If they do, the standing of county boards all over the country is diminished.

“I would encourage the players to go home and look in the mirror and think of what they are doing to young lads who are being sent out to play against Dublin next week and are being sent up to Thurles on Saturday week. Is it fair to these young lads?”

He went further by alleging that there was intimidation going on, saying it was obvious that younger members of the 2008 squad would like to play.

Keating admitted that part of him would have sympathy for the striking players based on his experience of seeing things from both sides as player and manager. Only a few weeks away from his 65th birthday, he said he would love to turn the clock back and tog out in a Munster final again particularly a Cork/Tipp final.

"Im thinking of the age we are living in and the profile the GAA has, as we saw last Saturday night in Croke Park. Some of those players, if they dont get hold of themselves sooner rather than later, might never wear the Cork jersey again. I had my disagreements with selectors and all, but at the end of the day a player has enough to think about in preparing, getting himself ready and playing his own game.

"Thats the way they should be thinking. Collectively then, under a manager and with the help of good players around you, you talk team tactics and you talk about the opposition.

“The big difficulty I see with the present Cork players is the performances they have given over the last few years. Theres not one of them can honestly stand up and be a spokesperson for Cork hurling because they havent given those kind of class performances themselves to justify the stand they are taking. I am being hard on them there, but I am being very truthful.”

He said it was the form of the experienced players which cost Cork victory against Tipperary in the Munster championship in Pirc U Chaoimh last June and not the inexperienced players up front that the selectors changed.

"Young (Seamus) Callinan cleaned out Ronan Curran for most of the second half. We saw no ten out of ten performance from a Cork hurler last year. Donal g seems to be the spokesperson, but I would be critical of his puck-outs. In the old days Tommy Leahy would say to (Tipp goalie) John ODonoghue, you puck the ball out the way its going to come back. I saw him (Cusack) pucking balls out and they kept coming back.

Despite claims to contrary, Keating insisted that nobody in Tipperary was smiling at Corks difficulties. "Nobody wants to a match the easy way and no hurling county wants the kind of problems that Gerald McCarthy and the Cork County Board are going through at the moment.

“Thats not what the true hurling person wants. If theres anybody with that attitude in Cork they should get hold of themselves. Hurling is bigger than us all.”

He has also been disappointed with comments coming from some former Cork managers, believing they were not helpful, and wondering if there was an agenda there. The role of the GPA was also questioned, saying that there was no sign of the players body helping out.

“What baffles me altogether is the behaviour of the two OSullivans. Im sure my son wouldnt do to me what they are doing to their father. Diarmuid OSullivan had a great time with the Cork hurlers for the last ten years. Now his father has this opportunity to be chairman of the County Board. Id be sorry for the man but Id be saying get hold of yourself.”

Keating has no doubt that the League game against Tipperary in Semple Stadium on February 14 (which will mark the turning on of the new floodlighting system) will be devalued by Cork sending up a third or fourth choice team. In his view its the responsibility of the striking players to ensure it does not happen. "Have the Cork players actually spoken to Gerald? he asked. "Any report I have seen or any comment from Gerald is that he is available to talk.

"Cork are facing a huge problem from centre-field up to corner-forward at the moment and youd have to say that Gerald and Ger Fitzgerald having played in these positions are better equipped to deal with that than most.

“They are all giving out about Geralds ability to coach and train, but I have been watching club hurling in Cork and I went to the county final the year before last. I havent seen outstanding performances coming from any team in Cork trained by other coaches. Cork county champions have been no threat in the Munster club competition for the last few years.”

From The Examiner[/quote]

You can always count on Babs.

And wasn’t he booted out by players mid season himself?

Ah that was just Awfully, they’re the exception to every rule.

Saying that, Babs is a gangster.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]You can always count on Babs.

And wasn’t he booted out by players mid season himself?[/quote]

Which means he had experience of all angles.
The man speaks sense.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Which means he had experience of all angles.
The man speaks sense.[/quote]

True
Donkeys don’t win Derbys
Epic stuff.

Lads Babs is a muppet, no matter what way you look at it. He is very disliked even in his own neck of the woods. He says one or two things that are right, but he’s bound to get something right. Anything that man comes out with should be treated with disdain. There is a chance he has said the total opposite to other people privately.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]True
Donkeys don’t win Derbys
Epic stuff.[/quote]

No, they score 2-07.

maybe just maybe people who have spent too long in Cork End up with a cantankerous personality & this tripe along with Sonias, Stephen Ireland the traitor etc etc is just the natural progression of the repressed self important personalities that carkies have

while im a paid up member of the ‘babs is a cunt’ supporters group, theres very little he says in that article that i disagree with.

who would disagree with the bit about the players not producing on the pitch ?

Ah jayz Kev, we all know Babs is a tool but what he’s said there is spot on.