fact
I just don’t think it should be a big issue. Teams use different motivations all the time, some work, some don’t. BC was just telling it how it was in the book.
Its old news anyway.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I just don’t think it should be a big issue. Teams use different motivations all the time, some work, some don’t. BC was just telling it how it was in the book.
Its old news anyway.[/quote]
i think it cost cork at least one of those close games, have any other teams failed to beat wd in 3 attempts in the last 10 years?
[quote=“HBV*”]Corcorans ill advised Waterford bashing meant the Deise gave absolutely everything in order to beat Cork that year, Cork could have won all 3 matches but didn’t win one, WD were hungrier and were willing to die for it.
Wd were fucked at the end of that Cork saga, they had shot their loads and had given everything to put cork in their place, … 6 months after Corcoran lambasted them in his book.
Wd might have been a savage team in 07, but Mary they only showed it against Cork, on all 3 occasions. That WD team were not good enough to win an ai, but good enough to put one over on Cork.[/quote]
But thats they way with Waherfurd, they have always planned and played their season like there is only one scalp to take. 1990 is a prime example, they thought they only needed to bate Tip but look what happened. No matter how many back-doors, playoffs and drawn games they face, they still only have the mentality to win the grudge match.
In 07 they set out to HAMMER Cork, when they only needed a simple win to meet Limerick.
[quote=“Mairegangaire”]But thats they way with Waherfurd, they have always planned and played their season like there is only one scalp to take. 1990 is a prime example, they thought they only needed to bate Tip but look what happened. No matter how many back-doors, playoffs and drawn games they face, they still only have the mentality to win the grudge match.
In 07 they set out to HAMMER Cork, when they only needed a simple win to meet Limerick.[/quote]
What happened in 1990? don’t recall Waterford beating Tipp.
[quote=“Mairegangaire”]But thats they way with Waherfurd, they have always planned and played their season like there is only one scalp to take. 1990 is a prime example, they thought they only needed to bate Tip but look what happened. No matter how many back-doors, playoffs and drawn games they face, they still only have the mentality to win the grudge match.
In 07 they set out to HAMMER Cork, when they only needed a simple win to meet Limerick.[/quote]
ye, ok, but the issue is Corcoran and his comments, not flakey waterford
No, they were odds on fav to bate a sad sad sad Cork side in the Semi, but Cork scroped a draw only to bate the DeeCees cocky yet hurl spintered arses off the field in the replay.
Next up was the Donkey Derby.
And the rest is history
'era lets not fall out over it.
I’ve said a lot worse about the Deise meself Bolvicks, and I didn’t get paid. But don’t get me started on Dan the Sham; ha ha
Did ye see that fuckin ejit yesterday, fucking hairy dope thinks he’s Ryan Giggs.
So what you’re both saying is Ger McCarthy’s coaching had nothing to do with Cork not winning the AI in 2007?
no. Since his original appointment we were never going to win. Waherfurd was just passing traffic.
Ya, i agree. KK would have been too strong anyway.
I’m surprised at this very defeatist attitude. Cork were in four AI Finals in a row, winning two up to 2007. Yet because of a change in coach you knew “we were never going to win” before a puck of the ball in the championship. I have a hard time buying that arguement.
As you said yourself “Waherfurd were a savage team in 07”, so credit where credit is due.
So if by chance Cork had beaten Waterford in 2007, “KK would have been too strong anyway”. Again, you’re saying Ger McCarthy’s coaching had nothing to do with Cork not winning the AI in 2007.
By their reasoning, Ger Mc should be credited with keeping this team competitive as the suggestion seems to be that they were on some kind of downward slide. Welcome by the way.
Due to the fact that the Galway v Kilkenny match was called off, TG4 showed the Galway v Cork match from last year instead…Fuck me they gave some performance second half against the breeze with 14 men, for a team that was so badly coached it was amazing they were able to perform to that level, considerig tey didn’t start training til february and the training drills were so poor(or so the players make out) it would be almost impossible for a team to give such a performance…
Was watching that too Puke (due to my own feckin match being called off again)-Christ it was some game. Donal Og gettig his marching orders and young Joe getting his All-Star that day. Good memories.
Tuesday, February 10, 2009
Blow for McCarthy as Cork backroom member quits
By Michael Moynihan
EMBATTLED Cork hurling manager Gerald McCarthy suffered another setback yesterday with the resignation of Martin Walsh, the team’s logistics manager for the last two seasons.
Walsh said yesterday that McCarthy’s ongoing criticism of the 2008 senior hurling panel was the reason he was stepping down. “I thought Gerald’s interview on Saturday was very unfair,” said Walsh.
