Humphries on the Cork saga

[quote=“HBV*”]the intimidation of young aspiring hurlers is what donal and sean og will be remembered for, it looks like they’ve crossed the line.
Not even kieran shannon can spin them out of this one.[/quote]

The CCB are suggesting in todays paper that the players have been ringing potential players (can’t believe i didn’t get a call) who may fill in for the Colmans game, and asking them to not participate. It’s a serious dirty tricks game now. Appauling behaviour from both sides. But it was the CCB who started this.

Something those outside may not realise, but the Chairmanship of the CCB was due to be (more or less) handed over to Jerry O’ Sullivan (Vice-Chairman and father of Duirmuid and Paudi). But it now apears the CCB have set up two new candidates to challenge this. Mick O’ Loughlin and Jim Forbes. Apparently the CCB now believe that Jerry was feeding to the players through the crisis.

Amazing stuff, there’s at least one book in this.

Nearly finished “Blood Brothers” by the way, interesting, and very honest. Might give reall GAA people an insight into this Cork team.

This is actually beginning to look like a Machiavellian plot on behalf of the CCB (I know its strange for someone to associate the word Machiavellian with the CCB) to use Ger Mac as their proxy in the war with Sean Og and the others. Perhaps Ger doesn’t realise it, but he’s shooting the CCB’s bullets here, and its a sad state of affairs.

Humphries has summed a lot of this up nicely for me in Lockeroom yesterday, its possible neither Ger nor the players are the actual problem, but they’re the ones tearing each other apart.

There’s a lot of talk in Australia at the moment about the federal government stepping in to take over responsibilities of inept and incompetant state governments. The GAA would do well to consider the same action with Cork and many, many other county boards:

GAA must take Cork County Board to task
HUMPHRIESLOCKER ROOM: If the Cork players feel under attack from their county board yet again, surely it’s time for the GAA to look at that county board rather than stand idly by

WHAT A grisly business to have to watch. In Cork right now the greatest, most beautiful, game in the world is being dragged into disrepute. Great icons of hurling are slashing each other like Hutus and Tutsis while a mendacious county board gambles on either the players or the public becoming so fatigued with matters that something breaks.

To paraphrase Tommie Gorman, what about the children?

The failure here is not Gerald’s or Sen g. It is a failure of administration. A complete and utter failure of men in suits to live up to their responsibilities to the game.

Croke Park, by saying it will remain neutral and permit Cork to settle its own civil war, is in effect siding with a county board which insists on lumbering players with a manager for whom the help of a facilitator was needed to get through last season. It is siding with a county board who took a process agreed on in arbitration earlier this year and used it as a weapon in an ongoing vendetta against its own players.

For the GAA to say it will not get involved is to ignore the fact that it is integrally involved. Hurling is held in trust by the GAA as a cultural and sporting gift to be passed on. If the game is being traduced and sullied the buck stops at Croke Park’s door. If players who have illuminated so many Sundays, players who everyone would concede have brought new standards of dedication and application to their preparation, feel yet again they are under attack from their county board surely it is time to look at that county board rather that stand by and watch.

It is a pity too that the great hurling academy that is St Colman’s of Fermoy should be dragged into the dirt with the duplicitous pretence that next week’s game is anything other than a barefaced flouting of the GAA’s new rules on intercounty activity at this time of the year. The rules are being flouted in order to manufacture a grisly showdown with players.

What county board would ask players, any group of players, to take to the pitch in such circumstances? The St Colman’s game will bring nothing but long-term damage to hurling in Cork. A grim irony given that the fixture was intended to celebrate the school’s rich contribution to the game.

What county board would put players in that position? Well, try a county board facing its third major upheaval in six years, a board which seems unable to command the trust of the people it works for. There is some misapprehension in county board circles when the players are accused of turning Cork hurling into an industrial relations battleground. The players don’t work for the county board. The county board works for the players and the Cork GAA public and for the games.

Now while we are diverted by examining the conflicting claims of the players and Gerald McCarthy we should instead be examining the effectiveness of the Cork County Board, a body whose pettiness and vindictiveness has brought embarrassment after embarrassment to the GAA in Cork, from the assassination attempts on Billy Morgan, to the refusal to play out extra-time in a major fixture because a train needed catching, to the attempts to get a major game postponed because of a tall ships’ race, to the crumbling state of Pirc U Chaoimh, to the endless unrest among players.

This is a flagship county of the GAA. All of us in the GAA expect more and deserve better.

Now in the present business of the Cork hurlers, the Cork County Board either knew of the difficulties which both players and management had been having with each other and should therefore, for the benefit of Cork hurling (which is the only thing that matters here in the long term) have said that it was time for change. This, after all, was a season when for the first time Kilkenny crept ahead of Cork in the record books.

It ended up too being a season when Cork were being held up to the light as a specimen study in chaos and Kilkenny were lauded as the model for all others to follow. Now the Cork County Board, knowing of the strife and unease of the last two years and knowing that in doing so it was selling out Cork’s history and Cork’s chances of burnishing that history, opted to ram the same arrangement down everybody’s throats again.

