Humphries on the Cork saga

[quote=“Fitzy”]
It is a pity too that the great hurling academy that is St Colman’s of Fermoy should be dragged into the dirt with the duplicitous pretence that next week’s game is anything other than a barefaced flouting of the GAA’s new rules on intercounty activity at this time of the year. The rules are being flouted in order to manufacture a grisly showdown with players.

What county board would ask players, any group of players, to take to the pitch in such circumstances? The St Colman’s game will bring nothing but long-term damage to hurling in Cork. A grim irony given that the fixture was intended to celebrate the school’s rich contribution to the game.

What county board would put players in that position? [/quote]

This is the central point for me. There is no doubt in the world that this is a war by proxy, with Gerald McCarthy thrown out into the firing line. There is equally no doubt that this is about arrogant old men acting in a cowardly fashion and hanging Cork hurlers out to dry. I don’t agree with everything the Cork players believe, I don’t even like a lot of them. But the Cork county board is an absolute disgrace.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Art & Scumpot - I think ye are continuing to miss the point here big style. Art you are right, saying fact doesn’t mean it is, but i never said that. I suppose i was avoiding coming out and saying that i have a good conection to the whole thing, but i would have.

The big thing (and i understand ye defending Ger Mac here, i feel unbelieveably sorry for him) but the CCB are the reason for this whole mess, they played on the emotions and stubborness of both the players and Ger Mac. The CCB went into this knowing that one of two things would happen, the older players would retire (ultimate aim), or they would kick up a stink. By kicking up a stink they would start off at the bottom in terms of support (people are sick to death of it). The thing is the support is swinging at an alarming rate to the players in Cork. It would have swung faster if they hadn’t attacked Ger Mac, but he is now facilitating the support for the players by getting involved in the media war.

Outsiders think they know whats going on, think they know about Frank Murphy etc, but no offence lads, but ye haven’t got a clue. I’ve sat in the CCB meetings, i’ve had games called off for the most outrageous requests (for bigger city clubs always as well). They are not making this stuff up about the CCB. The PRO is just as sneaky and vindinctive as the bould Frank, it’s a horrible, horrible set up. Only for the love of GAA, the teams, our clubs etc we would be the worst GAA county in Ireland. The CCB like to be associated with All-Ireland winners, it was pretty obvious they had fuck all to do with the last 2 All-Irelands, that gauls them, believe me.

I talk on a daily basis to Cork GAA people from various clubs, the feeling down here now is to support the players, and see if in some way it can move things in the CCB.[/quote]

what manager, alive or dead, could manage this group of players and get them to act and play the way he would like them to?
i dont think even brian cody could handle them, they do what they want when they want and act the cunt when anyone questions them

Thank God for that. Here here.

[quote=“HBV*”]what manager, alive or dead, could manage this group of players and get them to act and play the way he would like them to?
i dont think even brian cody could handle them, they do what they want when they want and act the cunt when anyone questions them[/quote]

Donal O’Grady for one.

Wasn’t a word said when he told the the Rock to go away and get fit or don’t come back at all.

[quote=“Appendage”]Donal O’Grady for one.

Wasn’t a word said when he told the the Rock to go away and get fit or don’t come back at all.[/quote]

a few of these players have moved on from when donal og was last involved, they are different people

HBV - You just show a lack of knowledge about the situation with comments like that. Here’s three guys the players would absolutely love to have.
Bertie Og Murphy
Ger Cunningham
Patsy Morrisey

All modern hurling men who know that to get the best out of a modern hurling man you involve him in the process. Cody does this, but one vital thing Cody has is the total support of every man,woman and child is behind him, and most importantly the KCB are behind him, even in defeat.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]HBV - You just show a lack of knowledge about the situation with comments like that. Here’s three guys the players would absolutely love to have.
Bertie Og Murphy
Ger Cunningham
Patsy Morrisey

.[/quote]

Its mall well and good saying they want it but how many of them would work with the county board and vise versa kev…

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]HBV - You just show a lack of knowledge about the situation with comments like that. Here’s three guys the players would absolutely love to have.
Bertie Og Murphy
Ger Cunningham
Patsy Morrisey

All modern hurling men who know that to get the best out of a modern hurling man you involve him in the process. Cody does this, but one vital thing Cody has is the total support of every man,woman and child is behind him, and most importantly the KCB are behind him, even in defeat.[/quote]

would any of these 3 put out a team in the championship without cusack,sullivan,deane etc?

and if they did how long would they last?

