Good call Locke, they should drop the players from the panel and then ask why “ex-Cork Players” are interfering with the current team.
Would have to be more subtle though such as:
“I don’t understand why players that are unlikely to be part of the set up next year feel they should have more of an input than the current management”
Yeah, it makes sense to have a cooling off period. Clearly is not going to be solved without external input. The longer is goes on, the more polarising it becomes.
Sean Og is quite right of course in what he says and its good to see his effort to move back from the personal element which Gerald has majored in to what the real issue is…the maligning of the panel and the greater good of Cork hurling by the CCB.
[quote=“dancarter”]If Frank goes we can expect some serious collateral damage on the way
If he went now it would be his greatest service to Cork hurling[/quote]
This crap about being a great administrator is unbelievable. Cork GAA is in tatters and is years behind KK, Dublin, Kerry and most of the Northern counties in it’s set up. Thats part of his brief, as is looking after the clubs, and don’t get me started on them.
I believe Donal Og has made it his mission to get Frank, no matter what happens to himself. And whatever ye think of the 'Bould Donal Og, if he done that he’d be forever loved by the ordinary GAA people of Cork.
It was a bit rich to have a go at the set up last year considering the league was up and running before the players went back training.Hardly Gerald Macs fault they were 6 months behind everyone else.
Ah come on, they weren’t 6 months behind, and the players all were working on programmes for the physical side, as well as training with the clubs. Many of the clubs training would be as good as the county training.
thats a bit harsh…as far as set up goes i’d imagine their two county grounds would be the envy of a lot of other counties so somebody must have done something right down there…purchasing flowerlodge was a great bit of business…first GAA pitch in ireland to have floodlights…
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]This crap about being a great administrator is unbelievable. Cork GAA is in tatters and is years behind KK, Dublin, Kerry and most of the Northern counties in it’s set up. Thats part of his brief, as is looking after the clubs, and don’t get me started on them.
I believe Donal Og has made it his mission to get Frank, no matter what happens to himself. And whatever ye think of the 'Bould Donal Og, if he done that he’d be forever loved by the ordinary GAA people of Cork.[/quote]
If Brian Corcoran couldn’t as much as wobble Frank Murphy what chance do you think that cabbage has?
The players should just shut up; Frank will go himself when its all quiet. I’m sure of it.
Ya because they always know they will be cramming in games every year in October-November.
No point in having grounds if you don’t have players either by the way.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ya because they always know they will be cramming in games every year in October-November.
but that happens in dublin and kerry aswell…its not just a Cork problem…correct me if i’m wrong but weren’t both Cork hurling and football championships finished before Dublin’s?..kerry’s football is on this sunday…
I doubt buying Flowerlodge had anything to do with sage business planning. The place was idle for years and the last thing they wanted was for the neighbour’s (Con) to buy it.
Yes you are correct. But at what cost. Getting the Finals played on time is coming at a cost for not having a more balanced season. I can think of 5 clubs who played more or less every weekend for 6,7 or 8 weeks. They were put under serious pressure, and i know that some of them lost interest.
The summer months were barren for games.
In Kerry they have regular County League games, we don’t have that in Cork, the league is taken seriously in Kerry, so the club players don’t mind the championship being played later, and they know it will be later, every year, and can plan accordingly.
In Dublin they have a 3 week break in August, in Cork they don’t give you a game for 2 months and then have you play on the Sunday or Monday of the August Bank holiday. What the fuck like!?! The league in Dublin is also better structured.
One thing the clubs in Cork still do that infuriates me, is they get away with postponing County League games because they don’t have their county players, this is farcical.
The CCB (i.e. Frank) cause these problems, and they let certain clubs away with murder. Namely the big City clubs.
fcuk sake…give credit where its due…
The League of Ireland fucked up here, end of story.
still had to be bought though…
and Diarmuid loves him too…
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Apparently Ronan Curran was told at “Imperialgate” that he wasn’t been considered for next years panel anyway, after he made some comment. With the Barrs blatentley not supporting him the lads in my club were thinking of pitching together and getting him ahouse out in our place and join the local club.
I can see some serious longterm fallouts here.
Frank will go lads, you heard it here first.[/quote]
What comment did he make, it must have been fairly cutting…how else could you just jettison a player of his calibre, one of the finest in the game at the minute…presume he is only 27/28
I think he just added his twopence worth and Ger came back with a smart alec remark.
To be honest i heard it at training, so jesus knows how many times the story has changed, but one of our lads is very close to one of the players, and i got the feeling it came through him.
What ever the fuck happened anyway, we all know these guys can’t work together, and they are all acting very immaturely.
Curran is 28 next year i believe. Still 4 good years in him if he wanted. Does get injuried a fair bit though.
What do you want me to do? I love flowerlodge, the scene of many teenage misadventures, (their neighbour included:D)
The Corpo gave the Cork County Board the nudge to buy the grounds when they leaked that Con were in talking to Planners about it.
And I remember it was Con and the Well Road Civil Defence that were maintaining the gaff when the gates were rusting over; I don’t remember seeing anyone from Blackrock or Douglas GAA digging out. The the crowd nesting down below the Boggy road probably never even drove past the place.
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I think he just added his twopence worth and Ger came back with a smart alec remark.
To be honest i heard it at training, so jesus knows how many times the story has changed, but one of our lads is very close to one of the players, and i got the feeling it came through him.
What ever the fuck happened anyway, we all know these guys can’t work together, and they are all acting very immaturely.
Curran is 28 next year i believe. Still 4 good years in him if he wanted. Does get injuried a fair bit though.[/quote]
yeah he stuggled for all of last year with an ankle injury i believe…but when he is hurling well he is every bit as good as ken mcgrath, corcoran and seanie in their prime…lacks a small bit of consistency to be ranked with them in terms of greatness though…He would do a good job at full back next year if ye need a replacement for the rock…
[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Apparently Ronan Curran was told at “Imperialgate” that he wasn’t been considered for next years panel anyway, after he made some comment. With the Barrs blatentley not supporting him the lads in my club were thinking of pitching together and getting him ahouse out in our place and join the local club.
I can see some serious longterm fallouts here.
Frank will go lads, you heard it here first.[/quote]
Go back a few posts. And learn to count.