The alternative scenario which is equally inconceivable is the Cork County Board knew nothing of what was going on within the set-up of its own county hurling team for the last two years, in which case it was unfit to preside over hurling in the county at all.

It is very fine for the Cork County Board to hang back in the shadows and let a decent man like Gerald McCarthy suffer the hurt and embarrassment he is so clearly experiencing, but the rest of us shouldn’t be so diverted by the Punch and Judy show that we forget about the impresarios staging the entire thing.

It is very fine for us to watch the night skies illuminated by the trace glow of bullets and rockets fired at Sen g hAilpn for standing up for his comrades but in doing so we miss the point. When Gerald McCarthy, in pure frustration, cites poor compliance with various elements of his training structure is there not a single figure of substance within Cork GAA who will step in and say that there must be something seriously wrong here. The Cork players, as motivated a group as can be found within the game, clearly felt what they were failing to comply with was, as Sen g suggested last week, an enterprise that could have been dreamed up by a Disney character.

Maybe they were right. Maybe they were wrong. But they didn’t believe. And if you can’t make your players believe, that is a failure of management which sadly is terminal.

Surely when the compliance rate among such a driven bunch of players is as low as Gerald McCarthy made out in Saturday’s papers, with poor attendance at recovery sessions and a low response rate to nutritionists’ questionnaires, then that is further evidence of why a facilitator was needed last summer. Whatever connection a manager needs to make with a group of players just wasn’t made.

Both Gerald and the players got through their two years together. This summer, when Cork exited the championship, Gerald, more aware that anybody else of the problems which had existed between himself and his panel, had the chance to walk away with his considerable reputation intact.

The Cork County Board needed (if it was as ignorant of events as it seems) to take soundings amongst its players as to how things stood, then it needed to say gently to Gerald McCarthy that a perfect time had arrived to step down quietly with the thanks of everyone involved.

Cork had been beaten by Kilkenny but had succumbed only after a heroic struggle which had encompassed two epic comebacks in their previous championship games. The chance was there for everybody to thank Gerald for his considerable service and to move on.

Their failure to do that was the last in a long line of failings by the guardians of the game by the Lee. Croke Park can stand by and watch great men sunder each other in frustration or it can tackle the root of the problem for once and for all. For the sake of the game we all hold in trust for the next generation there can only be one course of action.

2008 The Irish Times

I don’t read Humphries anymore as I firmly believe that he physically licks the holes of cork hurlers.

I’d say he just got to know them. Most people don’t, and don’t know where they came from in all of this.
Read the book “Blood Brothers”, it’s not a must read or anything, but it does give someinsight into this group.

Humphries is doing his best to portray himself as neutral but he’s definitely siding with the hurlers.

He describes the rift with the players as terminal but automatically assumes that it’s terminal for the manager who can’t get the players to co-operate. Equally, it could be argued that it’s terminal for the players who can’t take simple instructions on board.

Every instance of apathy or unprofessionalism on the part of the players is seen as an indictment of the manager. Surely the first port of call for blame is the players themselves.

I’m not saying it’s 100% the fault of the players but Humphries would want to put a bit more balance in his pieces - players behaving like imbeciles is not always evidence of an idiot manager.

During the playing season there is no evidence whatsoever that the players didn’t act like Inter-County players should.

Not turning up for recovery sessions?

Not co operating with the dietitian?

[quote=“The Runt”]Not turning up for recovery sessions?

Not co operating with the dietitian?[/quote]

…its interesting that no player, halpin included, has responded to this

This is Ger Mac’s story. Most of that Cork team have their own specialists, most are joined their own gyms etc and would do their own recovery sessions.

Who pays for those gyms?

If the Coach asked them to turn up to recovery sessions, then they should do as instructed.

I’m not 100% on that MBB. I think i remember it being said that they were given a list of gyms they would have paid (or partially paid for) for. If they wanted to move outside that then it was their own deal.

I would question who was running those recovery sessions and what facilities were being used.
I have also heard that it was agreed that players could do their own thing with these sessions, so Ger is talking through his hole. All of this i must admit i’m not getting from the best of sources, 2nd, 3rd hand info and relying on memory of the past strikes.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]I’m not 100% on that MBB. I think i remember it being said that they were given a list of gyms they would have paid (or partially paid for) for. If they wanted to move outside that then it was their own deal.

I would question who was running those recovery sessions and what facilities were being used.
I have also heard that it was agreed that players could do their own thing with these sessions, so Ger is talking through his hole. All of this i must admit i’m not getting from the best of sources, 2nd, 3rd hand info and relying on memory of the past strikes.[/quote]

the big problem in this whole cork craic imo is lads spouting 3rd hand pubtalk.
you have the nerve to say gerald is talking through his hole because YOU heard it from someone who heard it from someone else who probably made it fucking up!

why the fuck would you question who was running those sessions, if the management set them up then as part of a squad you should be there, what more is there to it and why are you questioning anything.
you are grasping at straws, all the information leads to the conclusion that the majority of players were not compliant with the management team, the only thing id blame gerald for was not fucking them all out on their holes last summer

Well as far as i’m aware HBV they could do it on their own, so he is talking through his hole, and he is bringing up problems that didn’t exsist during the summer, something he has accused the players of. Believe me, i don’t think the players are blameless here. I would guess they may not have been totally co-operative, but for that (and knowing how dealing with the CCB goes) its hard to blame them.

