Humphries on the Cork saga

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The crux of the issue is that still yet the clubs haven’t been given anything to vote on or discuss. That vote last night means fuck all. Our club has discussed it, but we didn’t know Ger Mac was speaking last night until yesterday, and no club was told to vote on a vote of confidence. So it means nothing really. Until such time as there is a clear mandate for clubs to vote on, and they get a week to vote on it, then we don’t have a true idea of whats thought at the clubs. No motion whatsoever was discussed last night, and i know there was several proposals put in. More CB games. Why was it yesterday that everyone found out Ger was talking. Clubs could have put forward questions or whatever.

If there is a mandate, and it is defeated in favour of Ger and the lads, then thats the end of it, but that hasn’t happened lads.[/quote]

was last night not a vote of confidence? In essence, if it was voted no, then the Co board would have had little option but get rid of GMC. Clubs at this stage know whats going on, so delegates should know the feeling in their own club. you already said your club has spoken about it, so surely in the ‘suprise’ vote, your delegate would have been able to vote the way your club wanted. To say it was an unpexpected vote is ridiculous. This has been in the news for weeks, so clubs must know what their members thoughts are at this stage. As you said, your club spoke on it, so I cant believe how the majority of other clubs wouldnt have had some sort of discussion also.

If ones Club is against the CCB then surely their Delegate should be made aware of this?

If the Delegate isnt doing as the Club wishes, then a vote of no confidence should be brought in the Delegate.

Sounds like yer in some mess down the Kev.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]The crux of the issue is that still yet the clubs haven’t been given anything to vote on or discuss. That vote last night means fuck all. Our club has discussed it, but we didn’t know Ger Mac was speaking last night until yesterday, and no club was told to vote on a vote of confidence. So it means nothing really. Until such time as there is a clear mandate for clubs to vote on, and they get a week to vote on it, then we don’t have a true idea of whats thought at the clubs. No motion whatsoever was discussed last night, and i know there was several proposals put in. More CB games. Why was it yesterday that everyone found out Ger was talking. Clubs could have put forward questions or whatever.

If there is a mandate, and it is defeated in favour of Ger and the lads, then thats the end of it, but that hasn’t happened lads.[/quote]

if your club has discussed it what in the name of jaysus did those discussions entail?

jesus christ ye have had 3 months to decide if ye back Gerald or want him removed, there is no other solution to this shambles you have said that yourself.
so after 3 months of refection, and then discussion within your club, surely your delegate had a mandate to vote either way last night?
if he hadn’t then your club urgently need to look at the way they operate

FFS-if it had been voted the other way round in favour of the players, they’d be all shouting it from the rooftops saying the clubs have spoken.

The Winner of the Official TKF Championship Prediction Competition 2008 has a point.

thats a fact.

and there seems to be more weight in 10000 marchers at peak shopping time in the city centre than there is in the democratically elected county board delegates at their monthly meeting.

tis some county!

As far as I know, as of this post anyway, the Clubs didn’t discuss anything, nor did most of them know Gerald was addressing the CB last night.

Yet somehow Gerald was more groomed than that butler the used to wash Lady Di’s knickers, and more prepared than Terry Prone.

A deal that will reflect some type of partnership management team will be rattled out by Friday. Of that I’m sure.

But at this point I think we should all go back to the very start of this thread and re-read it.

Rock and Jerry O’C are long done with Inter County Hurling; go now.

Cabbage is going to have to shurr’up and learn to play nice. I would suggest the best thing here is to come to terms with Gerald and contribute to a new Back room team.

Gardiner is finished. Like Dessie. It couldn’t happen to a nicer couple; Cork and championship hurling were always better served with Gah on the half back line but Dessie and Cabbage seemed to think he had better quality off the field. Jesus wept.

Sean Og is untouchable. And we could still do with him. Deano stayed stum and at the back of the hall, clever, and yes we need him for another year.

I’m not happy with Gerald McCarthy, and I never was; so being convinced he is right and the CB are right is not going to happen now.

But now is the time for heros.

Cabbage please talk to Gerald; stike a partnership deal with him. He is your way out of this and you are his.

Be Giants.

Leave em off to fook at this stage I say.

=MGG bullshitting again

Jesus lads. You can’t send your delegate in with a vote for something you don’t know is coming. Ye going on about the running of clubs, boards etc and there being a process. We had discussions, and possible resolutions were discussed and even put down for motion. But somebody can’ say, " Look MR. Delegate, if they ask you to vote on Ger Mac, vote against him, ok." Most of my club would have thought he made a mistake by taking it at all, that was the overwhelming impression i got, but he’s there now, so it had to be sorted. Basically it was felt that either he goes, or they come up with a system where the players come back with Ger still involved in some role. The players not playing was completely ruled out, guys spoke passionately and at length about how the Sean Ogs and Tom Kennys not playing would ruin the Cork GAA world. There is an huge amount of ill will towards the CB in my club, even if our delegate has been on the executive in the past, from what i know talking to other administrators, players etc that would be the feeling all round, for years. But things were never this bad, so maybe thats why too much of a stink wasn’t made, probably like it is in alot of counies, as many of ye have pointed out.
But none of ye are facing absolute melt down in your county.
This will affect playing numbers, you’d only have to talk to a 16 year old now to get the feeling that they think its ridiculous.My club could suffer more than most, we are already in a strong rugby and soccer area. I thought we had turned the corner, and we’re winning the battle, i’d be worried now.

