[quote=“NJ Cat”]I’m surprised at this very defeatist attitude. Cork were in four AI Finals in a row, winning two up to 2007. Yet because of a change in coach you knew “we were never going to win” before a puck of the ball in the championship. I have a hard time buying that arguement.
As you said yourself “Waherfurd were a savage team in 07”, so credit where credit is due.[/quote]
Cork were in those finals because there was only one other team capable or indeed entitled to the All Ireland Title available.
Gerald McCarthy could and will never be able to prepare or coach a team to a win over Brian Cody. Never. And I could add several more.
If he couldn’t get a handy Waherfurd a win in the NHL in '98 over a team with an average age of 20 how do you think he was going to fare with the mixed bag of a Cork side in 07 or indeed 08?
Gerald McCarthy was never the best man for the job or the right man for the job, renewing his appointment is no longer wrong or convenient, it is humiliating.
No, its your bringing up Ger’s coaching. I never mentioned it as a reason for that defeat. At the time i wouldn’t have known it was so poor. I knew the players hadn’t wanted him, but had just got on with it.
I felt Cork were in need of serious change back then, a few new faces. It would have been a generally felt attitude in Cork i’d say, well it was amongst my peers anyway.
The loss of Killian cronin and Sherlock compunded my lack of faith for that year and the management.
They were brilliant games though and i was at all 3, but each time Waterford were better, IMO.
As someone who has seen the disrespect of the jersey (in my own dressing room) i know where he’s coming from. Don’t see the problem with what he said at all.
He obviously has been with the team for a long time, so would be sympathetic to the '08 team. But at the same time he hung in there for a good while, so i’d take him 100% genuine.
More proof, if it was needed, that the boys make fuck all out of going to clubs for club functions.
Fair play to him, i think, without knowing him, that it was heartfelt.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]As someone who has seen the disrespect of the jersey (in my own dressing room) i know where he’s coming from. Don’t see the problem with what he said at all.
He obviously has been with the team for a long time, so would be sympathetic to the '08 team. But at the same time he hung in there for a good while, so i’d take him 100% genuine.
More proof, if it was needed, that the boys make fuck all out of going to clubs for club functions.
Fair play to him, i think, without knowing him, that it was heartfelt.[/quote]
how the fuck does that prove anything? its one mans story from one club and no more than that. at best ill add it into all the other accounts iv heard of fees and agents and so.
And the Cork players fuckin off on strike, not playing for their county, influencing others not to play for their county isn’t the greatest show of disrespect to the jersey?
Sure they’re a great bunch of lads, folding up the jersey and handing it back. Sure they probably iron the fecking things as well I’d say.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”] He obviously has been with the team for a long time, so would be sympathetic to the '08 team. But at the same time he hung in there for a good while, so i’d take him 100% genuine.
Fair play to him, i think, without knowing him, that it was heartfelt[/quote]
That’s why I think it’s an inside job.
I think the players knew he had respect for them.
They got to him-they wanted him to leave the panel so as to make Ger Mac’s positon seems worse.
That’s my take on it.
[quote=“Pikeman”]And the Cork players fuckin off on strike, not playing for their county, influencing others not to play for their county isn’t the greatest show of disrespect to the jersey?
Sure they’re a great bunch of lads, folding up the jersey and handing it back. Sure they probably iron the fecking things as well I’d say.
They got to him-they wanted him to leave the panel so as to make Ger Mac’s positon seems worse.
That’s my take on it.[/quote]
Good Christ Pikeman
Having heard Donal Og on the radio, do you honestly think you’re dealing with the bullish intrigue capability of a Nixon Whitehouse?
[quote=“Mairegangaire”]Good Christ Pikeman
Having heard Donal Og on the radio, do you honestly think you’re dealing with the bullish intrigue capability of a Nixon Whitehouse?
[quote=“Pikeman”]And the Cork players fuckin off on strike, not playing for their county, influencing others not to play for their county isn’t the greatest show of disrespect to the jersey?
That’s my take on it.[/quote]
And Pike, maybe your right, its an understandable take.
Its just everyone here has their “take” on the opposite side of the players, no matter what.
I don’t know the man or anything, but i’m giving him the benefit on the fact that he stuck it out so long.