"Anyone who ever worked with Donal g Cusack knows he’ll listen to you. He wouldn’t make you feel uncomfortable, no matter what you’re saying; he’d do anything for you. He, Sean g and John Gardiner, as player reps, did everything they could to help Gerald over the last two seasons.
"The reason I’m stepping down now is that it’s hard enough listening to things being said about the players, what they’re getting out of the game and so on. Babs Keating’s attack on Diarmuid and Paudie O’Sullivan last week — and on their father Jerry — was very unfair as well. Babs probably has a hidden agenda, maybe he’s getting back at modern players.
“Donal g Cusack is an easy target for fellas to have a go at, an easy man to blame. As is Frank Murphy on the other side, in fairness. But to me Donal g is the ultimate professional — he, Sean g, Tom Kenny, they’re lads who’ll go to any lengths to get that extra one per cent out of themselves. To say Donal g doesn’t want to be coached and so on — I know he’d row in 100% behind anyone who could improve things. That’s the way he is — he’s a great man for the organisation. So is Sean g.”
Walsh credited facilitator Cathal O’Reilly with improving the atmosphere in the group last year, but agreed with the players who felt the quality of training had slipped.
"Cathal did fantastic work with the group — you could see them pulling together. He got them to gel and to build trust. But the one thing is that respect is a two-way street. You see what’s being written about the players and you have to ask is there respect there? If there’s no respect in the dressing-room, you have no business being there.
“Were things as bad as people say? Yes, they were. Jerry Wallace put in fierce work to keep things going last year, so did Brian Roche, but the players came from a background where Declan Kidney was watching them train, where people involved with Kilkenny would watch the sessions. The players are doing the training and if they feel that it’s gone from up here to down there, then it must have gone back. People forget the work the two trainers, Jerry Wallace and Seanie McGrath, put in under Donal O’Grady and John Allen.”
Walsh was involved with the 2009 team up to Sunday’s defeat to Dublin at Pirc Ui Chaoimh but had also continued to work with the 2008 panel.
""I felt this would be resolved, and that it was my duty to help the (200 lads and make sure they could come back to play for Cork.
"You talk about pride in the jersey. These players have the ultimate pride in the jersey.
"Part of my job was to collect jerseys after games, and not one of them would throw the jersey to you. They hand the jersey back.
"They wait to sign autographs, to stand for photographs — I was at training for them at quarter to five, they’d start arriving at quarter past five and the last man would leave at ten o’clock.
“They’re superb men and they’re being dragged through the dirt here, when all they want is to get back to where Kilkenny are, to win All-Irelands.”
Walsh acknowledged the pressure on the new panel and on the county board.
"There are good men in the board — (chairman) Jerry O’Sullivan and (PRO) Ger Lane are friends of mine and they’re good men.
"Jerry is a sound man, he has club men and sons involved and it’s difficult for him.
"I got on well with Gerald as well, but he’s being left out on a limb here.
"It’s difficult for the 2009 players. There are grand guys there who could be developed, but they’re getting tarred with this thing.
“I’m a players’ man and I wouldn’t knock them, they answered the call, but they’ll probably be easy targets.”
Walsh, chairman of Ballinacurra GAA club, refuted suggestions the players were motivated by personal gain.
"At least 10 Cork players have been down there to help us in Ballinacurra, and all it cost us was a lunch for Shane O’Neill and some crystal we gave Sean g after he presented trophies.
"All the talk about money for them is rubbish.
“How come nobody is talking about Donal g and Kevin Hartnett working for Alan Kerins in Zambia, or about the fact that they’re getting 20 people to go out there again in October?”
Walsh sees more pressing problems for Cork GAA.
"If the board can leave their greatest asset, the players, on the outside, have another 30 footballers threatening to go — and maybe another 50 players who won’t play — then something has to give.
"It’s grand saying people are looking after underage teams and so on, but we’re not promoting ourselves.
"I’m my club’s East Cork Board delegate, and I see clubs amalgamating at minor, pushing for twelve-a-side at U21.
"We’re holding our own but stronger clubs are coming back to our level.
"You’d wonder just how strong the GAA is in Cork.
"We should be pushing our inter-county hurlers and footballers, not knocking them.
“Rugby and soccer motor away at their own thing. Why can’t we?”
This looks like it’s the beginning of the end for GMC, the start of the unravelling. Never heard of your man myself but he seemed to have been in a funny position, running with the hare and hunting with the hounds so to speak.
But he is chairman of his club, and seems to be firmly behind the players, maybe to represent the clubs position fully he needed to make the move he has.
Sounds like an inside job to me.
And this part-
[quote=“Georgy Comerford”]
"Part of my job was to collect jerseys after games, and not one of them would throw the jersey to you. They hand the jersey back.[/quote]
FFS
I’m certain that the coaching in that 2nd half didn’t come from Gerald McCarthy.