[quote=“Mairegangaire”]As far as I know, as of this post anyway, the Clubs didn’t discuss anything, nor did most of them know Gerald was addressing the CB last night.

Yet somehow Gerald was more groomed than that butler the used to wash Lady Di’s knickers, and more prepared than Terry Prone.

A deal that will reflect some type of partnership management team will be rattled out by Friday. Of that I’m sure.

But at this point I think we should all go back to the very start of this thread and re-read it.

Rock and Jerry O’C are long done with Inter County Hurling; go now.

Cabbage is going to have to shurr’up and learn to play nice. I would suggest the best thing here is to come to terms with Gerald and contribute to a new Back room team.

Gardiner is finished. Like Dessie. It couldn’t happen to a nicer couple; Cork and championship hurling were always better served with Gah on the half back line but Dessie and Cabbage seemed to think he had better quality off the field. Jesus wept.

Sean Og is untouchable. And we could still do with him. Deano stayed stum and at the back of the hall, clever, and yes we need him for another year.

I’m not happy with Gerald McCarthy, and I never was; so being convinced he is right and the CB are right is not going to happen now.

But now is the time for heros.

Cabbage please talk to Gerald; stike a partnership deal with him. He is your way out of this and you are his.

Be Giants.[/quote]

mary, kevins club has discussed this… one of you is lying

Jesus Christ, how do you think other GAA clubs around the country operate? Is the simple club system too complex for you to understand?

Ye didn’t know it was coming. Is the most pressing GAA issue in the country at the moment and you didn’t think it would be discussed at the monthly county board meeting?

• Get your club members together.
  • Have a vote about whether or not you support Gerald McCarthy (you have had 3 months to get a consensus on this)
  • Whatever the result is your delegate now adopts this stance at all future county board meetings relating to this matter. He is then reflecting the views of his club.

It’s obviously a very devisive and emotive issue within the clubs, but they have spoken AGAIN last night and that is massively in support of Gerald McCarthy.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Jesus lads. You can’t send your delegate in with a vote for something you don’t know is coming. Ye going on about the running of clubs, boards etc and there being a process. We had discussions, and possible resolutions were discussed and even put down for motion. But somebody can’ say, " Look MR. Delegate, if they ask you to vote on Ger Mac, vote against him, ok." Most of my club would have thought he made a mistake by taking it at all, that was the overwhelming impression i got, but he’s there now, so it had to be sorted. Basically it was felt that either he goes, or they come up with a system where the players come back with Ger still involved in some role. The players not playing was completely ruled out, guys spoke passionately and at length about how the Sean Ogs and Tom Kennys Tfnot playing would ruin the Cork GAA world. There is an huge amount of ill will towards the CB in my club, even if our delegate has been on the executive in the past, from what i know talking to other administrators, players etc that would be the feeling all round, for years. But things were never this bad, so maybe thats why too much of a stink wasn’t made, probably like it is in alot of counies, as many of ye have pointed out.
But none of ye are facing absolute melt down in your county.
This will affect playing numbers, you’d only have to talk to a 16 year old now to get the feeling that they think its ridiculous.My club could suffer more than most, we are already in a strong rugby and soccer area. I thought we had turned the corner, and we’re winning the battle, i’d be worried now.[/quote]

kevin
if your delegate wasnt aware it was coming did he still vote in favour of it?
regardless whether they knew it was coming or not they still overwhelmingly voted in favour, they could have voted no, but more importantly they could have abstained en masse.
They didn’t, and this says to me the majority of delegates voted with their clubs mandate, or the clubs are electing the biggest fucking idiots they can find to represent them.

caoimhaoin, this has been coming for bloody weeks now. maybe the actual night of the vote was unknown, but its not as if your delegate turned up for a meeting and was asked to vote on something that he’d never heard of. clubs may not have had their vote, but surely as you say, they had meetings and discussions and surely knew the feelings of members and could vote accordingly.

i’ll put it this way. if the vote was no confidence, what would have happened?

I do agree that it is costing cork in the long run. i’m pissed off with the GAA down there, imagine how a young lad who is undecided feels.

Stop mixing her words.
Every club has discussed it, are you mad? Of course they did. But it would be discussed, at the AOB time. Because there was never a letter, never a request, absolutely nothing from the CB to be discussed. Now for all MBB’s talk about procedures etc, you can’t vote on something that wasn’t there.