Anyone in the Pairce last Sunday would have viewed the carry on of the management and CB members and their friends as disgusting. I’d say that would have been the last straw.
Now here’s an interesting view for ye. I regulary meet the uncle of one of the “new” players in my gym. Met him sunday in fact, and would know him for years, met him again last night. He was disgusted by sunday, and it his belief that a few of the “new” panel are re-considering their position. It wasn’t so much last sunday that did it, because he thought they didn’t fear Dublin at all, it was the trouncing from Portumna the week before (when Portumna started all their subs as they had played CIT the day before) that had upset a few of them. A fellow club member had gone and had said it was awful.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]And Pike, maybe your right, its an understandable take.
Its just everyone here has their “take” on the opposite side of the players, no matter what.
I don’t know the man or anything, but i’m giving him the benefit on the fact that he stuck it out so long.
Anyone in the Pairce last Sunday would have viewed the carry on of the management and CB members and their friends as disgusting. I’d say that would have been the last straw.
Now here’s an interesting view for ye. I regulary meet the uncle of one of the “new” players in my gym. Met him sunday in fact, and would know him for years, met him again last night. He was disgusted by sunday, and it his belief that a few of the “new” panel are re-considering their position. It wasn’t so much last sunday that did it, because he thought they didn’t fear Dublin at all, it was the trouncing from Portumna the week before (when Portumna started all their subs as they had played CIT the day before) that had upset a few of them. A fellow club member had gone and had said it was awful.[/quote]
C, clearly the tick has tocked out on Ger, so whats the gos; will Teddy Mc and Donal Og join forces? Or is it Teddy Mc and Brian Corcoran that are being called this morning?
One thing for deffo, it’ll be a pairing of some sort before the Tip match.
Imho Ger has everything to gain and nothing to lose by stepping down. An emotional, ‘for the good of Cork hurling which I have given my lift to’ farewell address would safeguard his reputation in Cork hurling forever more. He’d be remembered as being the bigger man and making a huge sacrifice to save Cork hurling. Alternatively, he sticks around, and Cork lose every competitive game this year, and he steps down after they’re dumped out of the championship. On a personal level, surely to god he knows this himself.
complete over reaction to this by corkonions.
They have lost the lad who washes the jerseys, im sure he will be replaceable at short notice, especially in these hard economical times.
Having read it again i find it funny that he has no issues with the players, no issue with frank, no issue with Gerald apart from the Marion interview. The only one he has issues with is Babs.
Id say the heat got to him alright no doubt about it there was a word in his ear. Gerald said a lot more about certain players months ago and he remained. Nothing has changed recently to push him over the edge apart from the defeat to cork, and if that made him walk away then they are better off without the man, a quitter is not the sort of bloke you need around the players.
finally something which can possibly go some way to explain the whole cork shambles, … this man is a delegate, the man has a Vote!
It all makes sense now
[quote=“HBV*”]complete over reaction to this by corkonions.
They have lost the lad who washes the jerseys, im sure he will be replaceable at short notice, especially in these hard economical times.
Having read it again i find it funny that he has no issues with the players, no issue with frank, no issue with Gerald apart from the Marion interview. The only one he has issues with is Babs.
Id say the heat got to him alright no doubt about it there was a word in his ear. Gerald said a lot more about certain players months ago and he remained. Nothing has changed recently to push him over the edge apart from the defeat to cork, and if that made him walk away then they are better off without the man, a quitter is not the sort of bloke you need around the players.
finally something which can possibly go some way to explain the whole cork shambles, … this man is a delegate, the man has a Vote!
It all makes sense now[/quote]
[quote=“HBV*”]complete over reaction to this by corkonions.
It all makes sense now[/quote]
In your ‘outsider’ opinion. Now i know you probably know a few lads from Cork, even a few GAA lads, but your opinions seem very one sided. And if this dispute was so one sided it would be over long go. End of, like most disputes.
[quote=“tipptops*”]Actually, I hope ye do bring a team, this could be a great occasion.
Tipp/Cork is always ripe with Glory. Outsiders wouldn’t understand.[/quote]
Agree, but speaking to people from Tipp, including a panel member, they are well pissed off with the standard of team coming.
I had it planned as a big night with the lads up in Clonmel afterwards, we even had a challenge game on saturday afternoon. All gone because people won’t travel.