I would question who was running them because i don’t think the people had any experience of recovery sessions with a field sports team. I know alot of the fitness people in Cork, and i know alot of the coaches in GAA, these were neither let me say.

Let me add, just because it’s 2nd hand info doesn’t mean i got it in a pub or it’s not true. All i was indicating was, is that i didn’t get it from a Cork player directly.

Caoimhin- believe the U21 final replay was a cracker was it?

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Well as far as i’m aware HBV they could do it on their own, so he is talking through his hole, and he is bringing up problems that didn’t exsist during the summer, something he has accused the players of. Believe me, i don’t think the players are blameless here. I would guess they may not have been totally co-operative, but for that (and knowing how dealing with the CCB goes) its hard to blame them.

I would question who was running them because i don’t think the people had any experience of recovery sessions with a field sports team. I know alot of the fitness people in Cork, and i know alot of the coaches in GAA, these were neither let me say.

Let me add, just because it’s 2nd hand info doesn’t mean i got it in a pub or it’s not true. All i was indicating was, is that i didn’t get it from a Cork player directly.[/quote]

as far as you aware doex not make something a fact

in fact it’s makes it as much a fact as putting Fact! on the end of a sentence

so what you are saying is that you have 2nd and 3rd hand info and a dodgy memory but that equals ger mac talking through his hole ?

here’s some facts

cork have lost 5 games under ger mac

ger mac has not been taken to the cleaners by the man he was supposed to be marking

ger mac has not given away silly scorable frees or 65s

ger mac has not been sent off

ger mac was not rowing in a tunnel

[quote=“artfoley”]as far as you aware doex not make something a fact

in fact it’s makes it as much a fact as putting Fact! on the end of a sentence

so what you are saying is that you have 2nd and 3rd hand info and a dodgy memory but that equals ger mac talking through his hole ?

here’s some facts

cork have lost 5 games under ger mac

ger mac has not been taken to the cleaners by the man he was supposed to be marking

ger mac has not given away silly scorable frees or 65s

ger mac has not been sent off

ger mac was not rowing in a tunnel[/quote]

hers’s another fact for a team who are into anaylsing everything to leave no stone unturned to gain an advantage- Donal Og was the second best goalkeeper to play for Cork against galway this summer…

I went to replay, Dad said it was better than draw. But if the draw was even 1/4 as good as this and these two teams can produce this standard of hurling two weeks running then Cork hurling isn’t so fucked afterall. Unbelievable game. Glen were deserving winners, but Duhallow (finished with 15 guys underage next year) are some outfit. You just couldn’t stay up with it, i’d say the ref was absolutely flaked.
Pat Horgan was sheer class, a Tipp mate of mine came with us, he used to play against Eoin Kelly (also played with him in school) and said it just reminded him of when Kelly would win games single handidly. But thats a bit unfair on rest of Glen, because the build up play from both teams was superb.
Aidan Walsh, Lorcan McLoughlin, William Egan, Stephan Moylan and Pat Horgan - Cork seniors in next two years, that good!

Is seanie Mcgrath the last glen rovers player to regularly play for Cork?..why did he drop off the Cork panel in the end?wasn’t he fairly still young when he did?..a lot of lads don’t last due to the demon drink but as far as i remember he didn’t touch the stuff…

I believe himself and Donal O Grady didn’t see eye to eye…and he walked away as he was getting little or no game time…

Art & Scumpot - I think ye are continuing to miss the point here big style. Art you are right, saying fact doesn’t mean it is, but i never said that. I suppose i was avoiding coming out and saying that i have a good conection to the whole thing, but i would have.

The big thing (and i understand ye defending Ger Mac here, i feel unbelieveably sorry for him) but the CCB are the reason for this whole mess, they played on the emotions and stubborness of both the players and Ger Mac. The CCB went into this knowing that one of two things would happen, the older players would retire (ultimate aim), or they would kick up a stink. By kicking up a stink they would start off at the bottom in terms of support (people are sick to death of it). The thing is the support is swinging at an alarming rate to the players in Cork. It would have swung faster if they hadn’t attacked Ger Mac, but he is now facilitating the support for the players by getting involved in the media war.

Outsiders think they know whats going on, think they know about Frank Murphy etc, but no offence lads, but ye haven’t got a clue. I’ve sat in the CCB meetings, i’ve had games called off for the most outrageous requests (for bigger city clubs always as well). They are not making this stuff up about the CCB. The PRO is just as sneaky and vindinctive as the bould Frank, it’s a horrible, horrible set up. Only for the love of GAA, the teams, our clubs etc we would be the worst GAA county in Ireland. The CCB like to be associated with All-Ireland winners, it was pretty obvious they had fuck all to do with the last 2 All-Irelands, that gauls them, believe me.

I talk on a daily basis to Cork GAA people from various clubs, the feeling down here now is to support the players, and see if in some way it can move things in the CCB.