The CB are afraid of giving the clubs a week for something like that. That would mean getting all the players and young people into a room to discuss something. I’m 31, the next closest to me at an average meeting is about 48-49. Even if we did vote on something, it wouldn’t be a true reflection on the club. You would have to advertise for something like that. And to be honest, even with the normal bunch that are there, i’d say they would comfortably vote for anything that would get the players back at this stage.

The Cork Senior Hurling Panel 2008 wish to cordially invite the Chairperson (and one other Club member of it’s choosing) of every Hurling and/or Football Club in the County of Cork to meet with us on Sunday evening next the 15th February 2009 at the Maryborough House Hotel, Douglas, Cork at 7.00pm.

The purpose of this meeting, as previously advised in our recent press conference, is to ensure that the GAA Clubs of Cork have a chance to obtain first hand information as to the current difficulties so that they can brief their Clubs and members accordingly.

This will allow the Clubs of Cork to decide what is to be done.

We are issuing this invitation through the press to give as much notice of this meeting as possible.

You might please ensure that personal and Club I.D. are available for inspection.

We look forward to seeing you then.

Yours sincerely

The Cork Senior Hurling Panel 2008

are they afraid imposters are going to turn up? will htey have the pebble as a bouncer?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Stop mixing her words.
Every club has discussed it, are you mad? Of course they did. But it would be discussed, at the AOB time. Because there was never a letter, never a request, absolutely nothing from the CB to be discussed. Now for all MBB’s talk about procedures etc, you can’t vote on something that wasn’t there.

The CB are afraid of giving the clubs a week for something like that. That would mean getting all the players and young people into a room to discuss something. I’m 31, the next closest to me at an average meeting is about 48-49. Even if we did vote on something, it wouldn’t be a true reflection on the club. You would have to advertise for something like that. And to be honest, even with the normal bunch that are there, i’d say they would comfortably vote for anything that would get the players back at this stage.[/quote]

what you are saying is that the democratic result would not suit you.
you hold more sway in marchers in the city centre at peak shopping time than the club delegates who you help to democratically elect!
extraordinary!

answer one thing for me and i personally will leave it at that for today, if a no confidence motion was passed last night, what would you be saying today?

Jesus Pike you have it bad. You really do.

And for those others that just want to get a dig in for the sake of it … been there done that and have the scar tissue.

I haven’t lived in Cork in 19 years. The club that I was a member of went from Jnr to Senior and back down to Intermediate in that time, not because they had some good years but because of population shifts. And I couldn’t tell you where there are now. Only that when I played there we only had one set of dressing rooms, the showers were two hoses, and the club house was one of the old prefabs from Regina Mundi.

Currently, I have no grounding or reasonable understanding of the current Club demographic or personnel in Cork, City & County, only that Nemo are still a pack of jumped up tramps and “thu’town” are still up their own arses.

Whenever I go to a game now I meet lads / ex’s that have gotten fatter, balder and more useless as the years passed. Some like to talk and catch up, others prefer to ignore; and my cousin’s missus likes to point out the langers that were best avoided in the heedy days of Xandra’s, De’Lacy House, Magnums and Spiders when we knew it all but only hindsight and years tell us we didn’t.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Stop mixing her words.

The CB are afraid of giving the clubs a week for something like that. That would mean getting all the players and young people into a room to discuss something. I’m 31, the next closest to me at an average meeting is about 48-49. Even if we did vote on something, it wouldn’t be a true reflection on the club. You would have to advertise for something like that. And to be honest, even with the normal bunch that are there, i’d say they would comfortably vote for anything that would get the players back at this stage.[/quote]

This has been going on for 3 months. What difference would another week make? If ye haven’t been able to get a club system to function correctly for 20 years, then ye haven’t a hope of doing it in a week.

[quote=“HBV*”]kevin
if your delegate wasnt aware it was coming did he still vote in favour of it?
regardless whether they knew it was coming or not they still overwhelmingly voted in favour, they could have voted no, but more importantly they could have abstained en masse.
They didn’t, and this says to me the majority of delegates voted with their clubs mandate, or the clubs are electing the biggest fucking idiots they can find to represent them.[/quote]

Why on their own whim would they vote Ger out, without an alternative, or without a resolution?
I can’t say i know at this time what our delegate voted, but i would guess he voted to keep Ger, because its the only guy in the picture.

Look i don’t know, ye lads are not for turning, ye don’t like the players and i understand that. But i will not believe the system or the voting that has gone on is fair (even to Ger) until the clubs are given a mandate and get something tangible to vote on. I think we should leave this discussion until after Sundays meeting with the Chairmen. I believe from a text there that we are having a quick EGM tomorrow night before our Chairman attends. To discuss what questions are asked etc. I’ve been told to get any questions from the Minor and U-21’s tonight at training, i presume the same is been asked of the seniors etc. I doubt that will happen at every club, but our chairman is very much on the ball, and very open minded.