Humphries on the Cork saga

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Why on their own whim would they vote Ger out, without an alternative, or without a resolution?
I can’t say i know at this time what our delegate voted, but i would guess he voted to keep Ger, because its the only guy in the picture.

Look i don’t know, ye lads are not for turning, ye don’t like the players and i understand that. But i will not believe the system or the voting that has gone on is fair (even to Ger) until the clubs are given a mandate and get something tangible to vote on. I think we should leave this discussion until after Sundays meeting with the Chairmen. I believe from a text there that we are having a quick EGM tomorrow night before our Chairman attends. To discuss what questions are asked etc. I’ve been told to get any questions from the Minor and U-21’s tonight at training, i presume the same is been asked of the seniors etc. I doubt that will happen at every club, but our chairman is very much on the ball, and very open minded.[/QUOTE]

and how many players have ye on the Football Panel C?

this has to get wrapped up before the weekend. If Ger and those kids turn up in Semple, HQ will get involved.

[quote=“HBV*”]what you are saying is that the democratic result would not suit you.
you hold more sway in marchers in the city centre at peak shopping time than the club delegates who you help to democratically elect!
extraordinary!

answer one thing for me and i personally will leave it at that for today, if a no confidence motion was passed last night, what would you be saying today?[/quote]

Personally, i have no confidence in Ger Mca’s ability to improve this Cork team and bring them to the next level, which is winning an All-Ireland. I also don’t have the confidence in him even it is just with the current panel. I have no confidence in the people he has around him either. At least one of his selectors is a raving lunatic and shouldn’t be left near a county team, and (i believe) got involved to further the prospects of his son.
The trainer i wouldn’t have a huge amount of confidence in, i’m (not saying i’d want it or would get it) far more qualified to be the conditioning coach and/or trainer than the guy there. So are at least 100 other people in Cork. Why was a footballer, with no experience of training teams, just finished a course that is not specifically concentrated on either physical fitness or conditioning the Cork trainer and condidtioning coach, and the guy who done the same for Sarsfields last year and is 8 years qualified, a hurler and an expert…not even asked? There are more examples.

Short answer, i have no confidence, no, in Ger Mac.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Personally, i have no confidence in Ger Mca’s ability to improve this Cork team and bring them to the next level, which is winning an All-Ireland. I also don’t have the confidence in him even it is just with the current panel. I have no confidence in the people he has around him either. At least one of his selectors is a raving lunatic and shouldn’t be left near a county team, and (i believe) got involved to further the prospects of his son.
The trainer i wouldn’t have a huge amount of confidence in, i’m (not saying i’d want it or would get it) far more qualified to be the conditioning coach and/or trainer than the guy there. So are at least 100 other people in Cork. Why was a footballer, with no experience of training teams, just finished a course that is not specifically concentrated on either physical fitness or conditioning the Cork trainer and condidtioning coach, and the guy who done the same for Sarsfields last year and is 8 years qualified, a hurler and an expert…not even asked? There are more examples.

Short answer, i have no confidence, no, in Ger Mac.[/quote]

fine, i understand.
the process is flawed and you cant ask delegates to vote on something they didn’t know was coming, but all the same you would accept the delegates decision if the result suited you

If this wasn’t so tragic it’d be funny.

I could do with a good grope

Have what bad?
A pain in my hole reading your shite?
I sure do.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Personally, i have no confidence in Ger Mca’s ability to improve this Cork team and bring them to the next level, which is winning an All-Ireland. I also don’t have the confidence in him even it is just with the current panel. I have no confidence in the people he has around him either. At least one of his selectors is a raving lunatic and shouldn’t be left near a county team, and (i believe) got involved to further the prospects of his son.

Short answer, i have no confidence, no, in Ger Mac.[/quote]

Kev, you are embarrassing.

What was that you were giving out to lads about hearsay and Sean g?

[quote=“HBV*”]fine, i understand.
the process is flawed and you cant ask delegates to vote on something they didn’t know was coming, but all the same you would accept the delegates decision if the result suited you[/quote]

That where you are wrong. It would be still flawed, it would be still wrong, and we still wouldn’t have had something to actually vote on.
In any democracy you know what your voting on, you have time to discuss it, you have time to decide. What are we (the club) to vote on?
Is it to get rid of the players?
Is it to get rid of Ger?
Is it to change the process for picking managers?
Is is to sort out the current mess for 8 months and get back to it?
Is it to change the role of the County secretary?
Is it to radically overhaul the set up of the excecutive of the CB and how it is run?

There are all issues.
Cork County Board doesn’t want discussion on a number of issues, this is why things get ruled out of order before they get to a meeting for discussion.

If ye have a way for that to be changed, then please fucking tell me. I have no loyalty to those cunts up there, i’d go after them all. I asked to go and speak once on a related issue, my club said i could, but my views wouldn’t represent the clubs. Thus anything i said would mean fuck all. What is one to do?

I’ve seen it up close, and i have a friend who was in the dressing room for 3 years with him. Puke probably has too as his club played against them, and Puke was a sub. He would have seen the irrational behaviour.

I’m not one bit embarrassed by my opinions Pike, and you know fuck all about me really, so it doesn’t bother me.

