Humphries on the Cork saga

I think Dessie was uncomfortable with the question, and I doubt the GPA even have a policy on this, or have even given it much thought.

I dunno about his personal life or anything but saying the 2009 panel wouldn’t be welcome is hardly a shock nor a big deal. The GPA are in essence a union, and within that framework the 2009 panel are in effect, scabs.

But they’re intercounty players and they played a league game last week. I don’t see how Dessie could veto their membership, irrespective of who’s right or wrong in the Cork dispute. It definitely caught him on the hop.

It was extremely unfair of them to put him on the spot like that and he should have told them to fook off as their sports coverage is generally shit.

he’s useless.

I think its shocking. But maybe i’m more shockable than you, i don’t know.
He’s just said that a certain section of the GAA playing population are not welcome. This after all the shite about all players being welcome, and club players being so important to them.
Out of scutting i went for a job with them, farce. Had a telephone interview. Said they’d be back in a short time. Never heard again. Now i kinda forgot as well and didn’t follow up, but just shows that they are around the same level as a recruitment company. Again, cunts!:stuck_out_tongue:

It probably did. They’re not the sharpest crew unless there’s cash involved. How big a deal is it though? I dunno how detailed their charter is when it comes to disputes like this. Not very I would say.

Ah come on sledge, the previous question was a lead in, he should have seen it coming. And fair play to yer man for asking.

I genuinely think there is something lacking in Dessie, honestly.

back of beer mat would be the height of it.

I don’t think it was. He’s made a point of saying everyone was welcome in the past - elite players, average players, players from weaker counties, club players etc - here you have a group of players representing their county and he says they’re not welcome.

This dispute in Cork was meant to be a players vs County Board one - Dessie Farrell coming out and vetoing 2009 panel members from joining the GPA gives ammunition to those who argue the GPA are at the heart of the dispute and that a victory for the players here will be a precursor for the GPA trying to extend their influence over all GAA matters, ultimately leading to pay for play.

he GPA was founded in Belfast in 1999 as an official autonomous representative body for GAA players in response to a rapidly changing inter-county landscape. The GPA is a wholly self-funded, not-for-profit membership organisation dedicated to player welfare and the protection of the rights of players. Since its inception, the GPA has constructively highlighted the issue of player welfare and the status of the player within the GAA.

In 2003, a ground-breaking sponsorship partnership was formed with Energise Sport (then Club Energise). As well as securing the very future of the GPA and providing a wide range of promotional opportunities for players, this deal has funded the countrys most extensive Gaelic games scholarship programme. The success of the GPA can be measured by the dramatic improvements in player welfare, particularly the development and implementation of the Government funded awards schemes for inter-county players in 2008.

With an inter-county membership of nearly 1900 players, the GPA is now regarded as the most powerful, progressive and highest profile players representative body in Ireland.

So if its set up for players why won’t they let players join? Surely those who aren’t players should be turfed out?

[quote=“Bandage”]I don’t think it was. He’s made a point of saying everyone was welcome in the past - elite players, average players, players from weaker counties, club players etc - here you have a group of players representing their county and he says they’re not welcome.

This dispute in Cork was meant to be a players vs County Board one - Dessie Farrell coming out and vetoing 2009 panel members from joining the GPA gives ammunition to those who argue the GPA are at the heart of the dispute and that a victory for the players here will be a precursor for the GPA trying to extend their influence over all GAA matters, ultimately leading to pay for play.[/quote]

this isn’t intended to be an arguement Bondage; but truthfully, and remember you’re a professional yourself, with Dessie Farrell at the helm what what influence do you expect them to extend?

[quote=“Bandage”]
This dispute in Cork was meant to be a players vs County Board one - Dessie Farrell coming out and vetoing 2009 panel members from joining the GPA [/quote]

Ah come on to fuck, he didn’t ‘come out and veto’ them. He said it wouldn’t be a welcome development because within the dispute it would be cutting the ground from underneath the players involved in the dispute. How can you expect the union to take the side of the authorities? It’s hardly a condemnation of the young lads either.

It’a a players’ union so I would have thought it should be open to all players, not just those in actual disputes.

should union open memebrship to people who cross pickets?

They are not on strike. They have just made themselves unavailable for selection.

What if one of the 2009 panel is already a member of the GPA, would his membership be revoked?

well they’ll have a job getting back all that orange

how does a GGA player actually strike?

With a hurl