Bertie Og Murphy
Ger Cunningham
Patsy Morrisey

All modern hurling men who know that to get the best out of a modern hurling man you involve him in the process. Cody does this, but one vital thing Cody has is the total support of every man,woman and child is behind him, and most importantly the KCB are behind him, even in defeat.[/quote]

Cork still have the vast majority of the 04/05 squad.

And as for Cody I think you’ll find there are a fairly significant amount of knives sharp waiting for him to fail. Hasn’t happened in a while though.

[quote=“Appendage”]Donal O’Grady for one.

Wasn’t a word said when he told the the Rock to go away and get fit or don’t come back at all.[/quote]

Exactly. Duirmuid openly didn’t get on with Donal or Setanta O’ Halphin. Doesn’t affect Sean Og and Duirmuid, didn’t stop Cork getting to two All-Irelands, winning one. No team has perfect harmony, it’s natural.

HBV - Keep talking, your making yourself look more and more foolish all the time. you haven’t a fucking clue boy.

[quote=“HBV*”]would any of these 3 put out a team in the championship without cusack,sullivan,deane etc?

and if they did how long would they last?[/quote]

Of course they would, why wouldn’t they. Donal Og is the type who’d take the new keeper aside and do some extra training with him. They know that their days are numbered, Deano and Sully may only be staying around to make sure this mess gets sorted, certainly i believe that for Deano.

Keep talking, your great at this HBV.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]
HBV - Keep talking, your making yourself look more and more foolish all the time. you haven’t a fucking clue boy.[/quote]

Nice, very nice touch. Fucking hell, good work at diplomacy, one lad rows in behind you and you come out with this shite.

You’re starting to sound more and more like Oige every day.

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]
Let me add, just because it’s 2nd hand info doesn’t mean i got it in a pub or it’s not true. All i was indicating was, is that i didn’t get it from a Cork player directly.[/quote]

where does your info come from?
do you make it up?

[quote=“myboyblue”]Nice, very nice touch. Fucking hell, good work at diplomacy, one lad rows in behind you and you come out with this shite.

You’re starting to sound more and more like Oige every day.[/quote]

Hey who rattled your cage. HBV just struts out with the anti-cork shite all the time, and he hasn’t a clue what he’s talking about most of the time, i don’t know why he bothers to be honest.
Didn’t think this site was much for diplomacy in the first place.
Most guys here have some idea what they are on about, and know about as much about Cork hurling as i know about Rugby, Soccer etc, a fair bit, but not totally into it. HBV is not in this group.
You mean Sean Og when you say Oige, correct?

[quote=“HBV*”]where does your info come from?
do you make it up?[/quote]

Ya, i make everything up, as i go along mostly, although sometimes i’ll plan to make some stuff up as well.

Tell me HBV, have you ever played hurling?

[quote=“HBV*”]where does your info come from?
do you make it up?[/quote]

And where do you get your info that you may rattle off here, or where do you get your opinion.
Do you get all your news right from source?

Alrigt caoimhaoin take a few deep breates and step away from the computer for a few minutes…we are all friends here…no need to be doing a Farmerinthecity style rant…

[quote=“caoimhaoin”]Ya, i make everything up, as i go along mostly, although sometimes i’ll plan to make some stuff up as well.

Tell me HBV, have you ever played hurling?[/quote]

its quite obvious you are making things up, and im glad you are man enough to admit it, nobody takes you serious with your i heard this/ i heard that bullshit.

ye i played hurling, what happens next do i ask you something?
do you like chicken casserole?
are we friends?:smiley:

I heard that the players decided they wanted rid of Ger Mc once and for all on the way up to Croke Park ahead of the Kilkenny game in August. Apparently, they wanted to watch Gladiator on the bus but Ger Mc insisted they all watch this home-made Dutch porno flick he bought on Ebay the week before. Now, this doesn’t come directly from inside the camp but it’s a good source close to the players all the same.

[quote=“HBV*”]its quite obvious you are making things up, and im glad you are man enough to admit it, nobody takes you serious with your i heard this/ i heard that bullshit.

ye i played hurling, what happens next do i ask you something?
do you like chicken casserole?
are we friends?:D[/quote]

Nothing i have said here has been made up, but i’ll wait for your apology when it comes out from some sort of reputible
source over the next few weeks/months. I accept that a forum can’t provide this, and that i have no way of proving anything, but then again who does on the Internet in a situation like this?

The reason i was asking about did you play was to get your opinion on winning. Have you ever won a county, or even further up a Munster or something. If you did you would know there are so many things needed to go right for you to win, and people need to be pulling in the same direction. Do you agree?

If not please give me a good example of a team who won when certain people (in their own corner) didn’t want them to succeed.