I’d agree with that. Also G Mulcahy at 6 is pretty good value too
I don’t think he is actually. He got screwed by that gobshite from Cork that ruined the Dublin hurling team. A Justin McCarthy-esque character.
No I’m picking the 2019 version of him where he was shite…
Donie Ryan is proving very popular here
Am I wrong in thinking that Shocks was more a wing three quarter than a corner forward. I know versatility is important but I’ve tried to place guys in their normal position
Was he better than tommy fitz ???
Nah corner forward but he could also play full. He did play wing the odd time. Like canning for a lot of his career we needed him out half forward
as well to win the ball to hit it in to himself.
Did he ever even score a goal?
Right, we need both of them. And throw Zane into it there too.
You old rogue.
Callanan a sub and peripheral in his first few seasons too.
Just shows how good he is when he’s still scored more from play than anybody else
He lit up Croker one time with a couple anyways…
Alot of lads falling into the Lehane trap I see, a champion hide & seek player but the majority of backs listed would have a comfortable 60-65 mins marking him.
You need to pick a couple of players from the fly-swatters towards the bottom, picking a fella who could actually strike the ball gives it a bit of “balance”
…rk O’LearyFergie TouhyNiall McCarthyTony GriffinDanny SutcliffeMaurice ShanahanShane WalshDavid BreenBrian BegelyNiall Healy2 points -Eoin McGrathSeamus PrendergastDonie RyanConor ClancyAndrew QuinnConor FitzgeraldLuke O’FarrellTimmy McCarthySeamus ButlerDavy GlennonKevin “Chunky” HayesAisake O’Halpin
There’s no way you can afford a 12 with the garbage at 2 & 4 points
The twos are either mullockers or garbage for the most part. There are some solid lads in the fours. But do you want one superstar with solid lads or a few very good lads and no superstar
There are close to 10 all stars listed in the 4 band by the way including a lad with 2 all stars
Offhand
Ger Farragher
John Carroll
Colin Ryan
Larry Murphy
Mark O’Leary
Niall McCarthy
Tony Griffin
Danny Sutcliffe
Maurice Shanahan
Fergie Touhy was MOTM in an A/I final and i think Niall Healy was YHOTY in 2005. The likes of Dotsy and Kerins were very good players on their day.
It appears it is much better for your reputation to be a solid if unspectacular back than to be a talented if inconsistent forward
The two band is of a higher quality in the backs but that was by design.
C. Lehane (4) N. McCarthy (4) S . Prendergast (2)
E. Brennan (8) R. Power (6) C. Whelan (6)
Carryharry Hurling Dream Team
( as per @Big_Dan_Campbell lists )
GK
Stephen O’Keeffe
Backs
Damien Reale - Ronan Maher - Mickey Cahill
Eamon Corcoran - Brendan Maher - Tony Browne
MF
Johnny Coen - Tom Kenny
Forwards
Larry Murphy - Lee Chin - Tony Kelly
Conor Lehane - Bonnar Maher - Donie Ryan
76pts
I thought Farragher did his best hurling when he played midfield for a couple of seasons, was he there long or did he just confuse me by making a string impression with a few brilliant moments from midfield? Was it him John Lee used to bat the ball down to? cc @KinvarasPassion