[quote=“Pikeman”]Have what bad?
I sure do.[/quote]

Why bother, you’ve nothing to contribute, you don’t debate, you just see black and white.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I’ve seen it up close, and i have a friend who was in the dressing room for 3 years with him. Puke probably has too as his club played against them, and Puke was a sub. He would have seen the irrational behaviour.

I’m not one bit embarrassed by my opinions Pike, and you know fuck all about me really, so it doesn’t bother me.[/quote]

I was on about your hearsay when you said “I believe” he got involved to further the prospects of his son. Not his raving behaviour.

True I know fuck all about you, only going by what you are here on the forum.

84-13 Kev boy.
That is indeed black and white.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]That where you are wrong. It would be still flawed, it would be still wrong, and we still wouldn’t have had something to actually vote on.
In any democracy you know what your voting on, you have time to discuss it, you have time to decide. What are we (the club) to vote on?
Is it to get rid of the players?
Is it to get rid of Ger?
Is it to change the process for picking managers?
Is is to sort out the current mess for 8 months and get back to it?
Is it to change the role of the County secretary?
Is it to radically overhaul the set up of the excecutive of the CB and how it is run?

There are all issues.
Cork County Board doesn’t want discussion on a number of issues, this is why things get ruled out of order before they get to a meeting for discussion.

If ye have a way for that to be changed, then please fucking tell me. I have no loyalty to those cunts up there, i’d go after them all. I asked to go and speak once on a related issue, my club said i could, but my views wouldn’t represent the clubs. Thus anything i said would mean fuck all. What is one to do?[/quote]

as you say, this might need to be shelved until after the players meeting. but what are they wanting from the clubs? what kind of vote do they want the clubs to do? whay couldnt they have done all this from the start instead of striking (and kev, this isnt an attack on you or anything, as you have said you didnt agree with their strike).

the vote last night, IMO, seemed simple. It was a vote of confidence in GMC. if you were a delegate, you probably would have voted no, as you have said you have no confidence in him. But the vote was overwhelmingly in his favour. surely if it was a no vote it would have started a chain reaction of getting the players back in and overhauls. but the status quo was voted back in and to be kept.

Us langers are good at delivering durty dig merchants a kick up the hole

[quote=“Pikeman”]Have what bad?
I sure do.[/quote]

so let me add to yours.

I want my team to be the best and to be that they need to bate the Killjennies back the crying babies they were back in '99.

I want my team to be managed by the best, if Ger McCarthy was the best he’d have got the Limerick, Wexford and the Antrim Jobs when he expressed his interest. His backroom team would have qualifications, laudable results and championship kudos.

I want my team to field the best, if they did Diarmuid O’Sullivan would have retired 3 years ago and Jerry O’Connor would have been off the panel in 08 and Wayne Sherlock would still be there. And Setanta would have returned.

I don’t care for strikes, personalities or self interest. This is my team. For good and for ever. Over the years I’ve tried my best to walk away, I even took up golf and went to a rugbee match. It didn’t work.

If it gives you a pain in the hole what do you think it does to someone who lived and died with every second of Meath V Cork and a double? Or for someone who knew with every puck of the ball in '99 we were going to win.

The drink helps tho’

[quote=“Pikeman”]84-13 Kev boy.
That is indeed black and white.[/quote]

isn’t that the exact same number that supported Teddy Holland?

C, can you confirm?

ta.

Sorry MGG-you may have misread me.

The shite you write is tedious, boring, dull, uninteresting, unexciting, wearisome, tiresome, repetitive, unvaried, humdrum, mechanical, mind-numbing, soul-destroying; colorless.
And it gives me pains.
Copied for your benefit

[quote=“Pikeman”]Sorry MGG-you may have misread me.

The shite you write is tedious, boring, dull, uninteresting, unexciting, wearisome, tiresome, repetitive, unvaried, humdrum, mechanical, mind-numbing, soul-destroying; colorless.
And it gives me pains.
Copied for your benefit[/quote]

good
We’ve got something in common.

as you say, this might need to be shelved until after the players meeting. but what are they wanting from the clubs? A proper open discussion, where as many club members, young and old are there, then a motion of possible resolutions. what kind of vote do they want the clubs to do? A vote on a solution. whay couldnt they have done all this from the start instead of striking (and kev, this isnt an attack on you or anything, as you have said you didnt agree with their strike). Couldn’t agree with you more, thewy made a balls of it, an absolute balls of it. seen as i was asked for my opinion on a few things here, i’m going to voice one more, Donal Og hasn’t got the intelligence to be the leader of this protest. Tom Kenny should Always havebeen the man. I don’t like Donal Og from what i have seen or known of him. Cloyne people in general are too clanny for me. Love your club and all that, but it is a club that is part of a bigger club, and outsiders don’t bite either.
the vote last night, IMO, seemed simple. It was a vote of confidence in GMC. if you were a delegate, you probably would have voted no, as you have said you have no confidence in him. I would have abstained, which is the first thing i will ask our delegate tomorrow night, did he vote, as i don’t believe he should have, i think he did vote in favour of Ger though. But the vote was overwhelmingly in his favour. surely if it was a no vote it would have started a chain reaction of getting the players back in and overhauls. but the status quo was voted back in and to be kept.

The status quo can’t even find a 5th selector, thats how bad it is for him. Also who the fuck needs 4 selectorsa these days. Farcical.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]isn’t that the exact same number that supported Teddy Holland?

C, can you confirm?

ta.[/quote]

It was dam close to that anyway Maire.